We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Koala International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.58 Beihai Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan, China 245000

84.6% Overall Rating

63 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2013)

"Friendly and helpful staff! ...as long as you don't have a problem with hard beds this hostel is a really nice place to stay! Especially when you arrive by train and carry a lot of luggage...just leave the train…"

Read all Koala International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huangshan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huangshan

Home Of Huangshan Hostel
7.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Qing He Yue Hostel
0.16 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Xidi Travel Lodge
28.26 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Huangshan Yongle Inn
6.50 USD

Hostel 79.1% 30 reviews
Huangshan bed and breakfast
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 9 reviews
Ancient Town Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 85.6% 29 reviews
huangshan old street hotel
12.18 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Huangshan Daylight Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

63 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Koala International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Logan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: good character

Disliked: messed up on the morning bus timeings for mountain. but other wise great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff! ...as long as you don't have a problem with hard beds this hostel is a really nice place to stay! Especially when you arrive by train and carry a lot of luggage...just leave the train station, go to the left...and after 300 meters you're there!

Disliked: Only the thin mattresses are a bit uncomfortable...the rest is fine!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daphne Teh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: I'm guessing that most people will probably stay at Koala for a short time before transiting to Huang Shan Mountain, which is what we did. I think Koala serves its purpose for a short stay. Koala is really close to the train station, which makes it convenient to find and there are a couple of stores close by too. Plus, the front desk staff is helpful with directions and instructions for huang shan mountain. Wifi was reliable.

Disliked: Koala is not exactly clean - I don't like the toilet being so close to the shower area with so little space in between, but its not super dirty either. The lockers are a little wonky too. We were a little befuddled when the front desk staff charged us 3 yuan for giving us directions and for the map. That said, the receptionist did give us very detailed instructions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Mooney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy access to train station and bus station. Nice 10 min walk to old street etc. Nice sized dorm rooms, clean. Air conditioner unit/heater was great as it was cold! Super hot shower, one of the best I've had in china so far! They had food, which was yum and great value for money. The guy at reception had great English and helped us plan a route up and around the mountain! Pool table in common area was good fun!

Disliked: Quiet this time of year, not many westerners so atmosphere not great! Windows didn't close properly so could be cold and loud due to main road. Sheets stained and ripped could do with updating. I didn't find it a problem but others might, only a squat toilet in the dorms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sara Mejias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere and clean.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and informative - offering plenty of help with planning our trip to Huangshan. We would definitely recommend their advice and support - they can also recommend a good walking route/circuit depending on how much time you have. The room was brilliant too - really spacious with a clean, spacious bathroom.

Disliked: The wi-fi cut out completely after a day, although it had been fine the day before. The location isn't great - it's good for the train station but that's about it. Don't bother trying to find an interent cafe either - without a Chinese ID you'll have. no luck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Vanhoof

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely! We had a problem with our bustickets, and the staff helped us as good as possible

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jose Maria Gonzalez Cogollor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Jose Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, big rooms. Close to railway station

Disliked: A little far away from Huangshan montain.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Becerra Fajardo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: Location: it is far away from the city center. There is not so many things available around. It is not so clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, it was right next to the train station and it was super easy to find. The staff was also super friendly and the food they served was pretty good and nicely priced. There was also quite a few cheap places to eat close by, with also a Chinese food market and quite a few places to get snacks an d drinks . They also had an option to go rivet rafting, which like. all things in China was deceiving, but we just jumped out pf the boats and went swimming which

Disliked: The hostel was very old. Paint was peeling everywhere and the rooms were slightly dilapidated. The sheets were stained too. Also there were squatter toilets and they didn't have hand soap.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very close to train station

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KIM DAIWOOG

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 KIM would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: internet charge

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter ries

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: unbelievably helpful staff

Disliked: not located in huangshang but in trunxi

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, reasonable prices, dorm rooms with their own bathroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: many graffities

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

freddie cloke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012

Liked: close to the train staion, staff were friendly, cost of stay.

Disliked: freezing throughout the day, no heating anywhere apart from room but the rooms were still on the cold side. also there were no mixed dorms which the website doesnt state.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: VERY COLD!!! only stay in the summer

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super nice staff, they sell bus tickets to various destinations in the country without comission and my 6 bed dormitory was completely empty.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Findlay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2011 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: hostel staff were awesome and were very helpful with booking accommodation on the mountain.. (which is so high)... everything was booked up when we were here, but eventually we succeeded! :)

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2011

Liked: They helped us book dorm rooms on Huangshan, but definitely didn't find us the best offer. There were dorm beds up there for 1/2 of what we paid.

Disliked: The dorm beds are a thin slice of foam for a mattress. The double rooms look better, but the dorm beds are quite uncomfortable. Also, no mixed dorms, which for my fiance and I was a disappointment. It's an average hostel, but I would not recommend it to anyone. They are a bit unorganized and charge to use Internet on their computers. There is another hostel I wish we stayed in that was more in town that if we came back, I would try there instead.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

migle aleksonyte

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 migle would recommend this property

Liked: Most of it

Disliked: It was very cold in corridors, main room, showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakob Weglarzy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Good english speaking stuff and very helpful to arrange the climb of HungShan itself. Get in contact with them a little bit before so they can book you a room on the mountain.

Disliked: Jakob left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very kind staff, very helpful for booking buses.

Disliked: the bathroom tap

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Jones

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The man who works at reception had good English and was extrememly helpful in making bookings for climbing Huang Shan and onward journeys as well as anything else you needed help with. Hotel clean (triple room) and had good food downstairs. Very good location next to train station (5 min walk).

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.