We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel

Hostel | Mingtong Lang No 94, Kunming, China 6531000

67.4% Overall Rating

37 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/11/2012)

Robert Bieber thinks…

"The hostel provides very detailed and up-to-date instructions how to find them, so I found it quite easy to get there by public transport. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there was…"

Read all Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.50

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

The Hump Kunming
4.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 398 reviews
Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.9% 92 reviews
IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.31 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 55 reviews
Long May Youth Hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel 74.6% 18 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 84.3% 548 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.4%

Overall Rating

37 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
59.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandru Nasaudean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, location,clean, friendly staff

Disliked: A bit cold due to lack of heating in southern China.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014

Liked: It was private and close to restaurants and convenience stores.

Disliked: I did not like the staff and the facilities were old with little or no maintenance. The staff could not speak English and there were unfriendly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013

Liked: The room was clean and spacious

Disliked: The staff were completely clueless. The low point being directed to a train station to buy tickets that was under construction! They also had no idea about which local buses to catch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were first class and the hot water was hot

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Bieber

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provides very detailed and up-to-date instructions how to find them, so I found it quite easy to get there by public transport. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there was always someone who spoke a decent English. When I sat in the hotel lobby with my Computer (WiFi) they immediately offered me some free water to drink. Moreover they gave me good instructions which bus to take to continue my journey. I had a twin bedded room with privare bathroom and I liked it a lot - good value for money. And so calm in the night!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 July 2012

Liked: Clean, spacey rooms. Nice bathroom. The entire place was well kept and cleaned.

Disliked: No big light in our room (!) - very dark in the evening. Receptionist was somewhat helpful, but rather stubborn and grumpy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and decent enough room.

Disliked: Staff wasn't very helpful and the communal restrooms could have been cleaner.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Thomas Van Hoevelen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: really friendly staff

Disliked: location facilities

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011

Liked: The only positive thing was the location which is quiet and central.

Disliked: The staff was particulary unpleasant. Rooms availabilities are not kept up to date. Facilities are more than limited and not enough clean.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and clean room. Very friendly stuff. Easy to find. But the toilet and shower are unfortunately not really clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Schmidiger Rahel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 October 2010 Schmidiger would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big and bright room with a fantastic large double bed. The staff didn't speak that much english, but was very engaged to offer a top service.

Disliked: There is no meeting room. So is not a place to meet fellow travalers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jackie schofield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010

Liked: Big rooms and clean

Disliked: No Western style toilets in the shared facilities rooms and the showers were broken.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, location to city and security is good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms with private bathrooms are really nice, and by the standards of many Chinese hostels they stand out. great place for breakfast just across the road. Staff attempt to help, though only the manager speaks english, and whilst he is available on the phone, during our two seperate stays here he was not present at the property. Shared bathrom facilities could do with addition of a western style toilet. Beds are typically Chinese- ie rock hard, but clean and comfortable enough. Addition of wifi would be an advantage as only 1 pc for guest use. A list of Faq's and general onward travel info onsite in both English and Chinese would also be beneficial due to language barrier. On the whole though a nice clean quite place at a reasonable price in a nice city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mellor

09 March 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very clean and friendly place. Most of the staff did not speak English but always tried there best to Help.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claire Rutherford

05 March 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, snacks and drinks in room to buy & location. Beds are solid blocks of wood however and not the most comfortable. Rooms with private bathroom are better.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lara Orlando

20 February 2010

Liked: Very basic in the line of services, but the room was very nice, clean and spacious. Only an option for one night if the other better hostels in town are booked up.

Disliked: Lara left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 November 2009

Liked: What I did like it was comfortable for the night although a bit cold.But I was unhappy at the fact they was confusion with my booking via HostelBookers they said they had no booking and they offered me a room at twice the price but I refused and they offered me a cheaper room at the price given by HostelBookers.Also I did not understand too why they charged me 5 Yuan in the morning from my deposit.I know its not alot but when I asked what this was for they did not explain and directed me to a taxi that was waiting for me outside so I dont know.I dont think I would stay here again although staff and hostel were ok I dont like the hidden extras.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krista English

13 October 2009 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: Hello, I am travelling with my family of 2 adults and one child. We are in our mid forties so we've and we've spent a lot of time travelling and we've seen a huge variety of accommodations in our day. I'd describe this midrange hotel/hostel as a lovely Chinese style accommodation. We opted for the two bedroom ensuite which was located on the 5th/6th floor. It had a lovely livingroom area with three small couches and two chairs all with cushions. The bathroom had a bathtub which in my opinion is a real bonus for midrange-budget accommodation and to boot there wasn't a great deal of mold buildup. It was an exceptionally clean. The location was excellent. Little boutique shops close and a great breakfast place across the street. I would recommend this place if you are interested in a nice clean place to stay. You are not going to meet a network of people there but you will get a tub if you go for the ensuite option. There is wifi as well if you have your own laptop or internet in the lobby if you rely on the hostel providing it. It is a bit of a walk to the train station but a taxi is only 8 RMB. I'd say the downside of this accommodation is the beds are a bit hard.

Disliked: Krista left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pete Adkins

01 October 2009 Pete would recommend this property

Liked: Good basic room if all your looking for is a roof over your head. The downsides? One shower for all the guests in the hotel (unless you go for ensuite that is), anf the staff refused to call us a taxi to the train station (they told us to go to a main road and find one ourselves).

Disliked: Pete left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Kennedy

20 February 2009 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: first of all, it's not a hostel but a cheap hotel - there's no interaction with other guests or common areas. however, if you accept it for what it is, it's great. very clean, good sized rooms. only problem is that there's one shower and it was on the floor above ours.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and friendly and very central to everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Why you don't show the location map in clearly. I ask many Taxi drivers , they don't know your Hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

BEATRIZ BORJA

07 September 2008 BEATRIZ would recommend this property

Liked: Plaeces cleaness

Disliked: BEATRIZ left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff at reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Kunming hostels