HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

85.4% Overall Rating

503 out of 539 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

Douphis Pierre thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. The locztion is good with good connexions to the train station and the four bus stations. We would hzve stayed there longer if we would have more time to spend."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.28 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 48 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.05 USD

Hostel 85.9% 391 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 88.9% 85 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.14 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
7.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.09 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

503 out of 539 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 442 of 461 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, there is free cold and hot water and a lot of informations on a board at the reception. Also it's a good place to meet travellers, westerns and chinese. The location is good, the restaurant is good and it's weel located.

Disliked: We ask the girl at the reception few question about bus services and she only knew the ones which lead to the hotel but not the other (we wanted to know which bus from the train station to the east bus station, she had no idea). We had no possibilities to play pool or watch a movie, there were always someone using them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAN SONG JIN

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 June 2011 XIAN SONG would recommend this property

Liked: Many times to stayed here ,like Cloudland very much. The cat very lovely

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011

Liked: The food in the restaurant was really good. All the rooms have a balcony with couches, which was nice and relaxed. The flyer you get when you arrive at the hostel is very good. There is a map of the city, of the Tiger Leaping Gorge and another hiking trek in it. There is also information about buses to other cities in the flyer.

Disliked: We like the self-help attitude in the hostel, but the staff keeps repeating the 'rules' about the self-help. That was a little bit annoying, after one time you understand the rules too. Overall the staff was a little bit blunt. We wanted to rent a bike at the hostel. Because we were leaving China shortly after our visit at Cloudland, we didn't want to have too much cash. But, to rent a bike you have to pay 800 deposit per bike (this is not on any of the affiches and they didn't say it before). So, the morning we went to rent the bikes, we were a 'little bit' surprised of this high amount. Another option is to leave your passport, but that was not an option for us because sometimes the police asks to see it (this happened to us already and they don't want a copy). It was too late (10.00 a.m.) to get a bus to the stone forest, so we were stuck in Kunming for another day. A final remark: there are insect screens before the windows, against the mosquitoes, but when the cleaningstaff is cleaning the room they always leave the door open. So the mosquitoes think they are welcome in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with great staff!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING XIAN SONG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 May 2011 JING would recommend this property

Liked: the room is clean the staff very friendly .And in the yard the flower is beautiful .

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Lionetti

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, clean and lovely staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere, good food, good prices.

Disliked: Showers are old.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty cool place to stay. Email correspondence directly from the hostel to confirm. Very quick and efficient responses.

Disliked: Expected more info about tours. Plenty info available on self guided tours i.e. cycling; but other info was about using public transport. Mini van/private car is the way in China!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge/bar area has a great atmosphere. There were couches out on each terrace giving plenty of space even thought the place was packed! The staff are really nice and everyone speaks English really well. Great food, comfortable beds, and good atmosphere makes Cloudland Hostel a must stay at if in Kunming. Book early!!

Disliked: The screens in the windows aren't that great so a few mosquitoes were in our room praying on us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Everything (except they don't supply toilet paper in the bathrooms) especially how helpful the staff was. To the staff: I found my flashlight. Thanks.

Disliked: You must supply your own toilet paper which is rare in a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and friendly staff, the hostel is very comfortable, makes you feel like home :)

Disliked: there was not much to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a hostel with unique character.

Disliked: the wifi strength is kinda weak..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011

Liked: relaxed atmosphere on the sun roof

Disliked: noisy and run down

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked that the place was very clean.

Disliked: I didn't have wifi in my room but had to go outside for any reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location

Disliked: staff can be a little bit more helpful especially those in the restaurant!! also more travel information should be posted for easy access.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Really cozy common area, cold beer, and enough stuff to keep you entertained on cold nights. Right next to a really nice park full of oldies dancing, fishing, and playing cards.

Disliked: Common area got pretty cold after dark, and for some reason the house cat really didn't like me!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to relax and speak to other travelers. The rooms are clean and the staff polite.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very warm and welcoming, the atmosphere is great, I loved the restaurant area. It is very clean, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are lovely as well. I arrived early in the morning and they let me rest there, I could also stay in the common area until my train left at night. There´s wi-fi and all the girls who work there are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: My only complaint is that they gave my dorm bed to someone else, so when I arrived to the room at night, ready to sleep after a long day, there was someone already sleeping in my bed, so I had to pack all my things and move to another room. The good thing is that they let me stay in a better room. I imagine it was a mistake, so that´s ok, but it´s not really fun to have to pack up and move on the spot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

faye bradford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011 faye would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who spoke excellent English and arranged anything you wanted quickley and easily. Dorms were large and comfortable. Great place to meet people as there is a bar and cafe. Food was great as well.

Disliked: Knocked a few points as the internet was sporadic and the showers were a bit smelly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anny Ma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Anny would recommend this property

Liked: fun place, great facilities, especially the pool table, ping pong table, and DVD room. lots of information on bulletin boards

Disliked: quite far to get to main attractions such as dian chi and western hills

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Warneford-Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Cloudland had a very relaxed/bohemian feel to the place. There were travelers from all over the world, including Chinese, and there was always lively discussion in the evenings. Met some really cool people. The food was great at a reasonable price, and the rooms were clean and bright, just as described. Enjoyed my stay and will be returning.

Disliked: The slightly distant location from the town center was a disadvantage, but then I think this also helped add to the laidback character of the place. For me it wasn't an issue, since the buses here are top-notch, running frequently and getting into downtown/train station area takes only a 15 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tian wen juan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 tian would recommend this property

Liked: 24hrs hot water was wonderful ! Very busy hostel with kindly staff and one of the best hostel in china .

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Astall

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great. Fabulous place to meet people. Serve great coffee. Very friendly and helpful staff who can arrange train/bus tickets to anywhere in Yunnan. Cloudland is popular and tends to get booked out so advisable to book ahead, though they do allow people to sleep on their couches in the lounge area if the dorms are fully booked, a good second option.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Han Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2011 Han would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful with travel arrangements and tips, very chill staff, nice place to come home to after a day of wondering around, can surf the web, play pool, pingpong etc. Always lots of people in the bar/cafe downstairs, but not noisy once you want to head back to rooms upstairs. Very clean!! And the electric blankets were a really nice surprise!

Disliked: Didn't like the DVD selection! Front desk people get too busy sometimes, have to wait a while to get questions answered.


See all Kunming hostels