We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Haikou hostels

Reviews of Haikou Youth Hostel

Hostel | 16 Duhai Road, D102 Binhai Huayuan, Xingang Haikou, China 570000

84.2% Overall Rating

25 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2013)

"The owner, Dan, is a super nice guy who's really helpful with tips and places to go in Haikou. On the morning we left, he even walked us out to the road and showed us exactly where to take our bus to the train station."

Read all Haikou Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Haikou?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

25 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haikou Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013

Liked: The owner, Dan, is a super nice guy who's really helpful with tips and places to go in Haikou. On the morning we left, he even walked us out to the road and showed us exactly where to take our bus to the train station.

Disliked: He's not quite updated with checking his online bookings such as with Hostelbookers so when we got there, he had no idea we had booked a room and quoted us a different price from our booking when we had to pay. Thankfully he honored the price that we had previously booked the place with. He had asked us to wait while he got the room ready so we just left our stuff in the room and went out. Another thing is that you aren't given a key to the room, but the floor is pretty safe since it seems like a family lives there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Likes just everything! The owner is a great guy, taking you out for some real Haikounese food, but dont expect a normal hostelstay its more like a homestay, which is just great!!!!

Disliked: Its really hard to find so when you get off at the busstop call Dan to pick u up otherwise you will be lost for sure!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just have to start off with that the hostel owner is a great guy. He is all about showing you the real china and taking you to the authentic places around the hostel. The family who lives at the house is also really sweet and helpful

Disliked: This is homestay and not a hostel. The "hostel" is in a remote part of town and very difficult to get to if you don't speak Chinese. Also the bathroom and shower are in one single stall and not very nice. The bed is also a bunked with no mattress. But don't let this detour you. If you are looking for an authentic Chinese experience, then you should stay here. I regret nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra O'Connor

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Dan was fantastic! I was traveling alone and there were no other guests in the hostel. Dan was so helpful by showing me the local places. Even when my computer started acting up, he called a friend of his to look at it for me.

Disliked: It's tucked away and at first I was hesitant to stay. So glad I did though!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Durbas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very friendly and helpful. He took us to the local breakfast food stall to taste the real Hainan breakfast.

Disliked: The host did not maintain his account on hostelbokers, thus the new address of the hostel was not updated and my reservation was not activated. Luckily there was one vacant room available...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, yet easy walk or bus to sites. The owner, Dan, was very friendly and helpful. He took us to a local tea house for breakfast, explained local culture and cuisine, and offered trip ideas. He even personally made sure we got on the right bus for our next destination.

Disliked: It was a little difficult to find after dark.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomasz Skiba

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good value for money.

Disliked: It's pretty far from the bus station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place. The host, Dan, is probably one of the most helpful people we have ever encountered, and he took time to show us some local food, and gave us a tour of the area, as well as helping us out with all our travel plans, and even invited us to have dinner twice with his lovely family. The room was spacious, clean, and nicely decorated, with a warm shower, and the hostel is in a quiet location but just a short bus/taxi ride to the old town. Go to this hostel!

Disliked: There's no room key, although its a safe, secure place and the hosts are very discreet, so it didn't cause any problems. Also, if you're planning on doing a lot of partying this place might not be for you, because it's a family home with 3 small children, and they will want to go to bed by 11ish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yi-Chang Kuo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2011 Yi-Chang would recommend this property

Liked: Well, it's not like a "hostel". It's more like visiting a friend who live in Haikou and stay at his house. The owner take you to the local market and having local food together with you.

Disliked: the facilities are basic (but it's ok for me)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly tour guide that brings you everywhere!

Disliked: n.a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dan is one of the best hostelowners we have ever met. He is doing the utmost to make you feel good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yung-Wa Ng

26 November 2009 Yung-Wa would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is so friendly and offers you the best information around the city. He also like to eat with you and shows you the local food. It's like you're a friend of his, such a friendly person. If he has the time he also hang around with you. So if you would like to enjoy the Haikou culture and be treated like a friend go to this place. It's not famous, but you will like it

Disliked: Yung-Wa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a cool experience sleeping on the beach!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really great place. Together with other guests we had a trip to the market, drank coffee in a locals place, had a tea ceremony. The owner later took us to the old part of the city. He really cares about what you experience in Haikou and makes sure it is a lot. Rooms are big and clean. Internet available. Place is a good choice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuen Bing Sum

23 January 2009 Yuen Bing would recommend this property

Liked: Dan was extremelly helpful! He knows the city inside out, gave us tips on getting around and getting back out (Dan and his minivan and two doggies). The staff are unbelievably friendly too.

Disliked: Yuen Bing left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Forest

07 February 2007 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: Dan the youthful 35 year old owner brings you to the most interesting spots and for dinner go with you to make sure you know and enjoy Hainan cooking. This is a 5 stars hostel.

Disliked: Bernard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

07 January 2007 would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful and will take time to show the cultural characters and sites of the city to the guests and also arrange for the further travels.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.


See all Haikou hostels