HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

81.9% Overall Rating

349 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had…"

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.34
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 53 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.11 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 86.7% 90 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 83.8% 545 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.17 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

349 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 328 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Always amazing... I keep getting drawn back to Kunming and I think the Hump is a massive part of that. Awesome hostel, nice bar, pool table, roof terrace, facilities, location. Always meet great folks there. Usually go for a dorm (which are great) but it was my first time staying in a private room and wow, it was lush! Serious luxury for a hostel, with heaps of character too.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

laura Nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011

Liked: Good common area, hot showers. Clean.

Disliked: No toilet paper provided, charged 10 yuan just to use the washing machine. Food in the cafe was expensive and average. Staff were incompetent... 5 minute argument about whether Vientiane was a country or capital when trying to organize a bus ticket that was only solved when I provided a map as evidence. The guy on reception then just laughed at me even though he was wrong. He tended to laugh at us whatever we said. Bed confusion. Blatant rip off not interesting in providing for traveller in that you are charged for every little thing from bag storage to toilet paper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Excellent central location. Kind and friendly other travellers.

Disliked: A little bit too much noise at night. They insisted on taking my passport and keeping it for several hours while I slept which left me a little uneasy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Slabosz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The most helpful Staff EVER!!!!! I mean THE BEST! The receptionist called Lucy arranged for me all the trip to Yang Yang Province...with bus, tickets and hostel booking, Chinese characters writing and fixing all how to get there. Thank U so much once again! My room mates were hilarious and we were laughing half of the night, nice beds, super good lockers, perfect location!!! And the F O O D!!! Soooo delicious!!!!

Disliked: Was hard to get there as there are some constructions in the city so bus N3 changed route but its already updated, just I took old leaflet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ionut parv

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011

Liked: good located in centre of city

Disliked: absolutely no athmosphere, to big

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans Espegard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: central location , frendly staff and goo atmosphere

Disliked: Noice from the city outside

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etienne Perron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is great Staff excellent

Disliked: Have to pay for internet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nadia Lewis-Burke

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: The courtyard is a beautiful suntrap for the lovely sunny days in Kunming. Perfect for lazy days drinking coffee watching over the hustle and bustle of Jin Ma Square. Centrally located for the night market for gorgeous hand made jewelry and more expensive shopping in the nearby mall. Good music played throughtout the day and evenings creating a pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise pollution from the streets outside is un-sleepable! Earplugs are a necessity, or some double glazed windows! The staff seemed far from helpful, it felt like a chore when we would ask for help. One member even sent us to the wrong bus station when we were leaving Kunming for Laos, almost missing our bus out of China. Service lacks consistency, after ordering our drinks some staff would often leave them at the bar so we had to get them ourselves. This is fine if its a laid back establishment, but one or the other. The food is value for money but you can get find nicer dishes at the same price elsewhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kasandra Antoine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Kasandra would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and beds. Cheap laundry. For your convenience , they listed to info on how to get to places by public bus.

Disliked: Food at their restaurant is overpriced and mediocre. It is one of the better places in Kunming.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up service. One part of staff are so nice, Kind. Lights for every bed, lines is well changed after use. But they do not claen the floors..etc. Balcony in the loung, in the cafeteria is so comfortable. Personal locker's key is electric, well seured.

Disliked: Paper is not provided in the toilettes. Shower room is stinky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaushik Mitra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Kaushik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel at very good price with central location and lots of facilities.

Disliked: There was something more to expect in the Private ensuite double room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very good location near shopping center and not far from the airport (about 20 yuen of taxi meter) - large room and high utility bed

Disliked: - near noisy main road

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 October 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: staff and WiFi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common area and location, great dorm

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hildur Hjorvar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Hildur would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very spacious and clean dorms and a great place to hang out; large bar/restaurant, pool table and huge terrace. Nice and friendly atmosphere. The free train station pickup came in handy too, I recommend you take advantage of that!

Disliked: Food's a bit overpriced and there's very little space to eat food you bring yourself. Drinks are on the cheap though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere here and the Dorms are excellent

Disliked: I came here so I could go to the rice terraces at Yuanyang and the hostel has advertised a hostel called the photography hostel. This is the worse hostel I've ever stayed in my life and I'm extremely angry this was recommended to me I can't stress enough not to go and stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the terrace!! Also, the staff was extremely helpful and kind! They helped me get a taxis and book my tickets. It's been one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Highly recommend! :)

Disliked: I wish there were more air-conditoners or fans in the rooms. The air circulation wasn't the best.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The complimentary coffee and beer!

Disliked: Having to pay for toilet roll! There was no aircon during my stay but when its hot it would be a bit of a nightmare!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in China, so far... Have been around 3 weeks. Big dorms, comfy beds. Very nice staff. Nicolas pick me up very warm and friendly at the train station, normally the pick up is by bus but we took a taxi because of the traffic & they pay for it. They also book my train ticket to Lijiang. Clean and with the greatest common area ever! You have either a lovely terrace, very big & with nice views, or a common area with sofas inside. They also cook very nice dishes. And I got a free coffe & a free beer. It is true is very big but you don't have the feeling of being lost as everyone is so nice to you and there is a great atmosphere.

Disliked: I'd say the toilets, shared for everyone, but it's not a big deal. I also asked about some directions to get to somewhere around Kunming & they were not very helpful with their answer but evthing else was great. I would def go back!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, help you organise activities and can book (for small fee) tickets for you.

Disliked: The toilets, although clean, were smelly when the incense wasn't working. It was noisy because it's in a very central location, near bars etc, but they do give free earplugs if needed!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Thielen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to stay, it has character, cosy, nice terrace. It's a clean place, clean rooms and they take good care for clean toilets and showers. It is not as noisy as I expected, I could have a good night sleep.

Disliked: Not every staff-member was always very helpfull, and they used the word 'maybe' a lot; were I couldn't count on. If you want to rent a bike, you can't in the hostel itself, but you can downstairs: after the stairs walk directly to the right and then there is a small shop directly on the leftside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel with lovely balcony bar and inside communal area. Friendly english speaking staff. A lot is made of the noise problems, but wasnt too much of a issue, only really loud on saturdays and to be fair, they do supply airplugs!

Disliked: No aircon which might annoy some, location is quite far from the train and bus stations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael degerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I love their terrace, the food, and the helpful staff!

Disliked: noisy area of the city at night


See all Kunming hostels