HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hangzhou Hofang Hostel

Hostel | No.67 DaJing Lane, Hangzhou, Hangzhou, China 310000

93.3% Overall Rating

53 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Excellent location, not too far from the train station and close to West Lake. The surrounding neighborhood is a very nice pedestrian zone. Nice character with clean facilities."

Read all Hangzhou Hofang Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Wushanyi Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 88.5% 107 reviews
The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 83.4% 379 reviews
Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.9% 10 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
4.85 USD

Hostel 80.9% 304 reviews
4 Eyes Backpackers Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Emerald Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

53 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hangzhou Hofang Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, not too far from the train station and close to West Lake. The surrounding neighborhood is a very nice pedestrian zone. Nice character with clean facilities.

Disliked: Common area was relatively small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, the staff were helpful, the PCs had reasonably good internet speed, the attached cafe is incredibly cute and the room and especially the private bathroom was sparkling clean. When I had trouble locating a bike rental booth, one staff member actually walked me to it, a good 10 minutes out. My stay here was very comfortable and I would probably stay here again if I'm ever back in Hangzhou.

Disliked: Mine was the first room as you leave the lobby and yet the WiFi reception was already zero. I effectively had no WiFi anywhere but in the lobby. The hostel was in the midst of replacing its lobby floor while I was there, which was inconvenient. I had to shout over the deafening noise of rotary saws and hammering in order to get basic information from the reception. They were nice enough to ask the crew to stop for a few minutes so we can have a conversation, but we had to do this every time. I had to walk all over construction equipment and materials to get through the lobby and a few times was asked to leave entirely so they can work wherever I was standing. I understand that I was visiting off-peak (January) and it was probably the best time to renovate, but I still paid full price and received no warning of the construction. If I had received so much as a courtesy email offering me the chance to perhaps stay at the sister hostel instead, I may have just lived with it, but I didn't like being surprised by it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, clean, traditional design, nice place to stay.

Disliked: Room very cold in winter!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered us a free upgrade to a bigger room since it was the offpeak season. Really kind of them. The room was really beautiful.

Disliked: Nil.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, booking train and bus tickets, sights in Hangzhou etc. room was really nice and clean and nice courtyard area to chat with others. the cafe attached was nice; good breakfast. discounts in cafe and Chinese restaurant next door.

Disliked: not the best hostel if your there to meet other travellers as the main chilling area was a cafe and you could eat and drink their food. smaller chilling area in reception where more people seemed to be spending time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very helpful staff who go out of their way to help you with whatever you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chic hostel with great central location. Plus great restaurants either side that are really good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothea Strzalka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Dorothea would recommend this property

Liked: I booked one night more because I liked Hangzhou and felt good at the hostel ;-)

Disliked: Dorothea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke pretty good English and they were super nice, I felt welcome there.

Disliked: The bathroom smelt pretty bad, there were cigarette butts in the shower. This was my the most expensive hostel in China, though probably due to the fact I stayed there during a national holiday.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hangzhou Hofang Hostel was the perfect location to explore Hangzhou by foot. It's location right near the drum tower in the pedestrian area and in walking distance to the lake is very convenient. It's staff is very friendly and helpful regarding tips for Hangzhou (bus to take, restaurant to go to, way to go ...). We enjoyed our stay a lot!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff. There was a free pottery class in a room on the rooftop, fun and a good way to meet people in the hostel.

Disliked: I was in a dorm very close to the reception area, and people kept propping the door open from reception to the dorm area, and then when roommates left the dorm door open I could see right through to the street - very noisy and not secure! Also the common area was very small, and because the cafe is separate it didn't feel like a common area hostel guests could use without having to buy something.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Gorman

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A very vibrant hostel that deserves its high rating! The staff were really friendly, it's located in the old town, so accessible to all of the most popular tourist places. They had plenty of activities on offer and always had some advice to offer. There's also a fantastic lane full of food stalls not far from the hostel - off Hefang St, just to the right of the MacDonalds.

Disliked: Towards the end of the day, the bathroom area gets fairly wet, but they have mats at the entrance, so not too much of the water makes its way into the corridor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very positive experience at this Hostel Thanks to the staff who were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Centrally located and very quiet. I would definately recomend this hostel

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, spoke perfect english. Very nice room - we had booked a loft room.

Disliked: The bed was a bit harder than we were used to, but it was okay for a few nights.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything... The atmosphere was really good and cozy, the location of the hostel is really good, you can go mostly anywhere on foot, and the bus stop is really close too, so you alternatively you can just catch a bus to the northern part of the city. The staff was really polite and helpful with everything, and also their english was very good, so you will not have any problems communitcating your needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Legon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No hot water all day

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Pickford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely location, with friendly staff and quite near the train station.

Disliked: They didn't have any leaflets or info on local sites that I could see, but they could direct me perfectly to the lake anyway, so it wasn't a big deal.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wong Sow Moy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Wong would recommend this property

Liked: Good location situated in Hefang pedestrian walk and walkable distance to west lake. Most tour buses will stop near this location and its really convenient to travel from there.

Disliked: No drinking water provided like other hostels, you have to use a common kettle in the reception and boil it youself.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: WC sometimes not very clean

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rivo rajaobelina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 rivo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, well located (next to pedestrian street with several shops, street food). Nevertheless, keep in mind that the lake is 20/30 min by walking. Personnel is very helpful.

Disliked: Number of Toilets/bathroom should be increased

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I particularly like the decoration in the bedrooms and shower rooms: bright, clean and new looking. Also there is a significant discount for residents on food and drinks in the cafe/restaurant.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dan Su

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful hostel.

Disliked: Not so easy to find the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stuart Galbraith

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: It's a place to relax and recharge after doing lots of little stops over many weeks which can tire you out. I spend lots of time in Shanghai on my travels in China and find Hangzhou easy to get to and relaxing but the prices of everything such as food, coffee/tea and the occasional beer when it is hot is becoming expensive, european prices. It will eventually price itself out for the economical traveller as I have seen over the last four years.

Disliked: Food prices.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing bad to say about this hostel. we had a great time, stayed 4 nights in a private room. great staff, nice location, good coffee(:

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and helpful plus location was ideal for tourist attractions.

Disliked: The cafe could have better/ faster service and a bigger breakfast selection.