HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 10-3 Dong Hua Rd, XiuFeng District, Guilin, China 541001

97.4% Overall Rating

326 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"Great place to stay. Very nice people. Bar area with good value for money food. Arrived early in the morning at was no problem at all to sleep on the couches in the lounge area. Very clean. Room was huge. Everything…"

Read all Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Buddy's Hostel
10.54 USD

Apartment 87.1% 10 reviews
Guilin Fubo Hotel
24.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.0% 6 reviews
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 93.5% 358 reviews
Guilin This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 91.7% 12 reviews
LongJi International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.0% 12 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.67 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

326 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ming Palace International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 309 of 337 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Very nice people. Bar area with good value for money food. Arrived early in the morning at was no problem at all to sleep on the couches in the lounge area. Very clean. Room was huge. Everything nicely decorated.

Disliked: Had to pay full price at check-in. They said the 12% we paid to hostelbookers was a fee and we have to pay the whole amount again!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is brilliant - I am very happy there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a good experience. The room was indeed clean and tidy, but well equipped. I recommend the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and kind. The room we got was very clean and everyday he cleaned it. The facilities there were well-fitted. This is definitely the best hostel I want to recommend, especially for a group of two.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms look very nice. The stuff is helpful. Restaurant is very convienient.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This will remain my favourite stop in China, Guilin is such a splendid city with great tours surrounding the place. However it it was not for the extremely hospitable staff at the Ming Palace Hostel then it could of been so different. From check in to check out the girls working at the hostel made me feel welcome and loved, entertaining me, taking me out and trying I teach me magic. I hope that one day I will return to Guilin and I 'really really really' really will head straight for the Guilin Ming Palace International Hostel. Thank you all.

Disliked: I have nothing but positive comments for the positive atmosphere at this place.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, Staff in helpdesk are helpful and nice, they are willing to help you.

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony messenger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: I extended, very nice place. Very happy with the helpful, funny staff.

Disliked: expensive coffee and bar prices. No need for them to be so high---- it is china not america

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Yamamoto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel ! definetely recommend ! if the yellow cat is still there it was me who named the cat as leli !

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. When I pointed out something about a previous interaction that disappointed me, they gave me a coupon for a free pot of jasmine tea and said sorry. The private room and bathroom were incredibly clean and the bed was super comfortable. The cafe/bar is very nice and shows free movies every night. The stairway walls are covered in cute notes and art from previous travelers. It was always fun going up and down the stairs.

Disliked: PC internet and WiFi was excruciatingly slow. WiFi didn't work at all at times and there didn't seem to be anyone who knew how to fix it. Tea and coffee at the cafe are very expensive.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dee Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Dee would recommend this property

Liked: The food at the bar was well priced and the staff very friendly. Also had a pet kitten who is very affectionate, and is well located for the city centre.

Disliked: Quite far out from any transport links, and when I stayed, at least 2 of the floors were under heavy construction, so found workers going up and down during the day, and a lot of dust while going from my room. Also has no lift and was up a good 5 flights of stairs - Not for people with heavy luggage.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and nice staff with good english skills. Nice entrance and location. But the best are the rooms, they are very big and cosy with comfortable beds and a lot of space.

Disliked: The school next to the hostel was a little bit loud in the morning during weekdays.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Four bed dormitory is a perfect size and everyone's locker. Each has own power socket. All beds have their own light. Toilet and shower room are clean, we never wait to use them. Breakfast is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! Good environment to meet people and visit the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities and friendly atmosphere. My bathroom was adequate and very clean. Great place and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Both my friend and I feel very comfortable in the hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest hostel I have stayed in in china and the rest of the world. The staff are excellent and always happy to help. Particularly the bar staff, they really make you feel welcome and always provide excellent service. There are excellent deals in the bar and events most evenings to celebrate Chinese holidays or enjoy authentic Chinese food. I cannot recommend this hostel more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect stay at the hostel, personnally I would like to point out a certain staff member called Candy who is doing an amazing job!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel! The staff were very friendly and helpful in anything I asked. The food was good an not overly expensive as well as the location was great for exploring. I have no complaints and I will visit again on my next trip in China.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good trip prices and a nice communal area with bar. Excellent location

Disliked: Our room was on the 5th floor - not massively convenient with large backpacks and no lift - it would have been best to mention this in the room description. Bathroom was not as clean as it could have been - squashed insect on the wall and someone had forgotten to replenish the toilet roll - the room was clean and pleasant

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is excellent, so friendly and helpful. The bar is awesome. They got specials every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful, friendly staff. Great location. Great rooms. Only complaint is the bathrooms were a bit small, though they were super clean and convenient otherwise. Would definitely recommend this hostel would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, free laundry, safe, quiet area

Disliked: Loud humming noise at night, quiet in communal area, trips a bit expensive compared to other hostels

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Prakash

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2013 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the hostel is very good. The staff is very very helpful. During her free time, Maggi even went to the length of going to various china mobile phone company stores with me to help translate so I can get a SIM card. Can't appreciate their help more. Wifi is good. it's clean and has a restaurant. Hostel is located within walking distance of most Guilin sights. So a stroll around Guilin is easy.

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge airy room, nice atmosphere, self service laundry. Better than more expensive hotels we stayed at in Guangzhou.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Guilin hostels