HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China 650032

84.9% Overall Rating

508 out of 544 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2014)

Kim nana thinks…

"It is really a beautiful place, nice atmosphere, nice staff, they are really helpful."

Read all Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.29 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 53 reviews
The Hump Kunming
4.05 USD

Hostel 83.5% 396 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 88.3% 88 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.16 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.11 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

508 out of 544 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 447 of 466 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't here long. But the beds are very nice and it has a modern setup with individual lights and outlets for each bed.

Disliked: The lockers are too small to actually hold a pack. The toilet paper is not included and you need to go buy it downstairs. The 25rmb towel rental fee is absurd. The staff do not necessarily speak English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012

Liked: Great staff and helpful if you need any help. Nice bar and lounge area.

Disliked: It was very noisy. My biggest frustration was that our room which was close to the stairwell meant you could hear every footstep as people passed by on the staircase and from the floors above. Basically as its a concrete floor with no covering meant that you were kept awake until all hours. High heels were clacking late at night and first thing in the morning and this coupled with the noise from people drinking in the courtyard meant that it wasn't a very peacefull nights sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good hostel. The staff are very friendly with my tip . Also there bathroom are always keep clean.And nice coffee!

Disliked: I don't have any complain with this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindly sfaff with my everything.

Disliked: No

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012

Liked: After the experience (see dislike) we wanted to check-out early. The hostel gave us back the money for the unused days.

Disliked: The hostel turned off the entire water supply before midnight even though the hostel advertises having 24h of hot water (this could for example be read on the information sheet in the room). I had to find out the hard way. Having arrived at around 23:00, I decided to take a shower. Covered in soap, I noticed that the (already low in pressure) water stopped completely. Therefore I went to the reception to figure out what is going on. The hostel then told me that the city turns of the water around midnight (which is not true) and that I should wait (covered in soap) until 6:30. The hostel itself is worn-down and has seen its best days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ludkej diendnnee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 ludkej would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel!

Disliked: No water in sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a pretty clean hostel.The staff are really very helpful with everything .

Disliked: The city has a common problem with water!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD HOSTEL

Disliked: NO

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicol foxand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012 nicol would recommend this property

Liked: Its a really nice hostel.Good location / helpful staff / clean and bright dorms/relax balcony etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neko lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 neko would recommend this property

Liked: Because of 3 years drought , There is sometimes no water working,but its Ok in the morning and the night. I can understand the problem.Because this is not they can do control.Its a common problem in all the YUNNAN province.

Disliked: Not yet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel to meet people.

Disliked: They had major problems with the water when I stayed here. None of the showers or taps were working on the 2nd-4th floors. Only the first floor water was running, and it was all cold water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

qiao fang

Alone

Family Holiday

12 June 2012 qiao would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere!

Disliked: Good atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

na na

Alone

Shopping

12 June 2012 na would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!!

Disliked: Excellent!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina havazelee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

23 May 2012 christina would recommend this property

Liked: There is nice bar with lots of good beer.The clean ladies are really hard to keep everything clean.I had good time ther.

Disliked: The spring city looks not spring anymore.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wen juan tian

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 wen juan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.And there is wonderful balcony .

Disliked: No.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

qing yi chen

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2012 qing yi would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fang wang

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2012 fang would recommend this property

Liked: My friend recommended it for me .Its really good one.Feelling like home!

Disliked: Not yet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

li mei ling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 li would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful with clean dorm!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang na

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 April 2012 wang would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: wang left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: here is best one of china. This hostel is very clean, Staff is cute and helpful, anyway, everything is excellent.!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Flammang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The facility keeps on improving by way of clarity of services and cleanliness. I've always used the dorm rooms and have not had any issues, though I am safe and cautious to keep my things locked up. People are friendly to talk if you want, or there is space to keep to yourself.

Disliked: This is my third time staying at Cloudland. The service was hit-or-miss. Most of the time it is good, so I must remember that I am in China and some things are not to be expected. It is a good price for the money. The food is not the best but is OK. If you want good Western food, go to Salvador's.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually I am still here.The hostel is really amazing.Helpful staff/clean dorm .The hot shower is perfect ! I will recommed it .

Disliked: NO.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sijie yao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 sijie would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are nice there

Disliked: sijie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wilco Visscher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

27 February 2012 Wilco would recommend this property

Liked: It got what you need. Its easygoing and relaxed. If you like loud hip hop and smoke go to the hump. Oterwise come here

Disliked: Nothing


See all Kunming hostels