HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hangzhou Hofang Hostel

Hostel | No.67 DaJing Lane, Hangzhou, Hangzhou, China 310000

92.7% Overall Rating

61 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

"A very nice and friendly hostel and staff! Everyone was helpful and the ambience in the hostel was superb and invited to relax. I would go here again!"

Read all Hangzhou Hofang Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Wushanyi Youth Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 88.5% 108 reviews
The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.7% 382 reviews
Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 11 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
8.92 USD

Hostel 80.1% 305 reviews
4 Eyes Backpackers Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Emerald Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

61 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hangzhou Hofang Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Sometimes the showers could be dirty and not maintained

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Colgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice and friendly

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and friendly hostel and staff! Everyone was helpful and the ambience in the hostel was superb and invited to relax. I would go here again!

Disliked: For me it didn't matter, but there are no bikes to rent from the hostel. This would be helpful given the scenery!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maurice Smulders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Maurice would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool place to hang out and meet other travelers! Close to all the main sights in hangzhou and smack in the centre of the old shopping street. Definitely recommend this hostel

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Ireland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and helpfulness. They went to the station to book train tickets for me and answered my questions. Room was a decent size, air con worked well, secure lockers. Bathrooms I used were clean and functional.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms would have been annoying but i was in the bed closest to the lobby so the wifi there worked for me well enough. Food was a little pricey. It was good food, but expensive compared to a lot places.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lucy Andrews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom was nice. Staff were friendly especially the round rimmed glasses girl. She went out of her way to help us! Sat TV in our double room. Served corona beer.

Disliked: Double room was really small. The towels provided were very small so coulnt actually use them for showering. Hostel food was expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful!

Disliked: The only place with wifi is the tiny common area - or the cafe next door

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff. Good WiFi.

Disliked: The rooms were secure, but my locker could be opened without needing the key. :/

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, not too far from the train station and close to West Lake. The surrounding neighborhood is a very nice pedestrian zone. Nice character with clean facilities.

Disliked: Common area was relatively small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, the staff were helpful, the PCs had reasonably good internet speed, the attached cafe is incredibly cute and the room and especially the private bathroom was sparkling clean. When I had trouble locating a bike rental booth, one staff member actually walked me to it, a good 10 minutes out. My stay here was very comfortable and I would probably stay here again if I'm ever back in Hangzhou.

Disliked: Mine was the first room as you leave the lobby and yet the WiFi reception was already zero. I effectively had no WiFi anywhere but in the lobby. The hostel was in the midst of replacing its lobby floor while I was there, which was inconvenient. I had to shout over the deafening noise of rotary saws and hammering in order to get basic information from the reception. They were nice enough to ask the crew to stop for a few minutes so we can have a conversation, but we had to do this every time. I had to walk all over construction equipment and materials to get through the lobby and a few times was asked to leave entirely so they can work wherever I was standing. I understand that I was visiting off-peak (January) and it was probably the best time to renovate, but I still paid full price and received no warning of the construction. If I had received so much as a courtesy email offering me the chance to perhaps stay at the sister hostel instead, I may have just lived with it, but I didn't like being surprised by it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, clean, traditional design, nice place to stay.

Disliked: Room very cold in winter!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered us a free upgrade to a bigger room since it was the offpeak season. Really kind of them. The room was really beautiful.

Disliked: Nil.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, booking train and bus tickets, sights in Hangzhou etc. room was really nice and clean and nice courtyard area to chat with others. the cafe attached was nice; good breakfast. discounts in cafe and Chinese restaurant next door.

Disliked: not the best hostel if your there to meet other travellers as the main chilling area was a cafe and you could eat and drink their food. smaller chilling area in reception where more people seemed to be spending time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very helpful staff who go out of their way to help you with whatever you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chic hostel with great central location. Plus great restaurants either side that are really good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothea Strzalka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Dorothea would recommend this property

Liked: I booked one night more because I liked Hangzhou and felt good at the hostel ;-)

Disliked: Dorothea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke pretty good English and they were super nice, I felt welcome there.

Disliked: The bathroom smelt pretty bad, there were cigarette butts in the shower. This was my the most expensive hostel in China, though probably due to the fact I stayed there during a national holiday.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hangzhou Hofang Hostel was the perfect location to explore Hangzhou by foot. It's location right near the drum tower in the pedestrian area and in walking distance to the lake is very convenient. It's staff is very friendly and helpful regarding tips for Hangzhou (bus to take, restaurant to go to, way to go ...). We enjoyed our stay a lot!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff. There was a free pottery class in a room on the rooftop, fun and a good way to meet people in the hostel.

Disliked: I was in a dorm very close to the reception area, and people kept propping the door open from reception to the dorm area, and then when roommates left the dorm door open I could see right through to the street - very noisy and not secure! Also the common area was very small, and because the cafe is separate it didn't feel like a common area hostel guests could use without having to buy something.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Gorman

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A very vibrant hostel that deserves its high rating! The staff were really friendly, it's located in the old town, so accessible to all of the most popular tourist places. They had plenty of activities on offer and always had some advice to offer. There's also a fantastic lane full of food stalls not far from the hostel - off Hefang St, just to the right of the MacDonalds.

Disliked: Towards the end of the day, the bathroom area gets fairly wet, but they have mats at the entrance, so not too much of the water makes its way into the corridor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very positive experience at this Hostel Thanks to the staff who were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Centrally located and very quiet. I would definately recomend this hostel

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, spoke perfect english. Very nice room - we had booked a loft room.

Disliked: The bed was a bit harder than we were used to, but it was okay for a few nights.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything... The atmosphere was really good and cozy, the location of the hostel is really good, you can go mostly anywhere on foot, and the bus stop is really close too, so you alternatively you can just catch a bus to the northern part of the city. The staff was really polite and helpful with everything, and also their english was very good, so you will not have any problems communitcating your needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Legon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No hot water all day

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Pickford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely location, with friendly staff and quite near the train station.

Disliked: They didn't have any leaflets or info on local sites that I could see, but they could direct me perfectly to the lake anyway, so it wasn't a big deal.

The property's response is...