HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

85.9% Overall Rating

345 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Peter Santamera thinks…

"My wife and I have stayed at the Hump quite often and have always been more than satisfied with the service we received. The staff are friendly and helpful. We have no complaints."

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.27
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.28 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 48 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
7.12 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 88.9% 85 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 85.4% 539 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.14 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.09 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

345 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 302 of 322 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Santamera

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I have stayed at the Hump quite often and have always been more than satisfied with the service we received. The staff are friendly and helpful. We have no complaints.

Disliked: We have no complaints about the service we received at the Hump Kunming.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Minh Pham

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2014 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: It's location, very convenient to get around the city with it's transportation links.

Disliked: The food could have been better and the mattress was a bit too hard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Excellent rooms, very clean,

Disliked: Showers weren't working so we had to wait for a private room to have a shower - not ideal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big dorm rooms are comfortable and good value

Disliked: have to walk to find good whole in the wall food

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value rooms, free coffee/beer

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good directions to and from hostel and places of interest, nice patio area

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annalisa Galgano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Annalisa would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: Very helpful, friendly staff Great atmosphere Free vouchers for a beer and coffee upon check-in Clean and spacious rooms Provided ear plugs for the noise outside They will hold baggage for free after checkout if we want to go out

Disliked: Cons: Tricky to find, as no cab drivers spoke English Beds were pretty uncomfortable Overall, I would highly recommend!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Cutting

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 October 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff that went out of there way to pick us up when we arrived.We were dropped off across a busy intersection and one of the girls came to collect us. A very good outdoor entertainment area overlooking the intersection. Close to busy night market. Large clean rooms with good facilities

Disliked: Food could be improved. Bar facilities otherwise was very good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spacious rooms, decent food.

Disliked: Staff can be a bit arrogant sometimes, music is very loud in the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, great value

Disliked: only used one shower but the water/water pressure was almost nonexistent. didn't change my opinion of the place though, I would stay here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beate Anna Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Beate Anna would recommend this property

Liked: great location, one of the best hostels i have been to so far! the roof terrace is amazing, the food is great and not expensive and the rooms are big! i would definitely choose it again!

Disliked: the only problem was that my locker was broken on the second day of my stay, and they didn't repair it for 2 days, so i had to leave my stuff at the baggage room...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and excellent location! Couldn't have picked a better spot. Easy easy walking distance to the pedestrian shopping area/market areas. Very easy to find from the bus station as well.

Disliked: There's no air-con (or at least not in the 10-bed dorm), so it gets a bit hot at night in the summer time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013

Liked: I don't like it

Disliked: The double room is very dark. Some staffs were not helpful and didn't answer questions clearly and politely. Some staffs tend to be more friendly to westerners than to Chinese speakers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Hirner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I was there for a one day utility stay. A very nice place, good location and amazing interior. Very relaxing to chill on the balcony and the bars street is not far off either.

Disliked: Internet connection is crowded out in peak hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Wolters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ross Collinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooftop patio, great nighttime vibe, helpful staff, food price is decent, centre of the action

Disliked: Noise from club downstairs shakes the walls, windows do not close so noise comes in, no Air Conditioning in rooms (only a portable fan).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great lively place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melanie Ehler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013

Liked: There's a lot to like about The Hump, with its great location and giant, comfy beds.

Disliked: IT'S A PARTY HOSTEL. The comfy beds are awesome in theory, but in spite of the large rooftop with tables for partying, other people staying in the dorm had the lights on and were talking until nearly 4 am. And then the staff started cleaning the dorm room at 9 am -- so I hardly got any sleep. Also, the atmosphere is very bad if you can't speak Chinese because everyone staying here is Chinese and (understandably) just want to talk to each other. It's full of people, but it's also very lonely (for English speakers).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Babbage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I booked the wrong month and they were going to help me find a new hostel but then a bed became available and they let me have it.

Disliked: It was loud, with street food sellers, traffic, early morning old people dancing etc, it made it quite hard to sleep. There were only two people on the front desk even at busy check out time, my room card didn't work even before the check out was up, so I had to go to them, get the card reactivated, wait 5 minutes, come back with my luggage, wait another 5 minutes to check out etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good location. It's well-priced. The staff picked me up from the train station which was a very good service. The dorm room itself is quite nice and high tech with automatic keys that open locker and door.

Disliked: The main room smells odd, not sure if it's the sewage but it makes it hard to sit in there, not to mention that most of it is an open patio so even in the covered area there are a ton of mosquitos.The hostel attracts the wrong crowd who were completely disrespectful and kept turning the lights on and clamouring aroung after 1 in the morning even though there are small personal lamps over each person's bed. Although this isn't the hostels fault , this place had a huge party vibe with the loud music and is not very peaceful. Finally, the guy at the front desk was quite rude in the morning when I asked him if he could watch over my small bag for a bit while I got breakfast before my train. I had already checked out and I didn't need him to look after my big bag but just the small one with my computer, money, camera, etc. He told me they don't do this. At which point, I asked for the locker key back because it was still 7:00 in the morning. He gave me extreme attitude finally agreeing that I only had 10 minutes...I don't get why this is such a big ordeal since most hostels will look after your important belongings for an hour or two after you check out. Definitely not impressed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Nataliia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap

Disliked: Bathroom was far from my room and one toilet paper for the whole bathroom and one day I didn't find it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miracle

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sipko Marten Bulthuis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2013 Sipko Marten would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, helpfull (English speaking!) staff, and, since it is one of only a few hostels in Kunming, an excellent place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: We were there in January and it was kind of cold. They don't seem to have any heaters at the hump. Fortunately the electric blankets partly compensated that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Grether

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, cleanliness

Disliked: English and trip planning of staff


See all Kunming hostels