HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lijiang hostels

Reviews of Panba Hostel

Hostel | No.93, Middle Section of Qingxi Stree, The lakeside of Qingxi Reserve Lijiang, China 674100

86.6% Overall Rating

99 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2013)

"The hostel was right by the old town section of Lijiang. It had a selection of traditional Naxi food. The beds had curtains around them, which made it easier to sleep if people came in late and turned the lights on.…"

Read all Panba Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lijiang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lijiang

Lijiang Sina Hotel
74.57 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.7% 10 reviews
Sleepy Inn Lijiang
24.15 USD

Hotel 93.2% 8 reviews
Lijiang Gesang meiduo Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Garden Inn in Lijiang
5.67 USD

Hostel 83.5% 153 reviews
Old Town Garden Resort
145.89 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 91 reviews
Enjoy Inn
7.29 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 74 reviews
International Youth Hostel Lijiang
6.48 USD

Hostel 82.7% 38 reviews
LiJiang Wang Jia Courtyard Inn
17.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

99 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Panba Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean room, excellent hot shower ( when it was working )

Disliked: Apparently at this time they're going through an ownership switchover and are changing their name to "timeless hostel". Whatever. the 2nd floor wifi wasn't working, neither were the washing machines. They blamed the old owner. Hmm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff Good wifi and good showers Great value for money

Disliked: Sometimes they seemed a little understaffed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was right by the old town section of Lijiang. It had a selection of traditional Naxi food. The beds had curtains around them, which made it easier to sleep if people came in late and turned the lights on. Each bed had a small lamp, a container to put things in (glasses, water bottle, phone...), a plug-in, and curtains surrounding it.

Disliked: It's a little bit hard to find at first. Other than that, the staff is super helpful, and it's a short walk to many interesting shops and sites in the old town section of Lijiang.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Darby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt one of the cleanest, friendliest and loveliest hostels I have ever stayed in. Rich and co. went out of their way to help me when I needed it, giving the taxi driver directions in Mandarin (I sadly don't speak any) to the property and also talking to the airline I was booked with to move my flight when I couldn't get too far with just English! I ended up staying 2 extra nights because I liked it that much. The food is decent, but do ask the guys for recommendations for local restaurants in Lijiang, they pointed us towards an excellent place that wasn't too pricey or far from the hostel. Nice touches include little baskets by the side of the dorm beds for storing your key and phone chargers etc while you sleep, and good thick curtains to keep the light out. Why all hostels don't give you curtains for your bed I will never know, but it seems to be a theme in Chinese ones so far - genius. The bar is sociable, there's a pool table and decent movie library and the location is tucked away far from the madding crowd. Bliss!

Disliked: The only complaint I would have is that the mattresses are pretty hard - you can feel the bed slats through them - but again this seems to be a recurring theme in China and not just Panba.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Spelt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. On the outskirts of the old town so its quiet, but only 10 minutes to the centre of the old town.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 March 2013

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: internet almost unusably slow, no shampoo in the private rooms' bathrooms, curfew at 12 (at 12??? at 12.)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located down a quiet street in the old town. The location is perfect, only a couple of minutes to where the shops begin. The rooms are set around a small courtyard that is really pretty to sit. Free hot and cold water. The wifi generally works well, but no Facebook. The staff are lovely, speak really good English, are friendly and helpful. The food is really tasty and fairly cheap. I stayed in a dorm room - nice comfy beds, with power sockets for each person and huge lockers for all your things.

Disliked: Nothing really. I enjoyed my stay. A note to western girls - the dorm rooms seem to be used exclusively by Chinese boys. If you don't want to be subject to the constant barrage of question asking and trying to be your boyfriend, I would recommend to get a private room. I wish there was a girls only dorm

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Fraga Schultz-Wenk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I went 3 times to Panba!!The staff is great!!everybody speaks english, and they helped me in everything i needed!! For me it was one of the best hostel i have ever stayed!!The atmosphere was great, te room clean and big!!they also have a nice terrace!! And the tuna sandwish is delicious!! When I come back to Lijiang I will definetly stay in Panba Guesthouse again!! Thank you all the staff for everything!!!i will miss this place!! Thomas!!!!!!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, nice common area and bar. Great dorms with huge lockers and curtains that separate the beds.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joe Cripps

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof terrace, hot water and towels in our room plus electric blankets and a heater - all needed after TLG

Disliked: The beds are rock solid throughout, we moved to Garden Inn in the end which had better beds and was much cheaper..Room (on roof terrace) was drafty with thin walls - highlighted by the construction going on next door. The bar area was closed due to renovations. Breakfast was average and the orders were wrongly made on both days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good all around.

