We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Wushanyi Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.22 Mid Zhongshan Street, Hangzhou, China 310001

90.5% Overall Rating

104 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

"friendly staffs, spacious and cozily decorated common room, quite nice wi-fi in the room, safe and calm area around (compared to Xihu or Wuyi square which are badly crowded)."

Read all Wushanyi Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Hangzhou Hofang Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 90.7% 65 reviews
The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 82.1% 4 reviews
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.2% 384 reviews
Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 11 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
8.94 USD

Hostel 80.1% 305 reviews
4 Eyes Backpackers Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Emerald Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

104 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wushanyi Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staffs, spacious and cozily decorated common room, quite nice wi-fi in the room, safe and calm area around (compared to Xihu or Wuyi square which are badly crowded).

Disliked: Hangzhou itself is really big city like other cities in China, so everything was quite far from the hostel in my standards. There was weird, wet smell in the dorm room but it has gone in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The value for money and facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel !

Disliked: The lockers in the room, are not the newest one.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cong zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 cong would recommend this property

Liked: it is very nice. next time I will come back here.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jhon harlen butar butar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 jhon harlen would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing else just good n good

Disliked: Hopefully next the door will open for 24 hours

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JEREMY LOUNT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 JEREMY would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how friendly the staff were, they were always very excited to see us come in.

Disliked: The internet, as with all places in China was poor - but I seem to remember the computers here were especially poor. The fridge had beer, but it wasn't turned on - ever. Strange. haha

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rune Tøttenborg

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: The location and if you like it quite then the place is good.

Disliked: There was very little information in english about sightseeing and trips.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Prellberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Anja left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is at a good location 10 mins from the train station but the night staff can be more helpful especially during holiday season. Don't go during holiday time as there will be barely any taxis, buses are overcrowded. The morning staff which were the ladies were more helpful. The hostel should have more options to give during holiday season and not curtly give answers and say no for everything.

Disliked: I had dorm mates complaining for everything and not being considerate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulia Colombo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Service in China can be often quite lacking, but wushanyi youth hostel. Prove to be the exeption! I booked a bed in a 6 bed dorm. I arrived there earlier than scheduled check in time but my bed was reasy already abd the staff very friendly! The lobby is very cozy , a great meetong ppint and a gret ppace to have a rest! I recommend it to everyone for cleaniliness, safety , location and money value!!

Disliked: Giulia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pilar Jimenez Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Pilar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the hostal was clean. It is located in the city centre.

Disliked: We stayed in a tiny room (low attic ceiling with the mattress on the floor) and we had to go to the second floor in order to have a shower; not very handy. As far as I'm concerned, I'd expect to find showers in every floor.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in a 'traditional style' tourist area. Staff helpful with everything, and level of English pretty good

Disliked: Wifi not great, but this is normal in China

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Rooms are clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, with everything you'd hope for to hand. Very friendly staff, who directed us to a great place for Chinese breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyla Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 June 2013 Kyla would recommend this property

Liked: This was my fourth stay in this hostel and I will be back again. The staff are always so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, in a lovely, quaint cobbled walking street with lots of restaurants and market stands. It is only a short walk to the lake. I have reccommended the hostel to many friends and they have also very much enjoyed their stay. A great hostel!

Disliked: Kyla left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The location was in the pedestrian area downtown and less than a half hour walk from West Lake.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francine Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Francine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great service at the frontdesk, reliable wifi and goo location. I really liked that the toilets were well designed with a wooden block to prevent slipping and a shower curtain between the door and the shower area to prevent your stuff from getting wet. Smart design.

Disliked: Francine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott McKinney

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location in the heart of ancient Hangzhou. There is a pedestrian market area, and you're also 5 minutes walk from futuristic shopping malls, and 5 minutes walk from a wooded hill area with the "City God Temple" and some very lightly traveled stone trails. The other guests were mostly Chinese, and also various westerners/other foreigners. Good company.

Disliked: Nothing, it is good value

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Janet Brearley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Ida Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic for being next to night eating stalls street, in pedestrian only area and in midst of great shopping area. Quiet. Staff were wonderful with both their English and attitude/helpfulness. Very good standard of cleanliness. Great coffee available at cheap price( from our experience in China).

Disliked: Bit far from night life (bars etc) but easily remedied by using bikes.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel to stay in for our visit to HangZhou. It was in a beautiful pedestrian street, close to shops and a great atmosphere in the markets nearby. Lots of food options close to the hostel. About a 20minute walk to the West Lake, certainly not difficult. Easy to find from the Drum Tower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was pretty centrally located in hangzhou in a nice pedestrian area with many restaurants and shops, the staff were really nice and helpful, we stayed in a private room which had a t.v. (!) and air conditioning, breakfast at their sister hostel down the road was good and not expensive at all, the hostel had a nice courtyard with a pool table and upper terrace to hang out in and have drinks...overall a great stay!

Disliked: the room could use a paint job, the toilet paper they gave us in our private bathroom was not great and i didn't like that they didn't have a map of hangzhou for us to use and keep, they only had ones in a magazine that you could only borrow

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Murphy

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 May 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and the staff were particularly friendly. They even assisted us with a taxi driver by talking over the phone to him to guide us back to the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marteau Alexandre

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Marteau would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very calm (except the ring bell in the street at 8 a.m)

Disliked: We reserved a double room on Hostelbookers and finally there was no double room avaible. The hostel gave us a twin room. Actually, that was ok for us because the beds of the twin room are not so small. It was possible to sleep as a couple in 1 bed.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located by the pedestrian streets and walk to Westlake. Our double room was clean and basic, bathroom newly renovated. No smoking must be enforced here unlike other hotels in China, since our room was actually free of any smoke odours whatsoever. Wifi was accessible in room but was slowed at peak times. It was surprisingly quiet at night despite being near the action. Great dining recommendations by the friendly young staff, and of course they all speak English.

Disliked: No housekeeping during our two night stay. Two tiny towels provided only.

The property's response is...