We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Huangshan Yongle Inn

Hostel | No.101, Block 7, Tie Lu Xin Cun, Huangshan, China 245000

79.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/09/2013)

"The location right next to the Train station is very convenient, but you should definately have somebody pick you up, because it is impossible to find by yourself."

Read all Huangshan Yongle Inn reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huangshan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huangshan

Ancient Town Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 85.6% 29 reviews
Huangshan bed and breakfast
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 9 reviews
Qing He Yue Hostel
0.16 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Xidi Travel Lodge
28.26 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Koala International Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 84.6% 69 reviews
Home Of Huangshan Hostel
7.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
huangshan old street hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Huangshan Garden International Hotel
24.36 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Huangshan Yongle Inn'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2013

Liked: The location right next to the Train station is very convenient, but you should definately have somebody pick you up, because it is impossible to find by yourself.

Disliked: There is no common area. It's not cosy or a real backpacker place. We also saw a mouse which came into our room at night. If you're fine with a bed to sleep and not afraid of weird volks hanging around the train station this could be a choice for you.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013

Liked: Truly just a couple of minutes from the train station. Left luggage room was reasonably secure. Got a private room though I booked a dorm, cheaper than the listed price. Free water. Bus number 12 takes your right to Tunxi Old Street.

Disliked: Found a cockroach on my luggage after I left it in the luggage room. No air conditioning in my room or the public area, though it was badly needed. No English spoken at reception. Found ants crawling in my bed. No Western toilet available for the room I booked. Had to listen to one of the ayis fighting with someone on the phone in the lobby. Window to the hall wouldn't close completely and thus wouldn't lock either. There was a stockpile of probably hundreds of those charcoal briquets the street vendors use for cooking on the roof which would be extremely dangerous if it ignited. Generally not very clean.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophia Sodhi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The place has real character! The staff are extremely friendly and even shared a meal with us. They helped us navigate Tunxi, recommended prices for cabs and places to go for meals.

Disliked: Here, you really get what you pay for. The rooms are clean and come with WIFI and even their own computer. That being said, they're small.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: Its really close to a market and the bus area to go to yellow mountain

Disliked: The rooms and blankets constantly felt damp and cold. We found rat droppings on two of the beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lau Hack Gin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Lau would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just next to Tunxi railway station,so very conveniece after a long day walk. Easy WiFi access helps you in touch with your love ones while you are on the move. Plenty of choice for eating places.

Disliked: Lighting is a bit dark with no heating facility for the room though no problem with hot shower.Bottle drinking water and hot water in vacuum flask are provided.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Aurel Vincent Babes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2013

Liked: English speaking, good wi-fi, close to railway station

Disliked: Aurel Vincent left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small but comfortable rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful, tried everything to make my stay comfortable. Good location close to trainstation. Very good value for money.

Disliked: The shower and the toilet is in the same room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kim taehun

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 kim would recommend this property

Liked: really close to Huangshan train station.

Disliked: if someone just stay one or two days, nothing makes he/she uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very cheap. However we had to pay an extra for air-conditioning in our room (10 yuan per night). There is wired internet in the room.

Disliked: It's in a dark and dirty alley where you don't feel comfortable at night. However for this price you shouldn't complain. Staff doesn't speak English at all, but when there is a need they call someone who speak English very well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Tamar Harrington

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2011 Tamar would recommend this property

Liked: The people here are really helpful. They call you before you get to town and tell you exactly how to get to the train station, and then walk over there to pick you up so you don't get lost. :) They also offer travel tips. There's an English interpreter, too, although I don't know if he works full time.

Disliked: Be careful showering...the bathroom just has one big drain, which is the squatter potty. Not unusual, but it can be a little dangerous as the floor gets slippery when wet and there's nothing to keep you from falling in. I almost did! If you have room, I recommend bringing a towel. They have them, but you have to ask, and they're really small and rough. Cleanliness leaves a little something to be desired, but that's kind of inevitable in older Chinese buildings. For the price I think it's a really good deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Internet in room, electric blanket in double room and extra blankets provided for the cold weather. The man at reception and interpreter (via phone) were really friendly and helpful with organising buses etc.

Disliked: Nothing really. The price was cheap therefore you can't really complain.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location right by the train station, just what we needed. The owner is incredibly kind and helpful. Food in the restaurant is recommended. Also, they have a computer in the lobby with free internet access. The heating pad for the bed was also a nice touch. Can't beat it for the price. Only a short bus ride to the old town.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Reid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the train stationq

Disliked: you can hear the trains

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

BRENDEN GLAUDE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 BRENDEN would recommend this property

Liked: The owner's restaurant makes fantastic Chinese food, he was very helpful in booking several buses and making arrangements for us. One minute from the train station.

Disliked: Hostel is in a back alley in a dark & dirty part of town. Staff doesn't speak any English, (but will call a translator who speaks excellent English at any time for you).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel manager was very friendly and helpful, collected me and accompanied me to the railwaystation, helped me to book traintickets and his translators assisted me anytime I needed translation. The location is very good, within 50 metres from the railwaystation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Betschart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: if you are looking for a international hostel with all the services and billardtables, then you are in the wrong place. if you are looking for a cheap but clean accomodation in a very chinese but great neighboorhood off the beaten track, this is the place to go. the restaurants next to the trainstation offer cheap but great food. the hostelowner is a very friendly guy who really wants to help you but does not speak a word of english. (if you need complicated traveladvice just sneak to the old street hostel.)

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Whiteside

19 June 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: the owner was very nice but did not speak english, however this was not a problem as the mangager spoke english very well. the helpfull and friendly nature of the staff made up for the fact that the hostel is a touch enclosed and damp. but on the whole: very cheap, just beside the train station and the restaurant belonging to the owner was not only cheap but delicious!

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Martin Elgaard

08 April 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where so helpfull and kind to us?The location is perfect for visitors for the yellow mountain?

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room where we stayed was cheap but no heat, in the middle of february it was kind of hard. But the owner is really kind and his daughter speaks a bit of english, enough to make the understanding. they help us in our travel making advising train or bus.For the map follow the description of the previous commentary

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke Richard

07 October 2009 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, extremely clean rooms.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful advice about visiting local destinations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gopi Chand paladugu

03 June 2009 Gopi Chand would recommend this property

Liked: best place to stay for a cheap fare...and hospitality is great,...we would not have got that hospitality in our home country also...i will definitely recommend this place to my friends

Disliked: Gopi Chand left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers were good. Owner doesn't speak English but manager does and was obliging with tour info etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rent not expensive, the manager's knowledges on everything concerning tourist information of Huangshan, friendliness, nearness to the railway station and other transportation links and etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find they picked us up at the train station found a helpful guide through our stay and the accomidations were clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.