HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

84.3% Overall Rating

511 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Andrew Cope-Perera thinks…

"It was in a good location and I liked the fact that they had a pool table and table tennis table. It was clean as well."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.31 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 55 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 398 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.3% 91 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

511 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 470 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CYRIL ROSAS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 CYRIL would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, the cleaners are all the morning and afternoon to be sure every things are clear and the staff is really helpful and all the time happy to welcome or give a hand of the back packers. It is really rare to find a kind of place where you feel the hygienic number one in Yunnan province for me. you can at any time eat, watch TV, have information, ask some chinese speaking and if you are complaining to something, they listen you and try them best to give you satisfy!! Also the location is really good, quiet in the night and close to a Wall Mart. And some nighclubs if you want to go on the piss!!! it is open 24h/7, no curfew, no restriction, You feel free and it is not easy to feel it in China...

Disliked: The mosquitos... but they are everywhere you go.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere - very nice and friendly staff. Value for money. Clean and eell kept

Disliked: Location nothing special

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people that work at Cloudland are very friendly, helpful, and pleasant to speak with. The location is decent and the hostel itself is very interesting and unique.

Disliked: They lost my reservation (technically, the email from HostelBookers was overlooked by accident). BUT they set up a different hostel for our first night (they were able to accomodate us for the second and third of the three nights we intended on staying there). They also reimbursed the deposit and the taxi ride to and from the new hostel. What's more, they were sincerely apologetic and even gave us apples as a gift before we left. My advice: if you book through Hostelbookers, contact Cloudland to ensure they receive your booking. They told me that sometimes the Hostelbookers emails get overlooked for whatever reason. The experience at Cloudland was wonderful and please just use my experience as advice to check your booking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its in a cosy little area in kunming with easy access to public transport and supermarkets

Disliked: could be quite noisy at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Palmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: they got all our train tickets sorted for us, quiet at night but plenty of people around.

Disliked: weak showers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar and the place itself

Disliked: Some of the bar staff

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and the hostel itself.

Disliked: Sometimes (not always) some of the bar staff were more interested in talking to each other than serving residents

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay to meet good friends. Staff great! Food good!

Disliked: Not much to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, there is free cold and hot water and a lot of informations on a board at the reception. Also it's a good place to meet travellers, westerns and chinese. The location is good, the restaurant is good and it's weel located.

Disliked: We ask the girl at the reception few question about bus services and she only knew the ones which lead to the hotel but not the other (we wanted to know which bus from the train station to the east bus station, she had no idea). We had no possibilities to play pool or watch a movie, there were always someone using them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAN SONG JIN

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 June 2011 XIAN SONG would recommend this property

Liked: Many times to stayed here ,like Cloudland very much. The cat very lovely

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011

Liked: The food in the restaurant was really good. All the rooms have a balcony with couches, which was nice and relaxed. The flyer you get when you arrive at the hostel is very good. There is a map of the city, of the Tiger Leaping Gorge and another hiking trek in it. There is also information about buses to other cities in the flyer.

Disliked: We like the self-help attitude in the hostel, but the staff keeps repeating the 'rules' about the self-help. That was a little bit annoying, after one time you understand the rules too. Overall the staff was a little bit blunt. We wanted to rent a bike at the hostel. Because we were leaving China shortly after our visit at Cloudland, we didn't want to have too much cash. But, to rent a bike you have to pay 800 deposit per bike (this is not on any of the affiches and they didn't say it before). So, the morning we went to rent the bikes, we were a 'little bit' surprised of this high amount. Another option is to leave your passport, but that was not an option for us because sometimes the police asks to see it (this happened to us already and they don't want a copy). It was too late (10.00 a.m.) to get a bus to the stone forest, so we were stuck in Kunming for another day. A final remark: there are insect screens before the windows, against the mosquitoes, but when the cleaningstaff is cleaning the room they always leave the door open. So the mosquitoes think they are welcome in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with great staff!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING XIAN SONG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 May 2011 JING would recommend this property

Liked: the room is clean the staff very friendly .And in the yard the flower is beautiful .

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Lionetti

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, clean and lovely staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere, good food, good prices.

Disliked: Showers are old.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty cool place to stay. Email correspondence directly from the hostel to confirm. Very quick and efficient responses.

Disliked: Expected more info about tours. Plenty info available on self guided tours i.e. cycling; but other info was about using public transport. Mini van/private car is the way in China!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge/bar area has a great atmosphere. There were couches out on each terrace giving plenty of space even thought the place was packed! The staff are really nice and everyone speaks English really well. Great food, comfortable beds, and good atmosphere makes Cloudland Hostel a must stay at if in Kunming. Book early!!

Disliked: The screens in the windows aren't that great so a few mosquitoes were in our room praying on us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Everything (except they don't supply toilet paper in the bathrooms) especially how helpful the staff was. To the staff: I found my flashlight. Thanks.

Disliked: You must supply your own toilet paper which is rare in a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and friendly staff, the hostel is very comfortable, makes you feel like home :)

Disliked: there was not much to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a hostel with unique character.

Disliked: the wifi strength is kinda weak..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011

Liked: relaxed atmosphere on the sun roof

Disliked: noisy and run down

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked that the place was very clean.

Disliked: I didn't have wifi in my room but had to go outside for any reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location

Disliked: staff can be a little bit more helpful especially those in the restaurant!! also more travel information should be posted for easy access.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Really cozy common area, cold beer, and enough stuff to keep you entertained on cold nights. Right next to a really nice park full of oldies dancing, fishing, and playing cards.

Disliked: Common area got pretty cold after dark, and for some reason the house cat really didn't like me!


See all Kunming hostels