HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Green Forest Hostel

Hostel | 110-25 South Zhongshan Rd, Southestern side of Nanmen, Guilin, China 543002

92.6% Overall Rating

107 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Near train and bus station, nice common area, very helpful staff, got upgraded to twin room for free!"

Read all Green Forest Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.46
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Guilin Oasis Inn
12.81 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.66 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 87.3% 27 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 93.0% 359 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

107 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Forest Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near train and bus station, nice common area, very helpful staff, got upgraded to twin room for free!

Disliked: Common toilet (before check-in and/or after check-out) was dirty and then broken, room was a little dusty. All in all an amazing little place, though!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and the staff were very kind and helpful. Also has a nice communal area with TV with movies and a couple guitars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, wifi in the room worked well, the cat is lovely.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness with tours, delicious breakfast, and good location with affordability.

Disliked: The rooms were a little musty and bathrooms a little moldy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Gill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay in Guilin city, and as a base for trips to further out places like Yangshou or the Longli Rice Terraces due to the hostel being only a 5 minute walk from the long distance bus & train station. Stayed in a double room one night, and a twin the other. Both were very comfortable. Hostel restaurant and lounge is also great for chatting to people and eating some of their great food (try the vegetable curry). Will be coming back.

Disliked: Our basic twin room on the second night had that broccoli smell so common in Asian bathrooms, but wasn't too much of an issue.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Quentin Menelot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Quentin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, nice, helpful. They know perfectly all what to know about their area.

Disliked: Quentin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best staff what we have met in China! Fluent english and very helpfull. Room was very nice and clean. They upgrated our room for free. There was free laundry and they also provided washing powder. We also took free Mahjong lesson whitch was very fun.

Disliked: There was no dryer for the laundry, so it took time to dry the clothes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Bicheno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, really friendly and helpful and gave good advice on how to get to places outside of the city centre. They even found the time to teach us how to play majiang one evening! Food was great and the rooms were clean and spacious. A really nice lounge area where you can sit and chat to other guests. One of the best hostels I've stayed in and will definitely be staying again if I go back to Guilin!

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariia Savitckaia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2013 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere is really nice ..you can even play guitar..Sit on comfortable sofas.. Play majong.. Rooms are clean,big,a lot of space. So far one of the best places I stayed in China

Disliked: Mariia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Todd Moellenkamp

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was attentive and helpful. The rooms were nice, albeit windowless. The bus station was exceptionally close - making transfer to Yangshuo a breeze.

Disliked: Todd left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Happy and Dawei, giving us loads of local tips for eating and travelling. The atmosphere was also great, very welcoming an friendly.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, most of the staff are really helpful

Disliked: I booked a female only dorm, then at 2am a (very loud) bloke arrived in my room

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed here one night (where we arrived late and left early in the morning) but the staff were friendly, we got a free coffee with our nights stay (which in China, is fantastic... the price of a coffee is usually about 50% of the cost of a nights accomodation). They also had a computer with Facebook access, which was handy for us as we had been trying to get a hold of of friend for some time but couldn't because of the Great Firewall.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Staff Ever! Hostel is cozy, prices are good. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charles Croslin

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: My travel plans changed unexpectedly and the hostel was great about adjusting my reservation (I did give at least 48 hours notice prior to check-in). Close to the train station and tucked just off a main street in a picturesque setting next to the river, Guilin's Green Forest is a very nice hostel with friendly staff and good food available. Wished I had more time to spend there!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eneko Salaverria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Eneko would recommend this property

Liked: good cleanliness

Disliked: Eneko left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good coffee (although I find the coffee in Guilin & area over priced) and helpful staff.

Disliked: many rooms have no windows and there is no way of knowing this when you book through hostelbookers. Internet shuts down often.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kong yow lye

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 December 2012 kong yow would recommend this property

Liked: Is all about people, this hostel has a group of good staff, very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: the toilet. and the smell from downstairs restaurant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ingrid Kristensson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Superb common area. Good breakfast. Friendly, helpfull staff.

Disliked: Stayed in the cheapest twin room. It was smelly. The room smelled mold and the bathroom very bad from the sewer. No shower cabin. Everything gets wet while showering

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JA PEI LEE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

24 October 2012

Liked: Good location, very near to train and bus stations, walking distance to city centre.

Disliked: Staff didn't turn on air-condition despite the warm and stuffy weather, made us feel very uncomfortable. Staff weren't very friendly at all, no smiles. Some guests were very noisy throughout the night which was very disturbing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Luisa Zappadu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Maria Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was all absolutely perfect! the place is close to everything and it is just 5 minutes walking from the Elephant Thunk Hill. Every thing is really nice and it seams more an hotel than a Hostel.

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meiliang Zhao

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Meiliang would recommend this property

Liked: I knew there are many hostel offered family-atmosphere- sitting-room, Green Forest gave me the best I could feel. When I got back from shopping with my sister, my family was there sitting around the table, chatting and surfing online. It moved me with the yellow light. And as I have to be there in the hottest holiday time, this price is the most acceptable one. And as there are two unexpected members joined in our trip, Green Forest didn't over charge me. There do was many foreigners, but we didnt get any different treatment, which I was quite concerned about when I read the comments from the before-comers.

Disliked: The restroom was too simple and the wall I guess was to thin, I can hear the hallway easily all the time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very, very helpful staff at reception. They organized a taxi for us for early light which was very convenient.

Disliked: NOne


See all Guilin hostels