HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 3. Renmin Rd, Guilin, (Bulkhead Sheraton Hotel), Guilin, China 541001

93.0% Overall Rating

320 out of 360 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Alex Frew thinks…

"Friendly staff, nice big dorms. The individual curtains on the beds are a great idea! Super location."

Read all Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Guilin Grand Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 95.8% 349 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.73 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.4% 29 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.83 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews
Guilin This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 91.0% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

320 out of 360 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 272 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Frew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice big dorms. The individual curtains on the beds are a great idea! Super location.

Disliked: Food is quite expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, people spoke good english. Lots of information about things to do. Good value for food, food market opposite is also great for food. Also 20% off all food and drink on menu for people staying. Great chilled out atmosphere. The tours they offer are a good price and more or less the same as other travel agents. Dorm rooms and bathrooma were clean and a nice big bed :)

Disliked: Some staff were helpful, some were a little unhelpful. We thought we would be able to book transport through the hostel, it was a bit confusing because some said we could, others said they couldnt. Again mix up about buses etc, finally after going to bus station and finding there were no buses..we were told to go to the train station, the staff did write a Chinese translation of our destination which was useful. Finally got to the station to find we needed our passport- would have been helpful to have been told! But we did eventually get out tickets and it was sorted. Also the map they give is practically useless!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: /

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere, walking distance to the regional busstation (20min), nice english! speaking staff!

Disliked: rooms are not getting any younger;)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mario Mester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Central location next to nightmarket and city centre.

Disliked: Old, slighlty wet smelling rooms. Quite expensive offers of activities and food. No hostel entertainment program like a party, bbq or music

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sofia Månsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: American pancakes for breakfast- heavenly!!! The girls that work here are very friendly and social!

Disliked: Our room was very nice and big but very much in need of renovation. There was dripping water from the roof, not sure if it was the air com or if the roof was damp. The bathroom was functional. Our boat trip to Yàngshuo was cancelled because of weather, but we got our money back so that was ok. The coffee was very expensive!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Right opposite a street/value food square and close to the sun and moon pagoda scenic spot - a great scene at night. Bars nearby if that's your thing. Very friendly staff. Comfortable common area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Whelan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: The location is in the centre of all the attractions guilin has to offer. The staff are brilliant, will help you out with anything at all. The atmosphere of the hostel is top-notch! The rooms are clean & spacious, would recommend to anyone

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff, really great location and nice lounge area. Quite big beds

Disliked: my dorm was rather small, luckily we were just 4 people instead of 7 so it was ok, but i think it would be really tiny for 7 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and had excellent English

Disliked: Food prices were a little high

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very clean, beautiful and spacious room

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly, nice lounge to relax, great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Also the Location is perfect. We were also able to use the hostels laundry machines and hang up our stuff on the roof. The lounge is cosy and a great place to meet other travelers. One of my favourite hostels in China so far.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice common room and helpful staff. I arrived very late at night and it was alright to check in the next day (which was awesome, because I was very tired). They also have a nice tour to longshen rice fields for 200 yuan, which was very good.

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner and soap+handtowel would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Till Immanuel Hauser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2013 Till Immanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in the center of Guilin, but still quiet at night. Staff is helpful, answers emails within minutes and is friendly and easy to communicate with. The room's design is great, I loced the kang we slept on. Good breakfast and coffee.

Disliked: The airport pickup did not show up (after all, the taxi was a cheaper option)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, relax, very confortable, nice people

Disliked: No soap provided

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alejandra Victoria Cruz Milano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Alejandra Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located, near main sights ( walking and biking distance) and very close to the pedestrian street along with some souvenier shopping stands. The staff spoke English and were helpful when we asked about tours, sights and local information. They provide towels abs puffy and comfy pillows and a nice thick comforter

Disliked: The wifi does not work in the rooms. The hallways were a bit stuffy and smelly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARC OLIVARI

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

20 April 2013 MARC would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic ambiance, staff speaks english, kindly, well located, clean room, excellent breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FELIPE ALFONSO DOMINGUEZ ALCOCER

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

18 February 2013 FELIPE ALFONSO would recommend this property

Liked: Ubication, price and westerns can take good breakfasts easily.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice bar.

Disliked: My wi-fi didn't work there. I had to change hostels due to that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, staff was cery helpfull.... Hostel organized really good tours!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Green

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at the Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel. It was in a fantastic location, close to the Li River & major sites. But the best things were the tasty meals and the excellent staff who assisted us in all aspects of our stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very informative and helpful staff, who will go out of their way to help you. Good room, comfortable bed and spacious. Common room area very relaxing and spacious.

Disliked: Wi-fi was very hit and miss - when it worked it was ok, but inexplicably it would cut out and fail to work for ages. We had to ask for the wi-fi to be rebooted several times, after which it staretd to work again. Didn't feel very secure in common room area as people would walk in off the streets and feign interest in your laptop/phone - which unfortunately for us happened just after our iPhone was stolen in the town centre within minutes of arrival, so watch your bags! We felt there was a lax attitude to strangers off the street wandering in, even if we were on the alert after that theft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aude-Marie BERTHELOT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Aude-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice to stay there. the staff is very friendly and helpful. The dorms are nice (very very large beds!) The food they make (breakfast, lunch... is good too) We can only recommand it !!!!!! Choose it ! you will enjoy your stay there !

Disliked: every thing was nice there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephenie Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Stephenie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a fantastic location; you can easily walk to several sights, or can rent a bike (30RMB/day) for longer distances, or catch the bus or a cheap taxi anywhere you need to go. It's close to plenty of restaurants, and the food that the hostel cooks up is cheap and pretty tasty too. My husband and I stayed in a private double room and the bed was huge and the room was very clean. Best of all is the staff: they really go above and beyond to help out travelers. Their English is excellent and they can give lots of advice about attractions around Guilin, as well as help arrange transport and/or tours. Everyone was so helpful and we really appreciated it!

Disliked: The wifi here is TERRIBLE. Apparently only 10 people can be logged on at a time and even then, access was spotty at best. We actually had to go to a nearby internet cafe and pay for access because we couldn't get on at the hostel but needed to book accommodation for our next city. The double bed we had was horrendously hard. Like sleeping on a wood plank!


See all Guilin hostels