We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 10-3 Dong Hua Rd, XiuFeng District, Guilin, China 541001

95.8% Overall Rating

333 out of 349 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Brent Swann thinks…

"Great value, spacious double room with nice en-suite, internet in rooms, lovely helpful staff, allowed us to use their personal computer to change passwords etc after my phone was stolen near 7 star…"

Read all Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Buddy's Hostel
9.58 USD

Apartment 87.1% 10 reviews
Guilin Fubo Hotel
24.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.0% 6 reviews
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 93.0% 360 reviews
Guilin This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.0% 15 reviews
LongJi International Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 80.0% 12 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
4.22 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.4% 29 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

333 out of 349 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ming Palace International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
98.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 315 of 344 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brent Swann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, spacious double room with nice en-suite, internet in rooms, lovely helpful staff, allowed us to use their personal computer to change passwords etc after my phone was stolen near 7 star park. Nice atmosphere and always smiling and helpful.

Disliked: Room was clean, but noticed a cockroach running down hallway (exterminated it, but a bit of a worry). Restaurant often had to have option B or C as your first choice wasn't available, which changed each day.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, good bar/resturant to meet others, rooms were clean and beds comfey.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelos Michael

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Angelos would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff was helpful and could speak very good English.

Disliked: Angelos left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Lobos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place!... Clean, safe, friendly, good location, good atmosphere and the incredible staff (i love Tina). It's a great option to stay in Guilin!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maksim Sedelnikov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Maksim would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: bad loundry

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heather Mann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were large

Disliked: A bit scruffy

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Very nice people. Bar area with good value for money food. Arrived early in the morning at was no problem at all to sleep on the couches in the lounge area. Very clean. Room was huge. Everything nicely decorated.

Disliked: Had to pay full price at check-in. They said the 12% we paid to hostelbookers was a fee and we have to pay the whole amount again!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is brilliant - I am very happy there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a good experience. The room was indeed clean and tidy, but well equipped. I recommend the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and kind. The room we got was very clean and everyday he cleaned it. The facilities there were well-fitted. This is definitely the best hostel I want to recommend, especially for a group of two.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms look very nice. The stuff is helpful. Restaurant is very convienient.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This will remain my favourite stop in China, Guilin is such a splendid city with great tours surrounding the place. However it it was not for the extremely hospitable staff at the Ming Palace Hostel then it could of been so different. From check in to check out the girls working at the hostel made me feel welcome and loved, entertaining me, taking me out and trying I teach me magic. I hope that one day I will return to Guilin and I 'really really really' really will head straight for the Guilin Ming Palace International Hostel. Thank you all.

Disliked: I have nothing but positive comments for the positive atmosphere at this place.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, Staff in helpdesk are helpful and nice, they are willing to help you.

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony messenger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: I extended, very nice place. Very happy with the helpful, funny staff.

Disliked: expensive coffee and bar prices. No need for them to be so high---- it is china not america

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Yamamoto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel ! definetely recommend ! if the yellow cat is still there it was me who named the cat as leli !

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. When I pointed out something about a previous interaction that disappointed me, they gave me a coupon for a free pot of jasmine tea and said sorry. The private room and bathroom were incredibly clean and the bed was super comfortable. The cafe/bar is very nice and shows free movies every night. The stairway walls are covered in cute notes and art from previous travelers. It was always fun going up and down the stairs.

Disliked: PC internet and WiFi was excruciatingly slow. WiFi didn't work at all at times and there didn't seem to be anyone who knew how to fix it. Tea and coffee at the cafe are very expensive.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dee Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Dee would recommend this property

Liked: The food at the bar was well priced and the staff very friendly. Also had a pet kitten who is very affectionate, and is well located for the city centre.

Disliked: Quite far out from any transport links, and when I stayed, at least 2 of the floors were under heavy construction, so found workers going up and down during the day, and a lot of dust while going from my room. Also has no lift and was up a good 5 flights of stairs - Not for people with heavy luggage.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and nice staff with good english skills. Nice entrance and location. But the best are the rooms, they are very big and cosy with comfortable beds and a lot of space.

Disliked: The school next to the hostel was a little bit loud in the morning during weekdays.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Four bed dormitory is a perfect size and everyone's locker. Each has own power socket. All beds have their own light. Toilet and shower room are clean, we never wait to use them. Breakfast is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! Good environment to meet people and visit the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities and friendly atmosphere. My bathroom was adequate and very clean. Great place and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Both my friend and I feel very comfortable in the hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest hostel I have stayed in in china and the rest of the world. The staff are excellent and always happy to help. Particularly the bar staff, they really make you feel welcome and always provide excellent service. There are excellent deals in the bar and events most evenings to celebrate Chinese holidays or enjoy authentic Chinese food. I cannot recommend this hostel more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect stay at the hostel, personnally I would like to point out a certain staff member called Candy who is doing an amazing job!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel! The staff were very friendly and helpful in anything I asked. The food was good an not overly expensive as well as the location was great for exploring. I have no complaints and I will visit again on my next trip in China.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Guilin hostels