HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

85.9% Overall Rating

345 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Peter Santamera thinks…

"My wife and I have stayed at the Hump quite often and have always been more than satisfied with the service we received. The staff are friendly and helpful. We have no complaints."

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.29
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.29 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 48 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
7.13 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 88.9% 85 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 85.4% 539 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.15 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.10 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

345 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 302 of 322 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011

Liked: good located in centre of city

Disliked: absolutely no athmosphere, to big

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans Espegard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: central location , frendly staff and goo atmosphere

Disliked: Noice from the city outside

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etienne Perron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is great Staff excellent

Disliked: Have to pay for internet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nadia Lewis-Burke

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: The courtyard is a beautiful suntrap for the lovely sunny days in Kunming. Perfect for lazy days drinking coffee watching over the hustle and bustle of Jin Ma Square. Centrally located for the night market for gorgeous hand made jewelry and more expensive shopping in the nearby mall. Good music played throughtout the day and evenings creating a pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise pollution from the streets outside is un-sleepable! Earplugs are a necessity, or some double glazed windows! The staff seemed far from helpful, it felt like a chore when we would ask for help. One member even sent us to the wrong bus station when we were leaving Kunming for Laos, almost missing our bus out of China. Service lacks consistency, after ordering our drinks some staff would often leave them at the bar so we had to get them ourselves. This is fine if its a laid back establishment, but one or the other. The food is value for money but you can get find nicer dishes at the same price elsewhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kasandra Antoine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Kasandra would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and beds. Cheap laundry. For your convenience , they listed to info on how to get to places by public bus.

Disliked: Food at their restaurant is overpriced and mediocre. It is one of the better places in Kunming.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up service. One part of staff are so nice, Kind. Lights for every bed, lines is well changed after use. But they do not claen the floors..etc. Balcony in the loung, in the cafeteria is so comfortable. Personal locker's key is electric, well seured.

Disliked: Paper is not provided in the toilettes. Shower room is stinky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaushik Mitra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Kaushik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel at very good price with central location and lots of facilities.

Disliked: There was something more to expect in the Private ensuite double room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very good location near shopping center and not far from the airport (about 20 yuen of taxi meter) - large room and high utility bed

Disliked: - near noisy main road

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 October 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: staff and WiFi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common area and location, great dorm

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hildur Hjorvar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Hildur would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very spacious and clean dorms and a great place to hang out; large bar/restaurant, pool table and huge terrace. Nice and friendly atmosphere. The free train station pickup came in handy too, I recommend you take advantage of that!

Disliked: Food's a bit overpriced and there's very little space to eat food you bring yourself. Drinks are on the cheap though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere here and the Dorms are excellent

Disliked: I came here so I could go to the rice terraces at Yuanyang and the hostel has advertised a hostel called the photography hostel. This is the worse hostel I've ever stayed in my life and I'm extremely angry this was recommended to me I can't stress enough not to go and stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the terrace!! Also, the staff was extremely helpful and kind! They helped me get a taxis and book my tickets. It's been one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Highly recommend! :)

Disliked: I wish there were more air-conditoners or fans in the rooms. The air circulation wasn't the best.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The complimentary coffee and beer!

Disliked: Having to pay for toilet roll! There was no aircon during my stay but when its hot it would be a bit of a nightmare!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in China, so far... Have been around 3 weeks. Big dorms, comfy beds. Very nice staff. Nicolas pick me up very warm and friendly at the train station, normally the pick up is by bus but we took a taxi because of the traffic & they pay for it. They also book my train ticket to Lijiang. Clean and with the greatest common area ever! You have either a lovely terrace, very big & with nice views, or a common area with sofas inside. They also cook very nice dishes. And I got a free coffe & a free beer. It is true is very big but you don't have the feeling of being lost as everyone is so nice to you and there is a great atmosphere.

Disliked: I'd say the toilets, shared for everyone, but it's not a big deal. I also asked about some directions to get to somewhere around Kunming & they were not very helpful with their answer but evthing else was great. I would def go back!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, help you organise activities and can book (for small fee) tickets for you.

Disliked: The toilets, although clean, were smelly when the incense wasn't working. It was noisy because it's in a very central location, near bars etc, but they do give free earplugs if needed!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Thielen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to stay, it has character, cosy, nice terrace. It's a clean place, clean rooms and they take good care for clean toilets and showers. It is not as noisy as I expected, I could have a good night sleep.

Disliked: Not every staff-member was always very helpfull, and they used the word 'maybe' a lot; were I couldn't count on. If you want to rent a bike, you can't in the hostel itself, but you can downstairs: after the stairs walk directly to the right and then there is a small shop directly on the leftside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel with lovely balcony bar and inside communal area. Friendly english speaking staff. A lot is made of the noise problems, but wasnt too much of a issue, only really loud on saturdays and to be fair, they do supply airplugs!

Disliked: No aircon which might annoy some, location is quite far from the train and bus stations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael degerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I love their terrace, the food, and the helpful staff!

Disliked: noisy area of the city at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011

Liked: The Hump is very well organized, has a GREAT location, and all the basics

Disliked: One of my least comfortable hostel stays ever. Even though it's cool in Kunming at night, our rooms were consistently too warm to sleep comfortably, often buzzing with mosquitoes, and very loud. I also felt like it the Hump lacked the personal touch that comes with smaller hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: english speaking staff, great location and organisation

Disliked: very huge and loud place, more of an club that a small hostel with a soul. the terrace is though great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yizheng Ruan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Yizheng would recommend this property

Liked: The opening yard in the roof of building is very comfortable~ Staffs are very friendly~ nice location~ It is very kind to offer one cup of cafe and one glass of beer for free~

Disliked: At night, it is a bit noise, because of the night opening marker nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful roof café, nice atmosphere. good beds and lockers. nice showers.

Disliked: no AC in our dorm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a big hostel and often you will feel like you are living in a nightclub, unless you're on the noisy childrens hospital side of the building. So good for a drink and then collapse into bed.

Disliked: Don't stay if you want peace and quiet. Also the bar / club is open to the public, so you're not guarenteed a space and this doubles as a security risk i fear

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Rooms can get very stuffy and very few have fans. The Chinese food was the worst we've had in China - I guess the chef didn't care for quality or just wasn't Chinese, as the Western fare was pretty good. Beer was very expensive - RMB15 for a 500ml Tsingtao which is RMB3 outside!


See all Kunming hostels