HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

80.8% Overall Rating

350 out of 398 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had…"

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.33
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 54 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.11 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 86.7% 90 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.3% 546 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.16 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

350 out of 398 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 309 of 329 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Nice staff.

Disliked: No window in the room, no internet in the room. Anyone can enter the hostel, use a bathroom etc. Restaurant and bar in the same building, no security.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: The dorms are large. Pick up from station for free.

Disliked: Staff is not helpfull and will not take time to answer your questions about bus or trains etc. Chinese locals spitting in the dorms. Bathrooms not very clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had to use. Everything was super clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Only one complaint: I had an interior room with a window facing into the hallway. It was very hot inside and even a fan didn't alleviate the heat. I decided to leave after one night. My recommendation would be to have A/C for those rooms to make them more comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. private en suite was clean, large and had hot water

Disliked: no wifi anywhere but in the launge (over crowded, loud, dark & smokey). very noisy even in private rooms. Restaurant food

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: Free coffee

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoe Ping Lai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Hoe Ping would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT atmosphere, staffs friendliness and very helpful, locate in the town centre and easily access by public transports to place of interest in Kunming, there are quiet and happening corners at the hostel; up to your choice!

Disliked: Hoe Ping left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff

Disliked: No window in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Santamera

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I have stayed at the Hump quite often and have always been more than satisfied with the service we received. The staff are friendly and helpful. We have no complaints.

Disliked: We have no complaints about the service we received at the Hump Kunming.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Minh Pham

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2014 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: It's location, very convenient to get around the city with it's transportation links.

Disliked: The food could have been better and the mattress was a bit too hard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Excellent rooms, very clean,

Disliked: Showers weren't working so we had to wait for a private room to have a shower - not ideal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big dorm rooms are comfortable and good value

Disliked: have to walk to find good whole in the wall food

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value rooms, free coffee/beer

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good directions to and from hostel and places of interest, nice patio area

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annalisa Galgano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Annalisa would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: Very helpful, friendly staff Great atmosphere Free vouchers for a beer and coffee upon check-in Clean and spacious rooms Provided ear plugs for the noise outside They will hold baggage for free after checkout if we want to go out

Disliked: Cons: Tricky to find, as no cab drivers spoke English Beds were pretty uncomfortable Overall, I would highly recommend!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Cutting

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 October 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff that went out of there way to pick us up when we arrived.We were dropped off across a busy intersection and one of the girls came to collect us. A very good outdoor entertainment area overlooking the intersection. Close to busy night market. Large clean rooms with good facilities

Disliked: Food could be improved. Bar facilities otherwise was very good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spacious rooms, decent food.

Disliked: Staff can be a bit arrogant sometimes, music is very loud in the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, great value

Disliked: only used one shower but the water/water pressure was almost nonexistent. didn't change my opinion of the place though, I would stay here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beate Anna Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Beate Anna would recommend this property

Liked: great location, one of the best hostels i have been to so far! the roof terrace is amazing, the food is great and not expensive and the rooms are big! i would definitely choose it again!

Disliked: the only problem was that my locker was broken on the second day of my stay, and they didn't repair it for 2 days, so i had to leave my stuff at the baggage room...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and excellent location! Couldn't have picked a better spot. Easy easy walking distance to the pedestrian shopping area/market areas. Very easy to find from the bus station as well.

Disliked: There's no air-con (or at least not in the 10-bed dorm), so it gets a bit hot at night in the summer time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013

Liked: I don't like it

Disliked: The double room is very dark. Some staffs were not helpful and didn't answer questions clearly and politely. Some staffs tend to be more friendly to westerners than to Chinese speakers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Hirner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I was there for a one day utility stay. A very nice place, good location and amazing interior. Very relaxing to chill on the balcony and the bars street is not far off either.

Disliked: Internet connection is crowded out in peak hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Wolters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ross Collinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooftop patio, great nighttime vibe, helpful staff, food price is decent, centre of the action

Disliked: Noise from club downstairs shakes the walls, windows do not close so noise comes in, no Air Conditioning in rooms (only a portable fan).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great lively place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Kunming hostels