HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of The Hump Kunming

Hostel | Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China 650021

83.5% Overall Rating

349 out of 396 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Location and atmosphere are exactly what to expect at a hostel; lots of young travelers hanging out together. The staff were constantly cleaning the big bath/ rest room that those who had no bathroom in their suite had…"

Read all The Hump Kunming reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.33
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 53 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.11 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 88.3% 88 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 84.9% 544 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.16 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

349 out of 396 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Hump Kunming'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 307 of 327 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good location. It's well-priced. The staff picked me up from the train station which was a very good service. The dorm room itself is quite nice and high tech with automatic keys that open locker and door.

Disliked: The main room smells odd, not sure if it's the sewage but it makes it hard to sit in there, not to mention that most of it is an open patio so even in the covered area there are a ton of mosquitos.The hostel attracts the wrong crowd who were completely disrespectful and kept turning the lights on and clamouring aroung after 1 in the morning even though there are small personal lamps over each person's bed. Although this isn't the hostels fault , this place had a huge party vibe with the loud music and is not very peaceful. Finally, the guy at the front desk was quite rude in the morning when I asked him if he could watch over my small bag for a bit while I got breakfast before my train. I had already checked out and I didn't need him to look after my big bag but just the small one with my computer, money, camera, etc. He told me they don't do this. At which point, I asked for the locker key back because it was still 7:00 in the morning. He gave me extreme attitude finally agreeing that I only had 10 minutes...I don't get why this is such a big ordeal since most hostels will look after your important belongings for an hour or two after you check out. Definitely not impressed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Nataliia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap

Disliked: Bathroom was far from my room and one toilet paper for the whole bathroom and one day I didn't find it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miracle

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sipko Marten Bulthuis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2013 Sipko Marten would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, helpfull (English speaking!) staff, and, since it is one of only a few hostels in Kunming, an excellent place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: We were there in January and it was kind of cold. They don't seem to have any heaters at the hump. Fortunately the electric blankets partly compensated that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Grether

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, cleanliness

Disliked: English and trip planning of staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clifford Humphrey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 January 2013 Clifford would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very, very helpful and patient with our many questions and requests. For me, this was more important than other things.

Disliked: Absolutely no complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Talking with some of the workers was very interesting. You can practice your Chinese here if you'd like, but you don't need to know any Chinese to stay here. The free ginger tea is great, along with the coffee. There is a free beer too, but many may find it to not be very tasty, but hey, it's free. The location is far from the train station and airport, but very centrally located.

Disliked: The staff had given us some directions that ended up being a little unclear or inaccurate. In the end, we figured out our way by asking locals, but others might not be as lucky with that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a nice stay, one free coffe and one free beer, really nice view from the cafe.

Disliked: It helps to speak some Chinese because some of the stuff doesn't speak fluent English

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE HONG LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 CHEE HONG would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, clean facilities and comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Pryke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere , great location great staff

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to hang out in the middle of the cbd

Disliked: loud at night (its right in the club and bar area)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big rooms & helpful staff

Disliked: Directions need a bit of work but we found it eventually.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefan Mosig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: The international atmosphere and modern open mood. Pop music and a big common area with a great terrace in the heart of Kunming!

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HANQIANG LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 HANQIANG would recommend this property

Liked: it's really a nice and large place to stay. it's clean and comfortable, especially for its environment and characteristic.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organised hostel, all services available, lots of information provided for travel, transportation, sights. Information posted on walls was very helpful and saves us from asking, and even told me things I never would have known about. (but confirm some of the info with the staff if you have doubts) Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good atmosphere, if you want to socialise there is a bar and dining area, if you need quiet-time the rooms and corridor area are peaceful. The rooms are quite spacious, you get your own locker, the top bunks are accessible by a built-in step ladder. The hostel is located close to bus stops and near the main shopping district and there is a large supermarket across the street, many cheap eateries around the hostel. Excellent value for money on a world scale.

Disliked: The hostel is tricky to find at first, and it's located on the third floor of the building. The traffic from outside can be noisy if you have a room next to the street so you might need earplugs. Wifi signal weak in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice roof terrace, helpful staff

Disliked: no window in our room (double with shared bathroom)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is VERY helpful even when busy. They called and confirmed my air flight for me. I was just hoping for directions to the ariline office.\ They took immediate care of a slight problem with the light by my bed. The roof top terrace was nice.

Disliked: They did give me ear plugs but I was afraid to use them because I needed to hear my alarm for getting up early. There was noise from the bar below and people going in and out of my dorm room. I couldn't get to sleep until after 1:30 am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big lockers in the rooms, helpful staff, even trying to find other people going to the airport around the same time so you can share the costs for the ride.

Disliked: the lack of air conditioning was felt when sleeping in the heat

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012

Liked: close to center

Disliked: staff in a hurry, no time for questions very very noisy and they don't give out earplugs any more not very welcoming and cozy, people every where, every bit of space is used to fill the hostel with clients

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and the stuff are really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Cleanliness and room quality don't hestify the price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop patio for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Hostel is located off a main busy road and most of the rooms balconys face onto the street so it is very noisy. No ceiling fans, or AC in any of the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice guys who work there, very helpfull!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT bar and the staff are excellent

Disliked: The street noise was overbearing in the room (although they do provide earplugs).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

psyche law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 psyche would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staffs, pool table , beers, western and chinese food. Rooms are quiet , toilets are clean, a perfect hostel so far in Yunan!

Disliked: psyche left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lior orkin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 lior would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: lior left no negative feedback.


See all Kunming hostels