HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

84.3% Overall Rating

511 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Andrew Cope-Perera thinks…

"It was in a good location and I liked the fact that they had a pool table and table tennis table. It was clean as well."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.31 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 55 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 398 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.3% 91 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

511 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 470 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all stuffs are perfect.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay, comfy room and no problems.

Disliked: No printer for the computer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very friendly and they had good coffee.

Disliked: Food is a little expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Rickwood-Dodsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 August 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and helpful staff. Good food.

Disliked: Don't book bus tickets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very obliging and helpful, the beds were comfortable, the lockers were big, the facilities were good - no complaints!

Disliked: The food and drink was a little expensive

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: staff could not help me with my bus booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cliffton Williams

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Cliffton would recommend this property

Liked: What I like most is how accommodating the staff is compared to other hostels I've visited.

Disliked: In the beginning I felt impersonal with the staff but as time goes on, the staff's diligence helped me feeling comfortable and secure.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Goog place to meet people. Helpfull staff.

Disliked: In private ensuite rooms, there is no bathroom door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff in the hostel really helps me a lot. It is one of the best hostel I have lived in!

Disliked: Nothing except that I am living on the 4th floor. =)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was nice and helpful, good cleanliness, good beds :)

Disliked: Little noise at around midnight, but that is normal in a youth hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Donald MacKay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011

Liked: Disappointing after being so highly. Recommended in lonely planet. After jade emu in Dali a complete let down.

Disliked: Bstaff too busy. To be helpful. Many questions not anwered.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Houghton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and there were good-sized lockers in the room. The bar/cafe staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The toilets had a weird smell, like rotting cabbage. The cleaning staff came in several times every day, left the door open then sat outside the room chatting and eating smelly food! I also noticed that certain members of reception staff started to look busy when they thought a customer might ask them a question. Others were quite helpful.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Noisy at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is fine, they have a nice restaurant

Disliked: not all the private rooms have bathroom inside

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration is good, and the services and staff are good.

Disliked: the foods are expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Clifford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, well furnished and clearly geared toward backpackers. The twin ensuite room was spacious and light with an excellent bathroom and shower. There was a nice bar downstairs with good beer and reasonable breakfasts.

Disliked: The beds were quite hard: no matress only a large quilt. It was central to the sites but quite a difficult to get to via taxi. This is not the hostel's fault but rather due to Kunming's increasingly congested traffic network.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a nice courtyard, I loved the couches on all the floors, perfect for hanging out. The roof terrace was also great. Food was okay.

Disliked: They said I was in a girls only room, but suddenly they had put a boy in the room, didn't feel very comfortable with that.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

crisbet colon

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 July 2011 crisbet would recommend this property

Liked: the people

Disliked: time for bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I ike the self-help ethos of the hostel, resulting in a good atmosphere between the staff and travellers. The bar and restaurant are a particularly good place to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: There were reports of theft (though small), probably due to the 'open' atmosphere of the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Very cool and relaxing atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ahmad Ali

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the best in China! Really nice dorms. Nice communal areas.

Disliked: We booked bus tickets to Luang Prabang and were told to get off bus 185 at the terminus. Turns out this was wrong, we had to exit the bus on the highway and flag down a cab which got us there with 5 minutes to spare. They also gave us incorrect information about the bus itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lene Bech Sillesen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Lene would recommend this property

Liked: A really lovely place to stay, I would highly recommend it to anyone passing through Kunming. I really enjoyed my stay, the place is cosy and comfortable, you easily meet people and the staff was always incredibly friendly and helpful. Furthermore, it's one of the cleanest dorms I've stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good value for money. Good location - within walking distance to the necessary bus stops for visiting the main attractions. Staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and pretty to boot!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEIJI HAYASHIDA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 SEIJI would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel has very good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Kunming hostels