We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Haikou hostels

Reviews of Haikou Banana Hostel

Hostel | 3-4 Liyuan Villas, Renmin Road, Haikou, China 570208

76.2% Overall Rating

57 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

guy schubert thinks…

"Value for money people who could speak English an were prepared to help you plus write things in Chinese to show local people what you needed"

Read all Haikou Banana Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Haikou?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

57 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haikou Banana Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

guy schubert

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 guy would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money people who could speak English an were prepared to help you plus write things in Chinese to show local people what you needed

Disliked: clothes drier had had a heart attatck

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, best pizza I had in China!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danielle Buonocore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great travel advice. Hard to find. Take bus 30 from west bus station. Then get off at Clock tower or at the University and get a taxi. Good travel agent across the street. Front counter staff is a life saver.

Disliked: Could have been cleaner but good for a night or two backpacking. No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Fletcher

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, especially as our 1 night turned into 6 due to visa problem, the land lady daughter helped us, drove us to police station and visa office. Relaxed atmosphere, good breakfasts, English speakers. Good shower, spacious room for two. Air con.

Disliked: Hard beds, mosquitoes but they provide vapour tablets to plug in and there are mosquito nets at windows in rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 May 2012

Liked: It was near the beach.

Disliked: The reception guy didnt speak english well. Even tough we have made the reservation, the day when we arrived they didnt have it reserved for us. They also offered us Breakfast and after 30 minutes the guy told us "So sorry, no breakfast".

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service was very western which is quite a treat in China. The chef made really good food which was nice after a day in the heat and they had hundreds of movies that we could watch while we relaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joanna Kimball

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, the staff is friendly and they do have some food which isn't bad. My room was quiet at night. It's also near a bus stop and within walking distance of a park and a beach (although you should take a bus to Holiday Beach), and also a market which is a good place to shop and find tasty food and snacks. They also have some helpful maps of Haikou.

Disliked: My room wasn't ready when I arrived and it was cleaned hastily and perhaps not as well as it would have been done normally. But if you've been traveling cheaply in Asia for awhile, it's probably nothing that would alarm you.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012

Liked: The best thing about this place is the website and the photos on the walls. I also had a native wall hanging in my room which was cool. It is kept clean and tidy.

Disliked: The matresses are hard. The wi-fi dropped out. The noise from the drinking area downstairs carries throughout the hostel. I had high hopes for this place due to the website but felt a little dissappointed. Perhaps it was because it was Chinese New Year it was a little hectic.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. If you are on a tight budget this is a good place to stay since it's cheap and you're also provided with a lot of stuff (for example shampoo) for free.

Disliked: It's is not very clean and looks a little bit runned down. Also it can get very noisy during the night. Notice that there are no western-style bathrooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: The cleaning lady waking me up at 10 am after a hell of night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a real Italian chef who cooks awesome food! Great variation - if you don't like eating the typical Chinese food after staying in China for a while. They provide a great map with most important tourist information with transportation possibilities. Rooms are huge!

Disliked: The English level and knowledge of the staff is rather poor. They could not help us finding the correct bus to popular sightseeing spots.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful and provided advice. The price was pretty decent.

Disliked: The environment around the hostel can be really noisy. Lack of sound proof/thick windows meant that every night was a difficult sleep for light sleepers. Also the room did not feel particularly clean, there was a thin layer of sand/dirt on some parts of the bedsheet and the toilet drainage was clogged full of hair. Not the best place for a stay unless one is really on a tight budget.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sharifah Radhiah

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Sharifah would recommend this property

Liked: They have English speaking receptionist. They were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was tough for taxi drivers to locate the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JANA ZIFCAKOVA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 JANA would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked helpful staff and great location. There was connection by bus to all sightseeing. You will get even map of Haikou sighseeings for free and very briefly explained connection there. Rooms were clean, nice and well furnished. The staff was absolutely helpful and they saved my luggage when I went to visit Sanya for 2 days. I loved the hostel

Disliked: actually really nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. The staff is really helpful and friendly. The informations gave by the website were useful and accurate.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joergen Pedersen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Joergen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extraordinarily helpfull.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Anything apart fromlocation

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fine, The man at the front desk loaned us some money when the airport refused to change our money, so we could get a taxi to the hostel and eat some dinner. We were so greatful.

Disliked: The day we wanted to eat at the Hostel was the cook's day off. We prearranged with the front desk that we had to leave early to catch our flight and he never showed up to check us out, so we had to leave the key on the desk with a note.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: We got a big room very cheap. Excellent banana pancakes and porridge! Lady who made the food was really smiley.

Disliked: Quite dirty and strange. Our room had an ensuite covered in a fine layer of dust with no door. Also, our room had a little kitchen type area with a broken toaster and a hob that was covered in dust, with a dusty pan and mouldy spatula. Room wasn't cleaned during our six night stay. Windows and doors wide open downstairs so the communal areas were swarming with mosquitoes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

wen chiou lin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 wen chiou would recommend this property

Liked: Ambient place

Disliked: wen chiou left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 October 2010

Liked: n/a

Disliked: The cleaners came in at 8am and woke us up cleaning when checkout was not until 12noon. The hotel booked a car for us during flooding , poor local knowledge which put our safety at risk. Room were dirty. Not a good atmosphere.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010

Liked: The shower and the large locker in the room.

Disliked: As mentioned above

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIOU LIU

24 June 2010 YIOU would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location to goto haikou old city and restraunt street, there is bus to airport only cost RMB5, the air-conditioner may not work well so temp. over 27c inside room, I think.

Disliked: YIOU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying at a friend's house - Really nice atmosphere, you feel very much at home. Plus, it attracts some great people - great minds think alike i guess. I'd recommend the hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That if you are a solo traveller you can stay in a room on your own for a very good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Haikou hostels