HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel

Hostel | Hu Pao Road, Hangzhou, China -

84.2% Overall Rating

28 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2013)

"Staff is nice even if they don't speak english a lot: they came to pick me up a the bus station because i couldn't find the place. They also know a little chinese restaurant not far from the hostel where you can see how…"

Read all The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Wushanyi Youth Hostel
7.30 USD

Hostel 88.5% 108 reviews
Hangzhou Hofang Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 92.7% 62 reviews
Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 11 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 382 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
8.92 USD

Hostel 80.9% 304 reviews
4 Eyes Backpackers Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Emerald Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Spring Flower International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013

Liked: Staff is nice even if they don't speak english a lot: they came to pick me up a the bus station because i couldn't find the place. They also know a little chinese restaurant not far from the hostel where you can see how are made the noodles: noodle soop for 9 yuan.

Disliked: Cold at this period of the year cause bad isolation: i had to use my sleeping bag. Not so clean. Hard to find. Here is the most simple from the main train station: subway 1 to longxiang qiao (2 yuan), exit d2, transfer to bus 504 (on the left, next to Dico's' 2 yuan). Get off 2 stops after you saw the pagoda on your right. Then come back 100 meters back by foot to the trafic light. And then it's' somewhere on your left: good luck! Otherwise you can call them :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: It is horrible to get there at night, it looks as if it's in the middle of the woods and there are no lights on the sidewalk

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the westlake.

Disliked: I wish each of us can have our own key cards.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very hospitable and the owner, Peter, is there to help you find your way around Hangzhou. He was very good in helping me find the hostel!! This hostel is tucked in a little alleyway in the hillsides of Hangzhou, about 15 minutes by bus to the west lake.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: The Sperling matress was hard as rock.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located walking distance to West Lake and there were places to eat nearby.

Disliked: It was hard to find at night with the directions given. I suggest you take the phone number and call, if needed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful

Disliked: Location. Lack of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a great place for a quiet retreat.The staff is excellent at English and are very helpful.It is very close to the mountains,which are really even better than the world famous lake.You can easily walk to the zoo,Tiger Spring or several spots that are a short bus ride away.Such as the 9 Creeks,Six Harmonies or Leifeng Pagoda,Su or Bai Causeway,and boat rentals.

Disliked: The common area is small,but makes for quick intimacy.There isn't really a menu for ordering food,but excellent noodle houses and Chinese food restaurants are all over the back alleys here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly

Disliked: The shower wasn't the best...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner ist very nice and friendly

Disliked: its difficult to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. Bicycle hire was cheap and convenient.

Disliked: It's close to the lake but quite a distance from the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay R Holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Lindsay R would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the owner and staff of the Spring Flower Hostel. I had a lot of fun staying there.

Disliked: It was really hot in Spring Flower Hostel - but that was because it was really hot in Hangzhou. It was fine at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very familiar athmosphere, not crowdy

Disliked: maybe the location is not that good for having a drink nearby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the staff they were so friendly and were always willing to answer our questions as good as they could, I really appreciate that. I also liked the lounge it is so comfortable so it doesn't even matter that there is no internet in the rooms plus there is a really good and delicious italian restaurant just around the corner ;)

Disliked: everything was clean, the lounge, the bathroom BUT in our rooms we had mols at the walls what wasn't so nice you should know that they have a quite big dog at the hostel, I personally loved it because I love animals but I think you should know that in case you are afraid of dogs or even allergic to them

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Youssef Chehade

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2011 Youssef would recommend this property

Liked: price -- cleanliness -- peter the owner was always available to help (i thhought that the comments about him are just spam from his friends) but they are true

Disliked: location is not good if you are tight with time...although the description and map that are posted are helpfull, it takes sometime to inititially find the hostel if you have plenty of time then this hostel if best for money value and calm environment...when u find it you;'ll be able to reach it quickly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peter!

Disliked: Hard to find at first

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I still cannot believe the value! I stayed in a four female en suite room for under $10 in the Westlake area. Unbelievable!

Disliked: Everything exceeded my expectations, especially the staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Stapleton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really cute, friendly hostel, with a nice owner who will help you out and make you feel at home. I just love it

Disliked: Well,nothing to be honst. Everything's just so perfect!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

13 July 2011

Liked: pretty setting

Disliked: too remote. not much to do around there. No atmosphere or area to can meet other travellers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Twill

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Great value! Within walking distance of West Lake. The owner Peter was always available for anything at anytime and his English is impeccable.

Disliked: Difficult to get to the first time but after that it is fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The furnishing of the rooms was very homely, the location wonderful calm, Peter very friendly!

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location, in a quiet area.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little bit small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011

Liked: Personnel was helpful and friendly. The hostel was nice and clean.

Disliked: It is a little inconvinient for visiting the West lake as it is a too far away for walking and the bus service was a little disrupted due to construction work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sook Sian CHAI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2011 Sook Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Peter and his assistant are young, enthusiastic and extremely helpful, ever ready to answer your questions, listen to suggestions, or solve any little problem that may arise. Peter had a bed for me for 3 nights but I wanted to stay longer in Hangzhou and was so glad he helped me to phone up another hostel and even accompanied me there when we found out in was in the same area. He also showed me and other guests the small, family-run, inexpensive but authentic restaurants in the neighbourhood. I speak a little Chinese but the fact that Peter is fluent in English must be a big relief to a lot of his non Chinese speaking guests.

Disliked: Nothing concerning the property itself. But finding the address can be a problem when you don't have the phone number (and HostelBookers doesn't give the phone numbers of its listed hostels!) The address has to be much more precise (it's OFF Hupau Rd, but in a maze of small, winding, interconnected uphill lanes) and better still, accompanied by a very detailed map. I was just lucky because I happened to get off the bus with some people going to another hostel nearby. The owner knew the Spring Flower hostel and phoned Peter, who then came over to fetch me personally, otherwise I wouldn't have found the hostel by myself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Springflower is a really nice place to stay in Hangzhou. The hostel is very friendly and you can easily feel at home. The hostel is not easy to find if you can't read chinese characters. The best way is to call the owner when you arriving by bus at the zoo. He pick you up. Some Taxisdriver dind't know the adress as well. So let them call the owner. The owner itself is helpful and endeavour with all your problems. His english is quite good. (Thanks for writing everything in characters) You can rent a bike at the hostel or take the bus to town. The bus is very cheap, but on weekends you are faster by bike and you can enjoy the landscape. All in all it is not fare away from citycenter and good value for money

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms at the groudfloor. So you must go downstairs and if the hostel is fully booked maybe you get in queue.