HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Hump Hostel Kunming Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.51USD
  • Breakfast 3.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

Showing 21-24 of 24 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pros: Very helpful, friendly staffGreat atmosphereFree vouchers for a beer and coffee upon check-inClean and spacious roomsProvided ear plugs for the noise outsideThey will hold baggage for free after checkout if we want to go out

Disliked: Cons: Tricky to find, as no cab drivers spoke English Beds were pretty uncomfortableOverall, I would highly recommend!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff that went out of there way to pick us up when we arrived.We were dropped off across a busy intersection and one of the girls came to collect us. A very good outdoor entertainment area overlooking the intersection. Close to busy night market. Large clean rooms with good facilities

Disliked: Food could be improved. Bar facilities otherwise was very good

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, spacious rooms, decent food.

Disliked: Staff can be a bit arrogant sometimes, music is very loud in the evening.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: comfortable bed, great value

Disliked: only used one shower but the water/water pressure was almost nonexistent. didn't change my opinion of the place though, I would stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location, one of the best hostels i have been to so far! the roof terrace is amazing, the food is great and not expensive and the rooms are big! i would definitely choose it again!

Disliked: the only problem was that my locker was broken on the second day of my stay, and they didn't repair it for 2 days, so i had to leave my stuff at the baggage room...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and excellent location! Couldn't have picked a better spot. Easy easy walking distance to the pedestrian shopping area/market areas. Very easy to find from the bus station as well.

Disliked: There's no air-con (or at least not in the 10-bed dorm), so it gets a bit hot at night in the summer time.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Basically I was there for a one day utility stay. A very nice place, good location and amazing interior. Very relaxing to chill on the balcony and the bars street is not far off either.

Disliked: Internet connection is crowded out in peak hours.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I don't like it

Disliked: The double room is very dark. Some staffs were not helpful and didn't answer questions clearly and politely. Some staffs tend to be more friendly to westerners than to Chinese speakers.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Large rooftop patio, great nighttime vibe, helpful staff, food price is decent, centre of the action

Disliked: Noise from club downstairs shakes the walls, windows do not close so noise comes in, no Air Conditioning in rooms (only a portable fan).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability