HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Hump Hostel Kunming Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.58USD
  • Breakfast 3.01USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

Showing 41-24 of 24 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: we had a nice stay, one free coffe and one free beer, really nice view from the cafe.

Disliked: It helps to speak some Chinese because some of the stuff doesn't speak fluent English

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very central location, clean facilities and comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice place to hang out in the middle of the cbd

Disliked: loud at night (its right in the club and bar area)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, big rooms & helpful staff

Disliked: Directions need a bit of work but we found it eventually.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great atmosphere , great location great staff

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it's really a nice and large place to stay. it's clean and comfortable, especially for its environment and characteristic.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The international atmosphere and modern open mood. Pop music and a big common area with a great terrace in the heart of Kunming!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well organised hostel, all services available, lots of information provided for travel, transportation, sights. Information posted on walls was very helpful and saves us from asking, and even told me things I never would have known about.(but confirm some of the info with the staff if you have doubts)Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good atmosphere, if you want to socialise there is a bar and dining area, if you needquiet-time the rooms and corridor area are peaceful. The rooms are quite spacious, you get your own locker, the top bunks are accessibleby a built-in step ladder. The hostel is located close to bus stops and near the main shopping district and there is a largesupermarket across the street, many cheap eateries around the hostel. Excellent value for money on a world scale.

Disliked: The hostel is tricky to find at first, and it's located on the third floor of the building.The traffic from outside can be noisy if you have a room next to the street so you might need earplugs.Wifi signal weak in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is VERY helpful even when busy. They called and confirmed my air flight for me. I was just hoping for directions to the ariline office.\\They took immediate care of a slight problem with the light by my bed.The roof top terrace was nice.

Disliked: They did give me ear plugs but I was afraid to use them because I needed to hear my alarm for getting up early. There was noise from the bar below and people going in and out of my dorm room. I couldn't get to sleep until after 1:30 am.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big lockers in the rooms, helpful staff, even trying to find other people going to the airport around the same time so you can share the costs for the ride.

Disliked: the lack of air conditioning was felt when sleeping in the heat

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability