HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

84.3% Overall Rating

511 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Andrew Cope-Perera thinks…

"It was in a good location and I liked the fact that they had a pool table and table tennis table. It was clean as well."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.31 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 55 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 398 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.3% 91 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

511 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 470 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually I am still here.The hostel is really amazing.Helpful staff/clean dorm .The hot shower is perfect ! I will recommed it .

Disliked: NO.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sijie yao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 sijie would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are nice there

Disliked: sijie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wilco Visscher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 February 2012 Wilco would recommend this property

Liked: It got what you need. Its easygoing and relaxed. If you like loud hip hop and smoke go to the hump. Oterwise come here

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, especially in the bar/cafe downstairs. Good beds, too. Really thought about what backpackers need. Staff speaks excellent English. And they will help you with all your travel needs.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit iffy. Slow and disconnects often. Might I suggest using an Internet provider in HK? That way, foreign travelers, who use websites blocked in China will have a better time using the Internet.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012

Liked: The shower in a double room is nice. The watchman is friendly.

Disliked: The staff was impolite, lazy and dishonest. When we asked for directions on a bus stop, she would recommend a taxi (she did this to everyone, she would just say: "you take taxi" and turn away). When we asked about the commission on a busticket to Jinghong (which turned out to be 50 Yuan, which is extremely high for China) and said we'd rather get it ourselves at the bus station, she said that's not possible. Well we've been in China for four months, so we know what's possible and went to get it ourselves, but this behavior is just unacceptable from a 'backpacker'-run hostel. One day, the electricity in our bathroom broke. Well, this can happen, so we reported it. The reception girl looked annoyed, as if its unreasonable to mention it to her. When we got back at the end of the day, it was still broken. When we asked her when it would be fixed, she looked very annoyed. The food was really disappointing, we ordered pasta carbonara and got a really small plate with a penne, egg and bacon mixture. The beer was expensive: 10 yuan a piece, but around the corner is a friendly shopkeeper who sells them for 3.5 yuan, so you can fix this yourself. Our double room came with a 'please clean the room'-sign. We used it twice, and all they would do is empty wastebuckets and leave, while our linnen was visible dirty. They also claim your deposit was paid to hostelbookers, and not to them, so you can't get a refund if you leave earlier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit cold going outside to the bathroom/ loo. No single sex washroom/ sinks [only in the showers]

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a nice building with lots of character, spacious dorms, comfortable matresses.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work and the staff didn't seem to care. It was cold in the bar and indoor areas, there was a bad smell in the shower area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Simon Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and location, individual lights and outlets for each bed. Water coolers to use, pool and ping pong tables on site. The reception staff were helpful whenever I had questions.

Disliked: The bathrooms were often dirty and not cleaned regularly enough. The cleaning staff in general were extremely rude and curt. They come in the room to clean at 9am which was incredibly disruptive. They were also rude to me when I tried to leave the room when they were washing the floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful, knowledgeable staff. location. clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Sætre Jakobsen

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 December 2011 Thomas Sætre would recommend this property

Liked: The straff are friendly and knowadgble, Internet connection, towels, nice coffee, hot water

Disliked: There are too few vegetarian dishes on the menu

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIANSONG JIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

03 December 2011 XIANSONG would recommend this property

Liked: perfect

Disliked: XIANSONG left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rustige kamers en centraal gelegen. Prettige bar en ontbijtmogelijkheden.

Disliked: internetfacilities

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: shared bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms

Disliked: The showers could be better

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has really nice balcony which gets lots of sun

Disliked: A bit damp at the first floor level with mosquitos hanging around. In general all the staff are very helpful and good. Apart from one woman on reception who is often rude and abrupt. She complains in Chinese when people ask her to do things- which is her job. the staff seem a bit overworked on the reception desk and maybe should be given more time off.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom White

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good food

Disliked: Kind of a cold place, too many small rooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cristina Rusu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2011 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: the room was large and clean, the cafeteria really nice and the stuff was really helpful.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Croker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good bar and decent sized dorms.

Disliked: They need a second pool table!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Bezemer

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 October 2011 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets and the showers are very clean, you can sun bath on the roof terrace and they have a lot of movies to watch for free

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A variety of rooms available and good communal areas the staff are very helpful, freindly and efficiant.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms are spread up and down the stair well so can bit a long walk to showers or toilets

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were clean

Disliked: - Staff were not overly friendly - Internet connection wasn't great - No lights in the mens showers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Santamera

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: I am British and my Wife is Chinese. We stayed for only one night but that was enough to show that Cloudland is a very well appointed Hostel and we look forward to staying there again. As we live 300 Km South of Kunming this is likely to be quite often.

Disliked: There wasn't anything that I particularly disliked

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the relaxed and comforting atmosphere at the Cloudland Hostel. It's definitely a great choice for backpackers.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms progressively got more smelly as the day went on.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Cooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice restaurant, helpful staff. Free pool+table tennis table.

Disliked: I had to go to 1st floor from 4th floor for a shower. Very slow wi-fi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, helpful staff, good food.

Disliked: none


See all Kunming hostels