We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

80.8% Overall Rating

350 out of 398 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had…"

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.38
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.31 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 55 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.13 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 87.3% 91 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 84.3% 548 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.19 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.13 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

350 out of 398 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 309 of 329 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael degerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I love their terrace, the food, and the helpful staff!

Disliked: noisy area of the city at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011

Liked: The Hump is very well organized, has a GREAT location, and all the basics

Disliked: One of my least comfortable hostel stays ever. Even though it's cool in Kunming at night, our rooms were consistently too warm to sleep comfortably, often buzzing with mosquitoes, and very loud. I also felt like it the Hump lacked the personal touch that comes with smaller hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: english speaking staff, great location and organisation

Disliked: very huge and loud place, more of an club that a small hostel with a soul. the terrace is though great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yizheng Ruan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Yizheng would recommend this property

Liked: The opening yard in the roof of building is very comfortable~ Staffs are very friendly~ nice location~ It is very kind to offer one cup of cafe and one glass of beer for free~

Disliked: At night, it is a bit noise, because of the night opening marker nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful roof café, nice atmosphere. good beds and lockers. nice showers.

Disliked: no AC in our dorm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a big hostel and often you will feel like you are living in a nightclub, unless you're on the noisy childrens hospital side of the building. So good for a drink and then collapse into bed.

Disliked: Don't stay if you want peace and quiet. Also the bar / club is open to the public, so you're not guarenteed a space and this doubles as a security risk i fear

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Rooms can get very stuffy and very few have fans. The Chinese food was the worst we've had in China - I guess the chef didn't care for quality or just wasn't Chinese, as the Western fare was pretty good. Beer was very expensive - RMB15 for a 500ml Tsingtao which is RMB3 outside!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice touches in dorms like stairs for top bunks, shelves and little cupboards behind the pillows. Great communal areas. Friendly and helpful staff. Free beer and coffee token on arrival. Amazing location.

Disliked: No mosquito bars on the dorm window - got eaten alive. The bathrooms smelled like sewerage. Mattresses ok but need updating. Bed linen not great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to the train and bus station. Clean. Good food.

Disliked: Too big to be personal. Also they charged a comission for booking bus/train tickets. Many hostels offer rhis for free.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Rossi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: It was simply perfect

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Salmon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel - my favourite in China! The staff are fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The dorms are massive and well kept, and so are the shared showers and toilets. The location is brilliant as well. I stayed in Cloudland in Kunming for a couple of nights before moving to Hump, and believe me that Hump is infinitely better and cleaner.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was nice and big.

Disliked: It s a litte bit noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sander Boonstra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Sander would recommend this property

Liked: The Hump has a great big terrace with sun the whole day. That's really nice and in the evening everybody sits outside. We stayed at a dormroom for ten people, but this is the biggest dormroom we've ever seen! There is enough space and you have your own safe in the room. There's also a safe available behind the reception (you need to pay a deposit of 50RMB, but you get it back at the end). They say it's noisy outside, but once we slept we didn't wake up of that noise.

Disliked: When you are a girl and you stay in a dorm you sometimes want to get changed in privacy. This wasn't always possible, because in the evening the showers were really busy and the toilets are to tight to get changed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organised and clean youth hostel.

Disliked: Very centrally located, so it comes with noice in the evening, but they provide earplugs for free.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shannon Piccinin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Location, outdoor patio areas, services on offer, decent hostel food.

Disliked: No fan and no a/c, no bathroom vent in ensuite so room was constantly humid because hot water vapour had nowhere to escape to, you can see through the closed curtains from outside the room at night when the lights are on, renovation/repairs in the building started at 7:30am (hammering noises), says internet available from 7am-1am but not working until nearly 9am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Durbas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: location & staff

Disliked: littile noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i think it is the best hostel i have ever been!!!!! i especially liked the bar and the staff, really nice and helpfull.

Disliked: maybe the staff in the morning was a little slow during the breakfast time!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, prime location.

Disliked: the atmosphere and environment. As it was located in the center of Kunming, it was very noisy with pub, bar and children hospital.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Degroof

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff can speak english very well,I really enjoy my staying in hump kunming.

Disliked: Just a little bit noise!It's ok

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Martin Schmitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011

Liked: nice building

Disliked: They do not care about other people proberty. We put our bikes upstairs as the hostel recommends it. They painted the wall close to the bikes and lots of paint where on our bikes. When we told them what happened they did not even said sorry. It is a very unprofessional behavior to not even warn the people who have their bikes their. It was very expensive because a bike sprinkled with red dots all over is much less worth than the bikes we had when we checked in this Guesthoues. If you like to have your belongings the way they are do not go to this guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great stay,roof terrace is great ,good place to meet people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, great basis, especially when you don't speak Chinese. Helpfull, friendly staff, greatest Cocktails in town for years already.

Disliked: Chinese food is not really the best there, but absolutely edible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amie Dolan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The rooftop terrace is awesome.

Disliked: Not much, but the bathrooms in the private rooms have no door or ventilation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Stokes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central with plenty of food options nearby. The safes under the beds in the dorm rooms fit your whole bag, even a large I'm-on-a-marathon-travel-itinerary backpack.

Disliked: The hot and cold water labels are backwards in all the communal showers (not sure about the private rooms). Quite a few people were complaining about the lack of hot water until they figured out you have to take a "cold" shower in order to get hot water. It is, in fact, rather hot once you figure that out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Burbridge

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything is great about this place.

Disliked: The bed organization seemed confusing. Every night we had to change rooms because someone took our bed. That and the fruit/museli/yogurt breakfast left something to be desired.


See all Kunming hostels