HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Hump Hostel Kunming Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.42USD
  • Breakfast 3.26USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

Showing 31-28 of 28 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: great lively place to stay

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There's a lot to like about The Hump, with its great location and giant, comfy beds.

Disliked: IT'S A PARTY HOSTEL. The comfy beds are awesome in theory, but in spite of the large rooftop with tables for partying, other people staying in the dorm had the lights on and were talking until nearly 4 am. And then the staff started cleaning the dorm room at 9 am -- so I hardly got any sleep. Also, the atmosphere is very bad if you can't speak Chinese because everyone staying here is Chinese and (understandably) just want to talk to each other. It's full of people, but it's also very lonely (for English speakers).

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I booked the wrong month and they were going to help me find a new hostel but then a bed became available and they let me have it.

Disliked: It was loud, with street food sellers, traffic, early morning old people dancing etc, it made it quite hard to sleep. There were only two people on the front desk even at busy check out time, my room card didn't work even before the check out was up, so I had to go to them, get the card reactivated, wait 5 minutes, come back with my luggage, wait another 5 minutes to check out etc.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in a good location. It's well-priced. The staff picked me up from the train station which was a very good service. The dorm room itself is quite nice and high tech with automatic keys that open locker and door.

Disliked: The main room smells odd, not sure if it's the sewage but it makes it hard to sit in there, not to mention that most of it is an open patio so even in the covered area there are a ton of mosquitos.The hostel attracts the wrong crowd who were completely disrespectful and kept turning the lights on and clamouring aroung after 1 in the morning even though there are small personal lamps over each person's bed. Although this isn't the hostels fault , this place had a huge party vibe with the loud music and is not very peaceful. Finally, the guy at the front desk was quite rude in the morning when I asked him if he could watch over my small bag for a bit while I got breakfast before my train. I had already checked out and I didn't need him to look after my big bag but just the small one with my computer, money, camera, etc. He told me they don't do this. At which point, I asked for the locker key back because it was still 7:00 in the morning. He gave me extreme attitude finally agreeing that I only had 10 minutes...I don't get why this is such a big ordeal since most hostels will look after your important belongings for an hour or two after you check out. Definitely not impressed.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and cheap

Disliked: Bathroom was far from my room and one toilet paper for the whole bathroom and one day I didn't find it

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Miracle

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was very, very helpful and patient with our many questions and requests. For me, this was more important than other things.

Disliked: Absolutely no complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: atmosphere, cleanliness

Disliked: English and trip planning of staff

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Talking with some of the workers was very interesting. You can practice your Chinese here if you'd like, but you don't need to know any Chinese to stay here. The free ginger tea is great, along with the coffee. There is a free beer too, but many may find it to not be very tasty, but hey, it's free. The location is far from the train station and airport, but very centrally located.

Disliked: The staff had given us some directions that ended up being a little unclear or inaccurate. In the end, we figured out our way by asking locals, but others might not be as lucky with that.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Excellent location, helpfull (English speaking!) staff, and, since it is one of only a few hostels in Kunming, an excellent place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: We were there in January and it was kind of cold. They don't seem to have any heaters at the hump. Fortunately the electric blankets partly compensated that.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability