HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Hump Hostel Kunming Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.09USD
  • Breakfast 3.21USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, perfect location, good athmosphere

Disliked: Weather was bad

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The food was very good. The couches were comfortable I wanted to sleep there instead of my bed with no matress.

Disliked: It was very noisy. The public area also served as a bar with folk coming in from outside and crowding the hostel space. There are only 4 women's toilets and at one time I had to queue as the bar was full. The beds were very uncomfortable with mattresses lacking just layers of wool and fabric.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Love the huge terrace area. Comfy beds.Helpful staff.Good travel advice and train & bus ticket booking facilities.Central location.

Disliked: Nothing �

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Staff was fantastic. Location central. Clean. Great place.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really central, lovely rooftop, comfy beds and cheap!

Disliked: Staff could do with taking a few lessons in customer service!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was fantastic. Drinks were cheap at the bar.

Disliked: The beds were awful. A 1 inch foam mattress on top of some wood. My husband and I ended up stacking our mattresses and sharing a single bed just so we could sleep. The room was also very dirty. There were stains all over the wall next to the bed... I'll let you imagine what those stains were....

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location. Nice staff.

Disliked: No window in the room, no internet in the room. Anyone can enter the hostel, use a bathroom etc. Restaurant and bar in the same building, no security.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The dorms are large.Pick up from station for free.

Disliked: Staff is not helpfull and will not take time to answer your questions about bus or trains etc.Chinese locals spitting in the dorms.Bathrooms not very clean.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had to use. Everything was super clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Only one complaint: I had an interior room with a window facing into the hallway. It was very hot inside and even a fan didn't alleviate the heat. I decided to leave after one night. My recommendation would be to have A/C for those rooms to make them more comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location. private en suite was clean, large and had hot water

Disliked: no wifi anywhere but in the launge (over crowded, loud, dark & smokey). very noisy even in private rooms. Restaurant food

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability