We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hangzhou International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.101-3 Nanshan Road, Hangzhou, China 310002

85.4% Overall Rating

350 out of 389 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2015)

"Good location, a few minutes walk from the lake, bike hire etc. 1 stop and a bit of a walk from the nearest subway. The building was mart and bright. My room was bigger than I expected (maybe I had been given better…"

Read all Hangzhou International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
7.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.9% 12 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 86.2% 6 reviews
Hangzhou Hofang Hostel
7.07 USD

Hostel 90.4% 68 reviews
Wushanyi Youth Hostel
7.07 USD

Hostel 88.0% 117 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
8.64 USD

Hostel 79.9% 308 reviews
Touran Hostel
0.79 USD

Hostel 85.6% 129 reviews
Fiona's Trip Hostel
8.64 USD

Hostel 85.4% 36 reviews
Emerald Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

350 out of 389 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hangzhou International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 304 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, a few minutes walk from the lake, bike hire etc. 1 stop and a bit of a walk from the nearest subway. The building was mart and bright. My room was bigger than I expected (maybe I had been given better room than I booked as it was a double) with a nice old fashioned wooden bed and such a soft mattress. I was in the main building, I believe the other has a common room/kitchen but I didn't go across there. A few people sat talking in the reception area, and the cafe/bar was very modern and stylish, though 18kuai for a small bottle of qingdao is tai gui le!! Not that it particularly mattered to me, but the wifi worked on the third floor ok. There is a roof terrace accessible from the back of the cafe but as the weather wasn't great when I was there so I didn't get to checkit out.

Disliked: It took so long to check in! Three people on the desk and some girls in front as well as my self took way too long to check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and close to the lake.

Disliked: A bit far from the nearest metro as we need to go up and down in the underground with our luggage.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andreja Kavas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2015 Andreja would recommend this property

Liked: Caffè lobby English speaking

Disliked: If you take the cheapest accommodation be prepared to sleep in the attic with aprox 30 people (also some very snoring ones). The toilets are smelly, and you have to shower in the first floor. And not the best shower. But if you need any answers, the front desk speaks English, which is very good. If you take the regular taxi from the train station will cost you around 20-25 RMB. But for one night it is OK, but still recommend to not choose the room with 30 people - you have the feeling that you are in the army camp

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalee D'Amore

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Natalee would recommend this property

Liked: The property's location is great. The area is convenient to get to other places and you're right by Xihu Park

Disliked: I disliked that I paid for a more expensive, single room, but the noise from the neighboring restaurant workers kept me awake. It's too loud early in the morning. There should be some sound proofing on that side of the building or at least talk to the workers about starting so early.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roy Delaney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night, but had issues with the lock on our door. The staff and management couldn't have been more helpful, moving us to a new room, and calling out a locksmith to help retrieve our belongings before the end of the night. Even better, when I forgot to pick up my deposit, they arranged for me to collect it at one of their brother hostels in Shanghai. Lovely lovely people!

Disliked: The rooms may have been a little spartan and a tad damp, but the great location and helpfulness of rhe staff more than made up for it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JISEON PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 JISEON would recommend this property

Liked: First Staff is great! They are kindly and nice. Next Price is moderate to me. Except drier machine, another equipment is not bad. Last location is nice. this hostel nearby west lake. I just work 5minute.

Disliked: Clothe drier and available time does not enough. Because Hangzhou is always wet, so clothes hardly dry. That is only problem in this hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexander Schofield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014

Liked: Showers and communal areas clean, bed reasonably comfortable .

Disliked: Staff pretty useless, gave me poor directions on how to get there, and don't seem to know where anything is in the city or how to get there, their standard of English is also not great. The coffee shop on site is expensive and you don't get what you pay for. The atmosphere in the place is boring and no one seems interested in talking to anyone else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right by bus stop and West Lake. Nice restaurant.

Disliked: Common area is a bit random. Wifi would keep disconnecting and take time to re-connect. Lots of spiders!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NEZIH YAZICI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 May 2014 NEZIH would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good,staff is freindly and helpful.

Disliked: The 4 beds room is not big enough and design of the bunks is not safe enough (has a risk to bump head for the upper bed sleeping people ) since the room is a part of under the roof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Lambert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice hostel with a very friendly relaxed atmosphere, it has all the facilities you could need. The location is amazing right by the lake and the cafe is a lovely place to sit.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice places to sit next to a pond or on the rooftop it's located right next to the famous west lake

Disliked: the "common" kitchen was not exactly inviting with an extremely old gas oven and cockroaches the room could use another shelf or cupboard in order to store clothes quite far away from the subway stop

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean, the rooms were cosy with nice big lockers. The location was great, right next to the lake yet close to the town too. There was a bicycle rental station just across the road. There are actual washing machines rather than being charged by the kilo, and the wi-fi is very fast. Bar area was quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: They insisted on charging me more than agreed on the website, which I was unhappy about. The bar is lacking in character, and it seems the only place the wi-fi worked was right next to the reception desk, not ideal. Staff were ok, could have been friendlier. Not anywhere near as good as the Mingtown in Shanghai.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located by the side of West Lake.

Disliked: The guidebook with travel information are out dated. It said the west lake musuem opens 12 hours daily, but this is not the correct information.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariia Savitckaia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: private rooms havce a very nice view..and a good bathroom they have a nice kitchen,where you can actually cook many different nice relaxing places where you can spend a great time very nice hostel with great facilities

Disliked: atmosphere is so so.. staff is polite, but not anywhere friendly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cosy rooms

Disliked: Not much socialising space

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food is good in the restaurant- pizza and pasta are amazing. Breakfast could be better. The location is very good, so near West Lake and lots of bars and restuarants and shops all close by.

Disliked: Cracked tile in shower where I cut my toe very badly. Service in restaurant is poor and not very friendly which is disappointing for a hostel. Check in and Check out is very slow.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, decent rooms

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: It was right by the lake. The bar next door was nice. Patios were nice. Self-serve kitchen was good.

Disliked: We were only allowed one room key between two people. Wifi was iffy. It was really busy so the staff didn't have much time to answer questions. Saw a rat in the kitchen. The windows didn't have bug screens and Mosquitos were really annoying in the night! Showers were cramped and super musty and the water is only on at certain times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shu-An Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Shu-An would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome!! Next to the lake and severa bus stations. The staff was nice and helpful, comfy beds and nice common area.

Disliked: Wifi only worked in the common area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seemed very clean. They gave you your own sheets to put on the bed so you knew they were changed. Nice staff at the desk. Attached to a cafe with good breakfast. Awesome location, super close to the lake.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVIA BONG

Alone

City break

01 April 2013 OLIVIA would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like to extend my special thanks to Brian and Xiao Shuang (I hope I type your name correctly) who had been really helpful during my stay there. About the hostel itself, it's flawless to me, clean room, bathroom, and toilet. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I am to come back to Hangzhou.

Disliked: Can't find a thing to dislike about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very conviniet to go to the Wset Lake clean and harmony

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jiseon park

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013

Liked: Location is perfect!!!!! and very calm.

Disliked: Wi-fi couldn't use in the room. ONLY use in the lobby. It is uncomfortable for me.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

SANG MIN KIM

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013

Liked: close to the west lake.

Disliked: poor service, information. they looks like to regard us as an MONEY. there is no difference between motel 168 and this hostel!! without room, there is no other facillities we can use.