HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Hump Hostel Kunming Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.75USD
  • Breakfast 3.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 82%

Showing 101-32 of 32 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the smile of the staff are what we look for when we travel. The HUMP has what we needed.

Disliked: That is personnal, but it is a big youth hostel so that's less intimate than a smaller one.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great price and good location.

Disliked: The morning staff were abrasive and spoke no english.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were really helpful, dorms have lots of room, and the big lockers are nice.

Disliked: It was a little cold in the rooms, but that's just china I think

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free ear plugs, easy to find hostel

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff and nice and clean rooms (private as well as dorms)!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Always amazing... I keep getting drawn back to Kunming and I think the Hump is a massive part of that. Awesome hostel, nice bar, pool table, roof terrace, facilities, location. Always meet great folks there. Usually go for a dorm (which are great) but it was my first time staying in a private room and wow, it was lush! Serious luxury for a hostel, with heaps of character too.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good common area, hot showers. Clean.

Disliked: No toilet paper provided, charged 10 yuan just to use the washing machine. Food in the cafe was expensive and average. Staff were incompetent... 5 minute argument about whether Vientiane was a country or capital when trying to organize a bus ticket that was only solved when I provided a map as evidence. The guy on reception then just laughed at me even though he was wrong. He tended to laugh at us whatever we said. Bed confusion. Blatant rip off not interesting in providing for traveller in that you are charged for every little thing from bag storage to toilet paper.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money. Excellent central location.Kind and friendly other travellers.

Disliked: A little bit too much noise at night.They insisted on taking my passport and keeping it for several hours while I slept which left me a little uneasy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The most helpful Staff EVER!!!!! I mean THE BEST! The receptionist called Lucy arranged for me all the trip to Yang Yang Province...with bus, tickets and hostel booking, Chinese characters writing and fixing all how to get there. Thank U so much once again! My room mates were hilarious and we were laughing half of the night, nice beds, super good lockers, perfect location!!! And the F O O D!!! Soooo delicious!!!!

Disliked: Was hard to get there as there are some constructions in the city so bus N3 changed route but its already updated, just I took old leaflet.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability