We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hohhot hostels

Reviews of Anda Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Qiaokao xijie, Saihan District, China Hohhot, China 010022

83.0% Overall Rating

53 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

"The staff were very nice, but there were far too many of them. You don't know who is in charge. I had to present my passport three times over my stay to check-in to three different people!! Also,no information about…"

Read all Anda Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hohhot?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

53 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anda Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015

Liked: The staff were very nice, but there were far too many of them. You don't know who is in charge. I had to present my passport three times over my stay to check-in to three different people!! Also,no information about hohhot - the staff weren't very helpful in terms of getting around the city.

Disliked: Went on the grassland/desert tour - it was very budget for an expensive price. Hostel was badly located and very dirty bathrooms and communal areas. Beds were strange, very uncomfortable - not real beds at all. Rooms were small - too many beds packed into too small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hiroki Hamayoshi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Hiroki would recommend this property

Liked: Good and kind staffs, their holding tour is also good.

Disliked: Location is not bad, but difficult to find

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the members of staff - Dimples - is an absolute delight and wonderful to be around. I've never known someone so incessantly happy. The hostel also does a variety of trips out to the grasslands and the deserts, which I reckon are good value for money. They're also easy to organise, take you to and from the hostel, and allow you to leave your stuff there while you go. The grasslands tour gets you staying away from the really commercial yurt cities, which is a relief. There's lots of restaurants just near the hostel,and a bus that'll get you to the museum - which is actually pretty good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom is shared. Staff is nice but not over the top disposed to make you feel at home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Groovy place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anda Guesthouse was a great place to stay. The manager was amazing, helpful and welcoming! When ever we had a question or issue he was there to help. Likewise, he is an experienced tour guide and offers some amazing tours to the dessert, grasslands, city and the great wall.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great tours, lovely people - nice to hangout and meet people!

Disliked: Was a bit tricky to find, but very helpful staff :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and friendly staff, great tours

Disliked: No lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

melisa samaruga

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 melisa would recommend this property

Liked: the staff speaks english!!! usefulll in hohhot

Disliked: we didn't like that they were all the time trying to sell us their tours, which were not cheap at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful and genuinely wanted you to have an enjoyable stay in Hohhot. Even when I opted not to book transportation to Ulaanbaatar through the hostel, they still provided information about how to book my ticket, a rough estimate of the price for each leg of the journey, and directions to get to the bus station. I went on the Grasslands tour through the hostel, and had a great time! The guides (JC and Guo) were very well informed, and taught us how to play Bones (like Jacks, but played with sheep bones), collect dung for a fire, and drink Mongolian milk tea. The only complaint I have is that the horseback riding was basically sitting on a horse while it walked to a fence and back (we weren't allowed to trot or canter). Other than this, it was a great tour! The hostel provides directions to the cities major attractions, a small map, and information on the different bus routes around the city. There are restaurants nearby on restaurant street, and the hostel is only about 20-30 minutes by bus to just about every attraction in the city. The other guests at the hostel were all really friendly. Even though I traveled to Hohhot alone, I met plenty of people to hang out with. I highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The bathrooms have the typical Chinese bathroom smell (there's no U-pipe to trap out the sewer gas). This is a common complaint in just about every hostel I've stayed in, and no major negative. The bathrooms themselves are very large, with hot water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered an excellent grassland tour.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Kelly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful

Disliked: The Grasslands tour was ridiculously cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea pacini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: L'unico ostello di hohhot... Camere discrete e bagno così così. Il punto di forza dell'ostello é il proprietario, che vi proporrá delle bellissime escursioni nelle zone circostanti. Consigliatissimo

Disliked: Escursioni un po' care

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ezra meallem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 ezra would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff good location

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, homey environment, very close to a street full of fantastic restaurants, and a few short bus rides away from a couple neat attractions.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled less than ideal, but the toilet both flushed and was western style, and the shower has hot water! If the hostel were full the two bathrooms probably wouldn't be enough...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The moment walking into Anda Guesthouse, you did not feel like a guest but more like a long lost friend. The staff was amazingly helpful. They spoke English very well, and there were always around if you needed help with anything or just wanted to hang out. Inconvenient things like buying bus tickets or finding a good tour was made very easy because of the staff. One of my favorite memories was just to be able to hang out with the staff in the living room area and talk about Mongolian culture and watch gameshows (while drinking the reasonable priced Mongolian beer).

Disliked: While I do not personally need these things, some people might care that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms, and the rooms can not be locked from the outside (but there are lockers). Also it was originally incredibly difficult to find (took me 3 different cabs totaling 50 yuan to get there). They were not joking about that part (perhaps take the sometimes-free shuttle pick up).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chor Yen Yap

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Chor Yen would recommend this property

Liked: The tours organized are suitable for people with a sense of adventure.

Disliked: Extremely crowded during the summer holiday season.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Granger

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for a week. The tours that are offered through the hostel are great. The overnight grassland was wonderful. It was a small group and really more like a homestay than a tour. Our guide gave us insight into Mongolian culture and lifestyle. The tour to the Geat Wall was also a highlight. A hike through the farmland and rolling hills of southern Inner-Mongolia and exploring the wall as it exits today along the edge of Shanxi. The staff was friendly and helpful. Airport and train station pick up is real plus.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

roberta muccioli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 roberta would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, perfect place to meet other travelers, loved the room and all the communal spaces, nicely decorated, super helpful staff, clean, free tea and bread for breakfast, lively neighborhood with plenty of shops and restaurant, well served by public transport.

Disliked: roberta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and the room was very large and spacious. Security was also very good with keyless entry doors that you had to have a card to scan to open. First one I've seen like that. It is the best hostel/guesthouse I've stayed in so far. Highly recommend.

Disliked: There were only a couple problems, one was the water flow in the showers were horrible. At most it was a trickle. That definetly needs to be addressed. The other was not being able to lock your room door from the outside. When we went out it could not be locked. You could lock it from the inside at night but not during the day. I didn't fear leaving my things except I did get a locker from them to put my electronics in.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: bathroom is dirty, staff put pressure on selling in house tours...not worth the money, location impossible to find

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quite cosy, especially for backpackers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, easy to arrange tours

Disliked: Average showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacek Naglik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Jacek would recommend this property

Liked: Good english speaking stuff who could solve any problem with a smile。

Disliked: If you arrange a ticket for the train make sure have the ticket in advance。。。 big troubel at the train station with seat reservation!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: - This is a guesthouse, so had a very nice cozy feel to it. Felt like you were staying in somebody's home instead of an actual hostel, so that was great!! - The Owner is a very cool person!! He's very friendly, knows a lot about Mongolian Culture (he's Mongolian after all), and cares about the guests. He picked me up/dropped me off the airport at 60rmb each way, which is quite decent. - Free/fast wifi throughout the guesthouse. - Washrooms were clean with toilet paper - Rooms were warm inspite of cold weather. - TV with tons of western/Chinese channels, I actually enjoyed watching MTV China and V China instead of the typical CCTV for a change. - Food street right next to the guesthouse. - Pretty clean and awesome turtles in the room! - Mongolian atmosphere of the guesthouse

Disliked: - As it was winter, most activities/tours (such as going to the desert and visiting Mongolian family) wasn't possible. - A safe-box could be helpful. - Plan something social for people in hostel. I realize it was winter so there were few people, but something would have been nice.


See all Hohhot hostels