We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ancient Town Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.11 3rd Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan City, Anhui pro Huangshan, China 245000

86.7% Overall Rating

28 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2015)

Poh Cheang Lew thinks…

"Room was comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Helped us booked tours to ancient villages,bus tickets to Hangzhou and reconfirmed our bookings with hotels in Mt Huangshan . Honest and sincere…"

Read all Ancient Town Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huangshan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huangshan

Huangshan Yongle Inn
3.27 USD

Hostel 79.1% 30 reviews
Huangshan bed and breakfast
11.43 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Xidi Travel Lodge
28.57 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Koala International Youth Hostel
6.53 USD

Hostel 84.6% 69 reviews
Huangshan Daylight Hostel
6.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tunxi Lodge
28.57 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ancient Town Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Poh Cheang Lew

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2015 Poh Cheang would recommend this property

Liked: Room was comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Helped us booked tours to ancient villages,bus tickets to Hangzhou and reconfirmed our bookings with hotels in Mt Huangshan . Honest and sincere staff.

Disliked: Cockroach in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hian beng Glenn Chua

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Hian beng would recommend this property

Liked: It's So convenient to move around here。Absolutely love the climbing of Huangshan mountain althrough my both leg n my back are sore and pain!The hostel can help you to plan your trip。Of coz the staffs are friendly too!

Disliked: Hian beng left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Valenta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the bar owner was a champion and the rooms themselves were absolutely immaculate. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is going to huangshan. There are plenty of restaraunts nearby and it is incredibly cheap! Definitely go there.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing, the only plus side of this hostel was the decent comfortable beds

Disliked: The rooms were freezing cold, no cooking facilities, no hot water available, staff were rude.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evelina Bengtsson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is wonderful as it is next to the cosy "Old street". The atmosphere is good and it is a hostel built for meeting people.

Disliked: The only negative feedback is that all the common areas and corridors are extremely cold during winter. So if you are travelling in this season, be prepared to spend time in your room as all the common areas tend to be empty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheap laundry facilities. Good common areas, courtyard, balcony and roof top area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very nice and the terrace is wonderfull. The room was a good value for money

Disliked: The heavy cover for the bed wasn't clean very well....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a matter of fact I never stayed there for it turned out I had completely wrong information about huangshan. But the staff was amazing, hardly seen any thing like it. They canceled my booking without charging, booked me a new room on the mountain top without charging, explained me the way and everything about it and when I returned the next day just to quickly ask sth, they even booked me the bus back to Hangzhou, again, without charging. Judging from the toilets and common area though, the place looks quite clean and nice, also the location is right in the heart f the old town. I would say this is a pretty good place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The matresses are a little bit thin but in general great hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. staff were very friendly and helpful; they sorted out our whole Huangshan trip, which was amazing. the hostel is nice and the rooms are basic but clean. lots of cool graffiti on the walls and very centrally located in Tunxi.

Disliked: Cafe underneath was a little poor. beer was cheap but the openings were sporadic.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, right in the old town. Showers work properly and are clean enough. They have 2 pooltables and 1 pingpongtable. There are many common rooms and places to sit outside on the roof. Lockers in the room and a good card system for the dorm.

Disliked: The directions are very unclear. I was lucky that a chinese guy helped me to get there by public bus, but otherwise I wouldn't be able to find it. When you go by public bus, please take number 12. Get off at the 7th stop. Walk a bit further until you see the building of ICBC and turn left. Also, when I wanted to go to the big supermarket, the staff could only give me the name of the stop, not how many (yeah she said less then 8 stops, not very helpful!). And she said I could only take bus 5 while I could also take 12. The hostel should get this better organised!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce, Chen Lung Chang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Bruce, Chen Lung would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel has very good location to old street and not far away from train station. very clean and people are all willing to help.

Disliked: The washing machine has some problems and only one machine is not enough I think.... !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Udziela

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location close ancient town street

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer two bed rooms for really cheap, so you can have a private room with your friend and pay only 45rmb a night each. Also, if you do it alone, you might end up with the room to yourself, like I did. The staff are helpful and will organize a trip to the mountains for you. Laundry is only 4 yuan.

Disliked: The third floor only had one toilet and one shower, and it wasn't western style.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Prince

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful when I arrived sorting out my travel to the Yellow Mountains, couldn`t have offered a better service. Great location in the old town and decent enough for the price.

Disliked: The bathroom and the shower could do with a clean! But can`t expect too much for that price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful. convienent location

Disliked: never soap in the bathrooms EVER

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great services. Very nice rooms!

Disliked: No proper parking as described in the facilities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good English were spoken despite Lonely Planet's description of little English spoken by staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013

Liked: The location was excellent, as it was right in the heart of the old town.

Disliked: Hard bed, cold room (3rd floor only, I'm told) and no western toilet!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vey good location, and staff helped book trip to the yellow mountains

Disliked: Bar/cafe was not open at all, staff were not willing t book train tickets and told us we had to go to the train station and do it ourselves - this was also said to others while we were staying too. It clearly says on the front desk that they can book all tickets, but this wasn't the case. Also toilets were not very clean. It is a good hostel if all you want is a bed for the night, but don't expect anything more than that here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Campbell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the Tianzifan shopping area, which is why we picked this place for our last night in Shanghai. The upstairs porch is a wonderful sitting area for both an evening drink or morning coffee. Everything was easy. The room was very clean, and had hard floors over carpet which I always prefer.

Disliked: No security at the luggage storage. This left me a little nervous during our last second explorations after we checked-out.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2012

Liked: The common area and the location, but wish it was closer to the mountain

Disliked: Washrooms were dirty, very noisy on the third floor, staff didnt speak much English which made it very difficult to plan a day trip to Mt Huangshan

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kristina Dinser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012

Liked: Good location. Free washing machine

Disliked: During my stay I have encountered 4 front desk people. The girl hardly spoke English, one guy was very friendly and knowledges willing to help, the other guy which was at the front desk most of the time was very annoying and had to write down everything. I had to write down my questions and he would write down his (very) long answers. Night porter didn't speak English either. The hall way is very smelly and dirty as are the common showers. I'm glad I was there in low season because you have to wait 30 min after someone had a shower so you have hot water. Although it goes cold after about 5 min. In the hallway everyone can write on the wall and leave a message which just makes it look messy

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, very comfortable room (double deluxe)

Disliked: -