HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kunming Cloudland International Youth Hostel Kunming Hostel

23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 81%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 81%

Value 84%

Showing 151-49 of 49 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facility keeps on improving by way of clarity of services and cleanliness. I've always used the dorm rooms and have not had any issues, though I am safe and cautious to keep my things locked up. People are friendly to talk if you want, or there is space to keep to yourself.

Disliked: This is my third time staying at Cloudland. The service was hit-or-miss. Most of the time it is good, so I must remember that I am in China and some things are not to be expected. It is a good price for the money. The food is not the best but is OK. If you want good Western food, go to Salvador's.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Actually I am still here.The hostel is really amazing.Helpful staff/clean dorm .The hot shower is perfect ! I will recommed it .

Disliked: NO.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: staffs are nice there

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference

Liked: It got what you need. Its easygoing and relaxed. If you like loud hip hop and smoke go to the hump. Oterwise come here

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, especially in the bar/cafe downstairs. Good beds, too. Really thought about what backpackers need. Staff speaks excellent English. And they will help you with all your travel needs.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit iffy. Slow and disconnects often. Might I suggest using an Internet provider in HK? That way, foreign travelers, who use websites blocked in China will have a better time using the Internet.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit cold going outside to the bathroom/ loo. No single sex washroom/ sinks [only in the showers]

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is a nice building with lots of character, spacious dorms, comfortable matresses.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work and the staff didn't seem to care. It was cold in the bar and indoor areas, there was a bad smell in the shower area.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The shower in a double room is nice. The watchman is friendly.

Disliked: The staff was impolite, lazy and dishonest. When we asked for directions on a bus stop, she would recommend a taxi (she did this to everyone, she would just say: "you take taxi" and turn away). When we asked about the commission on a busticket to Jinghong (which turned out to be 50 Yuan, which is extremely high for China) and said we'd rather get it ourselves at the bus station, she said that's not possible. Well we've been in China for four months, so we know what's possible and went to get it ourselves, but this behavior is just unacceptable from a 'backpacker'-run hostel.One day, the electricity in our bathroom broke. Well, this can happen, so we reported it. The reception girl looked annoyed, as if its unreasonable to mention it to her. When we got back at the end of the day, it was still broken. When we asked her when it would be fixed, she looked very annoyed.The food was really disappointing, we ordered pasta carbonara and got a really small plate with a penne, egg and bacon mixture. The beer was expensive: 10 yuan a piece, but around the corner is a friendly shopkeeper who sells them for 3.5 yuan, so you can fix this yourself.Our double room came with a 'please clean the room'-sign. We used it twice, and all they would do is empty wastebuckets and leave, while our linnen was visible dirty. They also claim your deposit was paid to hostelbookers, and not to them, so you can't get a refund if you leave earlier.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good price and location, individual lights and outlets for each bed. Water coolers to use, pool and ping pong tables on site.The reception staff were helpful whenever I had questions.

Disliked: The bathrooms were often dirty and not cleaned regularly enough.The cleaning staff in general were extremely rude and curt. They come in the room to clean at 9am which was incredibly disruptive. They were also rude to me when I tried to leave the room when they were washing the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: perfect

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability