HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Lost Garden Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Kunming Cuihu Nanlu, Huanggong Dongjie, Yiqiutian No.7 Kunming, China 650031

88.6% Overall Rating

47 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

"Very friendly and helpful staff, who speak good English (which is really useful since if you speak mandarin you might need help making reservations for transport or else!). They also give a useful map of the town,…"

Read all Lost Garden Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.36
  • Breakfast USD 2.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 88.9% 85 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.14 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Hump Kunming
4.05 USD

Hostel 85.9% 391 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 85.4% 539 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
7.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.09 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

47 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lost Garden Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good restaurant, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.

Disliked: The downstairs rooms could do with a face lift.and noise from reception and kitchen carries down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, who speak good English (which is really useful since if you speak mandarin you might need help making reservations for transport or else!). They also give a useful map of the town, really helpful too! Great location near a beautiful park, not far from restaurants etc. Nice and clean room. Great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katerina Papadopoullos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable dorm rooms and clean bathrooms. Very nice cafe with lovely roof terrace and decent food and drinks.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esme Crutchley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Esme would recommend this property

Liked: Best shower I''ve experienced in Chinese hostels. Staff were MORE than helpful, pleasant and friendly and polite and spoke great English. The hostel is lovely, would recommend the 3 bed dorm, especially as there is a shower and toilet to every 2 rooms on each floor anyway. Short but great stay.

Disliked: As it's a popular restaurant too, not enough seating inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Lost Garden is really good - in a small alley very close to Green Lake (take a print out of the instructions and map on their website). We stayed in an executive double room (208 RMB per night) on the top floor, and found it to be a nice room for the price. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Despite the temperature dropping to around 3C at night (early Feb) the room was not cold. The shower was excellent, and the bathroom tastefully decorated. Shampoo, shower gel and soap were also provided. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke good English, and provided us with a really useful map of the area which included some decent eating and drinking suggestions (although watch out for the out of date pricing on the English menu at Tai Lai if you eat there - the Chinese menu has the real higher prices which you will end up paying).

Disliked: There were signs of damp on the walls in the room. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a tinted, but essentially see-through, shower screen along the side of the bed - which may be a problem if the room was not being shared by a couple. There appeared to be no luggage room and we had to just leave our bags in the corner out in the public area when we were out for the day before catching a late train. This wasn’t a big problem for us and we just took our valuables out with us, but others may be less comfortable with leaving their bags just lying around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome shower, great beds, helpful English speaking staff, nice decor, well kept rooms

Disliked: The only mirror was dimly lit with a yellow light. Only a small inconvenience but everything else was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: english speaking staff

Disliked: Expensive breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bathroom in the dorm, good decoration (personnal taste), individual lamps and little curtain on the beds to be protected from the light. Nice staff, good location next to the Green Lake Park.

Disliked: Dorm was humid, food expensive for a youth hostel, check-out at 11am, the cleaning lady entered the dormitory at 10:30 am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heating floor, confortable rooms, nice restaurant .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Water coolers with hot/cold water. Heated floors during the winter. Friendly staff!

Disliked: More info on public transport in the area would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Capek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean place. One of the best places I've stayed in China. Quite and tranquil, also the staff is very friendly and helpful. After few months which we spent in the mountains this was clean and peaceful place to recover ourselves...just about what one needs after a months of rough living conditions......thanks....

Disliked: Jaroslav left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, more beautiful than you expect from outside, good (rain)shower, good food. Easy to reach by public transport.

Disliked: They did not have a real Luggage room; you just had to put your bags in the common area. Was no problem for us, since we just needed it to be there for a couple of hours.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free shampoo and other bathroom stuff, good wifi.

Disliked: I rated the place as average, because I have experience also with another hostel in Kunming and in comparison Lost Garden was worse. The dorm felt quite wet, because of the steam coming out of the bathroom when someone was taking a shower, there was even mould on the walls. No lockers. Maybe the non-dorm rooms were better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the Green Lake and citycenter

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent neighborhood 3 blocks from Green Lake Park and posh hotels and boutiques. Excellent restaurant. I learned that it is an historic guesthouse with both modern and ancient designs. Staff speaks English. Airport pick-up.

Disliked: Steep staircases. My coed shared bathroom had frosted glass doors on toilet and shower with no locks on either. Bathroom is open to hall and people on stairs. Good wi-fi only in restaurant and reception area -- none in bedrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Cuthbert

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 February 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Green Lake. Attractive room and outlook. Enjoyed the balconies and pizza restaurant which operated at the hostel. Comfortble room.

Disliked: It was rather hard to find. Would suggest that the hostel put its name and address in Chinese characters in the information on the receipt so it can be given to taxi drivers to help find the place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -comfortable atmosphere and decor -friendly staff and willingness to help with questions -heated floors

Disliked: -construction next to building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks for a great time at Lost garden, if i would come back to Kunming i would stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rhys Stephens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2012 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who are always willing to help. Speak really good English as a bonus. Great location near the lake and quick walk into town.

Disliked: Room bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. Directions from the airport need to be updated, as the old airport has closed so the taxi fair is 3 times of what it says on the website.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roger Jay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Nice restaurant and friendly staff

Disliked: Difficult for taxi drivers to find - eventually they will have to phone tghe hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were the friendliest after travelling 7 weeks in China and they went out of there way to help us with a few things (even helped sending faxes at a place down the road to our airline company) We loved the food too at the restaurant. Overall one of the best hostels we stayed at in China. Please note anyway needing to head to the Airport, there is an express airport bus that leaves from outside The West Inn, about 15 minutes walk away. Cost is 50Yuan. You could do public buses cheaper but this is a good alternative and cheaper than a taxi.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best shower in china! Also has massive, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: laid back, clean, nicely decorated, good facilities, good location, nice staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yosef lerner

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 October 2012 yosef would recommend this property

Liked: Great locaion, very friendly staff, amazing atmosphere. We enjoyed very much our stay there.

Disliked: yosef left no negative feedback.


See all Kunming hostels