HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Huangshan Bed and Breakfast Huangshan Hostel

Hubian Cun, Tunxi District, Huangshan, China

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 82%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huangshan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 82%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Huangshan B&B was an excellent place to stay - great value for money. The host was friendly, very helpful, good english... had many good conversations about local culture and life in general. Steven helped plan customised trip to Yellow Mountain and villages. His wife is an excellent cook and was able to cater for my vegetarian needs - best food I've eaten in China so far! The accommodation was top notch, clean and high quality.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Steven was fabulous, we felt welcome from the moment he picked us up! He answered all our questions, helped plan our itineraries for the mountain and exploring the town. He organized our transport and provided tea, beer, maps, information and genuine hospitality! He's a truly fabulous man.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This B&B had a really friendly and caring atmosphere which created a home away from home. Steven, the owner, went out of his way to help us 24/7, even when out and about he would always answer his phone if there were any problems and he had a good understanding of travellers needs, particularly in relation to giving information so we could make our own choices to plan our activities. The food was amazing, home cooked traditional Chinese food adapted to any dietary requirements e.g. vegetarian, non-spicy. We loved trying the range of local teas, and there was a really nice social atmosphere in the evenings eating with the other guests. Great budget option, especially if you have had enough of hostels and want a more personal, homely feel. Really good value for money, with lots of extras thrown in for free and Steven will make sure you get a fair price when booking anything for you.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Thank you, Steven! He is your man when you go to Huangshan! We came late the first day and he picked us up for free on the railway station. When we got to his place we got tea and he explained everything about the mountain and showed us a map. He was a tour guide in the mountain and gave us detailed information for our trip that helped us a lot! He really made our trip! When we came back his wife made us supper for 40 yuan each. So delicious and so much! They invited us to their home and treated us like family. The room was big and nice with a new bathroom. Like a hotel. To top everything Steven drove us for free to the bus station the last day. We look back at Huangshan with a big smile on our faeces. We can thank Steven and his family for that.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had planned to stay for 1 night and travel to huangshan mountain with my friend the following day, when we arrived Steven (our host) arranged to pick us up from the bus station, we at his home he gave us some lovely tea and spoke about our plans. Steven was a guide on the mountain for 15 years and was so much help in organising our stay on the mountain, he recommended somewhere to stay on the mountain but also offered us a room if we weren't happy staying on the mountain. Where he recommended was beautiful and reasonably priced so we stayed but decided not to get the sleeper train back to shanghai but stay at Steven's b&b. without his help, we would definitely have struggled getting about and to and from the mountain! The 2nd night of our stay was even better than the first and we had an amazing dinner cooked by his wife which we enjoyed with a couple also staying. Both mornings a really tasty breakfast was given to us and whilst on the mountain Steven bought our bus tickets back to shanghai and dropped us off to the bus station. Steven grows his own vegetables out tree back and fresh food was used for our dinner and breakfast. I couldn't recommend staying here more!

Disliked: Nothing, Steven was the perfect host.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Accomodation was perfect, brand new house and furniture. Bathroom was perfect - the best during my all stay in China.Owner's English is very good. You can talk with him not only about accomodation but also about China, ith culture and habits, as well as about chinesse medicine :-)The free pick up on the day of arrival is included. The owner was the Huangshan tourguide, so he can advise You how to spend time. You can also buy meals for 30RMB and it's really worth!!!!If I come back to tunxi I would not hesitate and accomadate in the same place.

Disliked: The ony minus is location - it's outside the centre (but communicated by bus - 10 min) near the railway.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Steven and his wife were wonderful hosts. Steven helped me arranged my trip to Huangshan and gave accurate advice. He further helped me with other queries that I had. The meals which you can have ate excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very very friendly staff. Steven picked us up from the bus station, helped us sort out the trip we were planning up the mountain, and we received a tasty free breakfast.Very much recommended for anyone planning on going up the yellow mountains the next day.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Steven and his family were extremely accommodating during our stay in Huangshan. When we first arrived, he met us at the bus station since his hostel is a little bit out from the city center. From the start, Steven was very welcoming and knowledgeable. Our room was clean and comfortable, and everything in it was pretty much brand new. After eating a delicious home-cooked meal made by his wife, he sat us down and helped us plan our trip. He was actually a tour guide for many years! We really appreciated that he tailored his advice to fit our needs, rather than simply giving us generic suggestions. On the second day of our trip, we decided to stay at the top of the mountain in order to see the sunrise. Steven allowed us to store our bulky luggage at his bed and breakfast, free of charge, even though we weren't technically guests anymore. On our last day, difficulty in acquiring train tickets left us homeless for a night. Thankfully, Steven graciously offered to allow us to stay an extra night. Overall, in our two years in China, this was one of our favorite places to stay. Steven and his family went out of their way to make us feel comfortable every step of the way. If you are in Huangshan, we would definitely suggest staying here!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We booked this accommodation just two hours before we arrived and after a quick phone call to Steven (the owner) once we did arrive, he was able to meet us at the train station within minutes and organise a complimentary taxi. After a short drive, we checked into a spacious, clean, modern, comfortable room with great ensuite bathroom. This B&B is not located near any restaurants, but it doesn't matter because his wife cooks the most amazing dinner for just 30 Yuan each which includes one large beer. His English and knowledge of local tourism is excellent and we felt extremely welcome and at home. In the morning he walked us to the bus stop. The complimentary Chinese breakfast was delicious. I could not recommend this B&B more. Can't believe you pay hostel prices for a hotel-type room!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability