HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hangzhou International Youth Hostel Hangzhou

Hostel

No.101-3 Nanshan Road, Hangzhou, China

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 78%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 80%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.82USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 78%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 80%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, a few minutes walk from the lake, bike hire etc. 1 stop and a bit of a walk from the nearest subway. The building was mart and bright. My room was bigger than I expected (maybe I had been given better room than I booked as it was a double) with a nice old fashioned wooden bed and such a soft mattress. I was in the main building, I believe the other has a common room/kitchen but I didn't go across there. A few people sat talking in the reception area, and the cafe/bar was very modern and stylish, though 18kuai for a small bottle of qingdao is tai gui le!! Not that it particularly mattered to me, but the wifi worked on the third floor ok. There is a roof terrace accessible from the back of the cafe but as the weather wasn't great when I was there so I didn't get to checkit out.

Disliked: It took so long to check in! Three people on the desk and some girls in front as well as my self took way too long to check in.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property's location is great. The area is convenient to get to other places and you're right by Xihu Park

Disliked: I disliked that I paid for a more expensive, single room, but the noise from the neighboring restaurant workers kept me awake. It's too loud early in the morning. There should be some sound proofing on that side of the building or at least talk to the workers about starting so early.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Caffè lobby English speaking

Disliked: If you take the cheapest accommodation be prepared to sleep in the attic with aprox 30 people (also some very snoring ones). The toilets are smelly, and you have to shower in the first floor. And not the best shower. But if you need any answers, the front desk speaks English, which is very good. If you take the regular taxi from the train station will cost you around 20-25 RMB.But for one night it is OK, but still recommend to not choose the room with 30 people - you have the feeling that you are in the army camp

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: clean and close to the lake.

Disliked: A bit far from the nearest metro as we need to go up and down in the underground with our luggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We only stayed one night, but had issues with the lock on our door. The staff and management couldn't have been more helpful, moving us to a new room, and calling out a locksmith to help retrieve our belongings before the end of the night. Even better, when I forgot to pick up my deposit, they arranged for me to collect it at one of their brother hostels in Shanghai. Lovely lovely people!

Disliked: The rooms may have been a little spartan and a tad damp, but the great location and helpfulness of rhe staff more than made up for it.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First Staff is great! They are kindly and nice. Next Price is moderate to me. Except drier machine, another equipment is not bad. Last location is nice. this hostel nearby west lake. I just work 5minute.

Disliked: Clothe drier and available time does not enough. Because Hangzhou is always wet, so clothes hardly dry. That is only problem in this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Showers and communal areas clean, bed reasonably comfortable .

Disliked: Staff pretty useless, gave me poor directions on how to get there, and don't seem to know where anything is in the city or how to get there, their standard of English is also not great. The coffee shop on site is expensive and you don't get what you pay for. The atmosphere in the place is boring and no one seems interested in talking to anyone else.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, right by bus stop and West Lake. Nice restaurant.

Disliked: Common area is a bit random. Wifi would keep disconnecting and take time to re-connect. Lots of spiders!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is really good,staff is freindly and helpful.

Disliked: The 4 beds room is not big enough and design of the bunks is not safe enough (has a risk to bump head for the upper bed sleeping people ) since the room is a part of under the roof.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a really nice hostel with a very friendly relaxed atmosphere, it has all the facilities you could need. The location is amazing right by the lake and the cafe is a lovely place to sit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability