HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

85.4% Overall Rating

503 out of 539 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

Douphis Pierre thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. The locztion is good with good connexions to the train station and the four bus stations. We would hzve stayed there longer if we would have more time to spend."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.29 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 48 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.05 USD

Hostel 85.9% 391 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 88.9% 85 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.15 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
7.13 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.10 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

503 out of 539 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 442 of 461 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ludkej diendnnee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 ludkej would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel!

Disliked: No water in sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a pretty clean hostel.The staff are really very helpful with everything .

Disliked: The city has a common problem with water!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD HOSTEL

Disliked: NO

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicol foxand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012 nicol would recommend this property

Liked: Its a really nice hostel.Good location / helpful staff / clean and bright dorms/relax balcony etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neko lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 neko would recommend this property

Liked: Because of 3 years drought , There is sometimes no water working,but its Ok in the morning and the night. I can understand the problem.Because this is not they can do control.Its a common problem in all the YUNNAN province.

Disliked: Not yet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel to meet people.

Disliked: They had major problems with the water when I stayed here. None of the showers or taps were working on the 2nd-4th floors. Only the first floor water was running, and it was all cold water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

qiao fang

Alone

Family Holiday

12 June 2012 qiao would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere!

Disliked: Good atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

na na

Alone

Shopping

12 June 2012 na would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!!

Disliked: Excellent!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina havazelee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

23 May 2012 christina would recommend this property

Liked: There is nice bar with lots of good beer.The clean ladies are really hard to keep everything clean.I had good time ther.

Disliked: The spring city looks not spring anymore.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wen juan tian

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 wen juan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.And there is wonderful balcony .

Disliked: No.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

qing yi chen

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2012 qing yi would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fang wang

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2012 fang would recommend this property

Liked: My friend recommended it for me .Its really good one.Feelling like home!

Disliked: Not yet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

li mei ling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 li would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful with clean dorm!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang na

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 April 2012 wang would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: wang left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: here is best one of china. This hostel is very clean, Staff is cute and helpful, anyway, everything is excellent.!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Flammang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The facility keeps on improving by way of clarity of services and cleanliness. I've always used the dorm rooms and have not had any issues, though I am safe and cautious to keep my things locked up. People are friendly to talk if you want, or there is space to keep to yourself.

Disliked: This is my third time staying at Cloudland. The service was hit-or-miss. Most of the time it is good, so I must remember that I am in China and some things are not to be expected. It is a good price for the money. The food is not the best but is OK. If you want good Western food, go to Salvador's.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually I am still here.The hostel is really amazing.Helpful staff/clean dorm .The hot shower is perfect ! I will recommed it .

Disliked: NO.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sijie yao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 sijie would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are nice there

Disliked: sijie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wilco Visscher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 February 2012 Wilco would recommend this property

Liked: It got what you need. Its easygoing and relaxed. If you like loud hip hop and smoke go to the hump. Oterwise come here

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, especially in the bar/cafe downstairs. Good beds, too. Really thought about what backpackers need. Staff speaks excellent English. And they will help you with all your travel needs.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit iffy. Slow and disconnects often. Might I suggest using an Internet provider in HK? That way, foreign travelers, who use websites blocked in China will have a better time using the Internet.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012

Liked: The shower in a double room is nice. The watchman is friendly.

Disliked: The staff was impolite, lazy and dishonest. When we asked for directions on a bus stop, she would recommend a taxi (she did this to everyone, she would just say: "you take taxi" and turn away). When we asked about the commission on a busticket to Jinghong (which turned out to be 50 Yuan, which is extremely high for China) and said we'd rather get it ourselves at the bus station, she said that's not possible. Well we've been in China for four months, so we know what's possible and went to get it ourselves, but this behavior is just unacceptable from a 'backpacker'-run hostel. One day, the electricity in our bathroom broke. Well, this can happen, so we reported it. The reception girl looked annoyed, as if its unreasonable to mention it to her. When we got back at the end of the day, it was still broken. When we asked her when it would be fixed, she looked very annoyed. The food was really disappointing, we ordered pasta carbonara and got a really small plate with a penne, egg and bacon mixture. The beer was expensive: 10 yuan a piece, but around the corner is a friendly shopkeeper who sells them for 3.5 yuan, so you can fix this yourself. Our double room came with a 'please clean the room'-sign. We used it twice, and all they would do is empty wastebuckets and leave, while our linnen was visible dirty. They also claim your deposit was paid to hostelbookers, and not to them, so you can't get a refund if you leave earlier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit cold going outside to the bathroom/ loo. No single sex washroom/ sinks [only in the showers]

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a nice building with lots of character, spacious dorms, comfortable matresses.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work and the staff didn't seem to care. It was cold in the bar and indoor areas, there was a bad smell in the shower area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Simon Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and location, individual lights and outlets for each bed. Water coolers to use, pool and ping pong tables on site. The reception staff were helpful whenever I had questions.

Disliked: The bathrooms were often dirty and not cleaned regularly enough. The cleaning staff in general were extremely rude and curt. They come in the room to clean at 9am which was incredibly disruptive. They were also rude to me when I tried to leave the room when they were washing the floor.


See all Kunming hostels