HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Touran Hostel

Hostel | No.3 Si Yan Jin, Hu Pao Road (West Lake D.), 杭州市虎跑路四眼井3号 Hangzhou, China 310013

86.9% Overall Rating

108 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Astrid Heinemeier thinks…

"Cheap, nice atmosphere, pretty good location, close to good local restaurant and food stall"

Read all Touran Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our Chinese address is 杭州市虎跑路四眼井3号

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hangzhou

Fiona's Trip Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 84.3% 33 reviews
4 Eyes Backpackers Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Emerald Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 66.7% 3 reviews
Hangzhou West Lake Youth House
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.9% 304 reviews
Hangzhou Lanshui Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.9% 10 reviews
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.4% 379 reviews
Hangzhou YMCA International Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Hangzhou Hofang Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 93.3% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

108 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Touran Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 113 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Astrid Heinemeier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, nice atmosphere, pretty good location, close to good local restaurant and food stall

Disliked: The room was smelly, especially the bathroom. The walls were kind of moldy. The heater would turn of after a very short time. The bike rental was too expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Attwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff!!!! Felt so at home here and didn't want to leave. The most homely hostel I have ever visited.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the friendliest staff I have met in China. They brought me to the ticket office, they made sure I had everything I needed and were genuinely interested in me and my trip. They are excellent ambassadors for West Lake and for China. Thank you all and I hope everything goes well with the new baby next month.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold but it is Winter so that is to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cong zhang

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 cong would recommend this property

Liked: all of property is nice

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Harrison

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 December 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really are as incredible as the reviews say! The hostel itself is amazing, as well. The commons area is homey and comfortable. The rooms are nothing spectacular, but you still get more than you pay for. Really, I am certain that I wouldn't love Hangzhou as much as I do, if I had not stayed at Touran

Disliked: The room I stayed in would get really humid, but nothing too concerning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Lui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very kind and willing to help, which alone makes this hostel worth visiting - because I did not know chinese, one of the staff were willing to come with me to the train ticket kiosk to help me book my travel. Another went with me to a shopping mall to help me find something very specific, since I don't know my way around Hangzhou. They are very warm and welcoming folks, and that made my stay at the hostel most enjoyable. Location is very good if you are coming to visit the West Lake - it is perhaps a 20 minute walk away, or faster if you decide to rent a bike or take the bus.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dick Pierre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Dick would recommend this property

Liked: well located near the lake, good for hiking and cycling around the city, the staff are really helpful that provide a good route for me to spend a day for relaxing, go and ask them for the location of the night market, it's good

Disliked: a little bit humid in the city

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Gorman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff spoke very good English & were really helpful, particularly with giving directions from the hostel (to shops, the lake, restaurants, the train station) and telling us which buses to take & the names of the stops to get off at. They also booked a taxi for us when we had to catch an early train.

Disliked: Our bathroom was quite functional, but there was no way to keep everything from getting very wet, in particular our dorm's floor. It isn't centrally located, which meant we always had to catch a bus or taxi to get anywhere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is quite comfortable to lounge in and there are two lovely dogs about. The staff were fine, they answered any questions as best they could. Cheap local beer if you like it.

Disliked: It's about 15-20 minute walk from the nearest point of the west lake and even further into the town area though there is a regular bus nearby. The road is very busy to walk by but there are many lovely walkways among the trees on the way. There is nowhere around the hostel to eat so bring supplies or eat out in Hangzhou. It does some of its own food which is simple but fine if hungry. No towels.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice idea to use antique looking forniture and nice patio outside.

Disliked: Renovations done on site, been woken up at 6 by hammering and drilling but fortunately did not last long.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rachel Whiteside

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013

Liked: We liked the location, outside of town and close to scenic area, short walk from bus stop and a public bike rental (turn right at the road outside the hostel, right again at the corner. Walk up the hill until you see a road leading into a village across the road on your left. The bike stand is a little way into the village), although the staff member we asked seemed to think the closest bike stand was at west lake, a much further walk. The common areas (especially the outside one) are nice.

Disliked: The staff seemed extremely unfriendly to us - rather than going out of our way to help us as other reviewers have commented, they seemed to go out of their way to say as few words to us as possible, which is strange. One toilet and one shower for all the dorm rooms, front desk staff and anyone eating at the restaurant is not enough, especially when it smells. I didn't feel as though my sheets were clean. We were told we could use their microwave, but it doesn't work, and neither do their computers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Hangzhou is a beautiful ciry. And the people were very friendly, especial the satff of the hostel. We really enjoy our stay here.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurance Scofield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Laurance would recommend this property

Liked: It's awesome

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rasa Zagurskyte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Rasa would recommend this property

Liked: Close to West Lake, staff were very nice and helpful. Good atomsphere

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brigitte Wockenfuss

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Brigitte would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay. This hostel is a warm and welcoming place, and make me feel good and comfortable.

Disliked: Brigitte left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012

Liked: It had a lovely common area and the staff were friendly and very nice.

Disliked: Even though the common area was nice, people (staff?) would often come in and put the TV which meant it was balring throughout the room whilst the music remained on etc. It became really difficult to be in there and relax/enjoy. Our room overlooked a highway which meant that loud traffic made it really difficult to get a good nights sleep. The bathroom really stank (though this could simply be old plumbing issue) and the mattresses were extremely hard (though Chinese mattresses often are). Finally, they ran out of breakfast items which meant we had to go all the way into town to get breakfast one morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cameron Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, helpful staff and cheap awesome food but most importantly ....CLEAN

Disliked: one toilet/bathroom between 2-3 dorms (16-32 people)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with lots of friendly people and a real cultural junction

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very pleasant stay. The hostel is clean and the staffs is very helpful. So relax here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zhang zhen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Zhang would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, nice hostel with a real Chinese style

Disliked: Zhang left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful grounds in a safe area. The buildings had character!

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk to the subway station, but the staff was so helpful in giving directions and there were plenty of maps posted around the lobby area.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011

Liked: the conditions weren't great...but at least we had clean bed sheets and lockers(although it takes some time to get a lock for your locker from the reception).

Disliked: The staff is not organised( We prolonged our stay with one more day, we paid and when we came back our bedsheets and our personal towels were missing. It took some time to make them understand what is missing and when they finally gave back the towels were soaked wet...and they didn't see it as a problem...), in the mornong we didn't have hot water in our room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ian Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This place mainly attracts a Chinese student clientele who are very friendly and keen to talk. Pleasant surrounds in the forest.

Disliked: Very hard to get to by public transport unless you have speak/read Chinese to understand bus timetables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, always willing to help with anything. One girl (Li Ang) took me shopping in work time to help me out. Another member of staff (Vinsen) helped me to buy a Sim card. Very good value in a quiet location, close to West Lake. Within walking distance (but quite a long walk) or is very simple and cheap to take the bus. Very safe and secure rooms, operated with electronic key, also have lockers availabe should you need them. Good DVD collection. Excellent food available at a good price. Overall a great place to stay!

Disliked: There was only one other foreigner staying in the Hostel while I was there, so with my lack of Mandarin was difficult to meet many other travellers.