Disliked: Just a little far from the center of Old Town. Would stay again though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Molina

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 September 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, god atmosphere, kind of far from city center but not too bad.

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Staff went out of their way to help you. Located just outside the old town so in a quiet area - only 5 minutes walk into the old town

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012

Liked: Water was hot, courtyard was pleasant.

Disliked: 2 staff members (one being the owner) were unable to handle problems without becoming defensive. We were told when we complained about the noise staff made opening their room next to ours "well your room is a budget room" we were astonished at his reply. Not very professional! Warning: do not stay in Room 107 as the staff door is broken and to open it, it must dragged across the floor even late at night and early in the morning. (At least 3 staff use that room.) When our bathroom sink leaked and we were gruffly told don't put the hand towels on the floor to soak up the water. What were we supposed to do? Also there seems to be insufficient staff in reception. We would not return to this guesthouse and we shortened our intended stay. Panba don't live on past success.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Wyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a pretty good location and it doesn't take long to walk downtown. The staff are the best thing about this place. They are very helpful in organising things. I had to make a date change to a flight ticket and the english line was too busy, so one of the staff members spent close to half an hour sorting it out for me in Chinese. Much appreciated. The hostel has a nice look as well. The rooms are almost like a wood hut. I had a good time here

Disliked: The beds were a little hard. The kitchen doesn't have very long service hours and the lack of advice with booking tours locally (although this has been pretty average at all Chinese hostels I have stayed at)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff which is very welcoming and helpful for everything we need. And the ambiance in the hostel.

Disliked: The location. It's in a little street around the hold town and there is almost nothing open in that street. I you walk there alone it's a bit dangerous...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erik Lassche

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super, helpful. We changed our booking while staying there and the hostel was fully booked so we stayed at the neighbours hostel for a night but we felt really welcom to come to panba's for breakfast and transport.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Snow Cao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Snow would recommend this property

Liked: The staff gave many useful tips about travelling and touring in Lijiang, also Dali and Kunming.

Disliked: Washing room is not that convinient.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TANIELLE POOLE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 TANIELLE would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the main tourist area, but yet in a quiet area.

Disliked: Bikes need to be maintained better

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: - Good price - Good location - a little away from central area for good sleep, yet easily accessible by walking for 5-7 mins. - Collective dinner was very good and cheap, nice way to meet other travelers and hostel staff. - Easy to book train and bus tickets from the hostel, big plus! - Transport to Leaping Gorge at good price! - Big lockers in room

Disliked: - Beds were very low quality, hard to sleep and creaked a lot. - Shower facilities were good, but very limited. Could have to wait a bit - Breakfast options were highly limited at a slightly high price - Could have had some social events to improve atmosphere

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012

Liked: Quiet. Nice views from the terrace room

Disliked: The staff is unfriendly, rude at times. When we asked for an electric sheet because the room was very cold, they replied "aren't the blankets enough for you?". The second time we booked a room it turned out they didn't update HostelBookers that they are full, and practically threw us out the door. We feel this place is overrated and overpriced

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really helpful and friendly staff, amazing showers in twin ensuite rooms

Disliked: slightly far from centre of lijiang old town but not really and issue for non-lazy people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. Very nice room, nice staff, and they helped us book a ride to Tiger Leaping Gorge. This place was highly recommended, and we were very happy with our stay there.

Disliked: nothing negative to note here!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Still in the old town but away from the tourist madness. Staff speaks excellent English. Very helpful with transportation and other backpacker needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonia Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Panba is wonderful. Vanessa is very helpful and friendly. The arrangements to Tiger Leaping Gorge were well managed. I ended up getting very sick after returning from the Gorge. Vanessa carried my luggage to my room and made me rice porridge for the rest of my stay.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Lijiang hostels