HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 10-3 Dong Hua Rd, XiuFeng District, Guilin, China 541001

97.3% Overall Rating

318 out of 334 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Henry Yamamoto thinks…

"perfect hostel ! definetely recommend ! if the yellow cat is still there it was me who named the cat as leli !"

Read all Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Buddy's Hostel
6.48 USD

Apartment 87.1% 10 reviews
Guilin Fubo Hotel
24.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.0% 6 reviews
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 94.9% 352 reviews
Guilin This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 93.9% 7 reviews
LongJi International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.0% 12 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
4.86 USD

Hostel 88.2% 22 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

318 out of 334 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ming Palace International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 329 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Yamamoto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel ! definetely recommend ! if the yellow cat is still there it was me who named the cat as leli !

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. When I pointed out something about a previous interaction that disappointed me, they gave me a coupon for a free pot of jasmine tea and said sorry. The private room and bathroom were incredibly clean and the bed was super comfortable. The cafe/bar is very nice and shows free movies every night. The stairway walls are covered in cute notes and art from previous travelers. It was always fun going up and down the stairs.

Disliked: PC internet and WiFi was excruciatingly slow. WiFi didn't work at all at times and there didn't seem to be anyone who knew how to fix it. Tea and coffee at the cafe are very expensive.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dee Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Dee would recommend this property

Liked: The food at the bar was well priced and the staff very friendly. Also had a pet kitten who is very affectionate, and is well located for the city centre.

Disliked: Quite far out from any transport links, and when I stayed, at least 2 of the floors were under heavy construction, so found workers going up and down during the day, and a lot of dust while going from my room. Also has no lift and was up a good 5 flights of stairs - Not for people with heavy luggage.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and nice staff with good english skills. Nice entrance and location. But the best are the rooms, they are very big and cosy with comfortable beds and a lot of space.

Disliked: The school next to the hostel was a little bit loud in the morning during weekdays.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Four bed dormitory is a perfect size and everyone's locker. Each has own power socket. All beds have their own light. Toilet and shower room are clean, we never wait to use them. Breakfast is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! Good environment to meet people and visit the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities and friendly atmosphere. My bathroom was adequate and very clean. Great place and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Both my friend and I feel very comfortable in the hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest hostel I have stayed in in china and the rest of the world. The staff are excellent and always happy to help. Particularly the bar staff, they really make you feel welcome and always provide excellent service. There are excellent deals in the bar and events most evenings to celebrate Chinese holidays or enjoy authentic Chinese food. I cannot recommend this hostel more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect stay at the hostel, personnally I would like to point out a certain staff member called Candy who is doing an amazing job!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel! The staff were very friendly and helpful in anything I asked. The food was good an not overly expensive as well as the location was great for exploring. I have no complaints and I will visit again on my next trip in China.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good trip prices and a nice communal area with bar. Excellent location

Disliked: Our room was on the 5th floor - not massively convenient with large backpacks and no lift - it would have been best to mention this in the room description. Bathroom was not as clean as it could have been - squashed insect on the wall and someone had forgotten to replenish the toilet roll - the room was clean and pleasant

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is excellent, so friendly and helpful. The bar is awesome. They got specials every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful, friendly staff. Great location. Great rooms. Only complaint is the bathrooms were a bit small, though they were super clean and convenient otherwise. Would definitely recommend this hostel would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, free laundry, safe, quiet area

Disliked: Loud humming noise at night, quiet in communal area, trips a bit expensive compared to other hostels

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Prakash

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2013 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the hostel is very good. The staff is very very helpful. During her free time, Maggi even went to the length of going to various china mobile phone company stores with me to help translate so I can get a SIM card. Can't appreciate their help more. Wifi is good. it's clean and has a restaurant. Hostel is located within walking distance of most Guilin sights. So a stroll around Guilin is easy.

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge airy room, nice atmosphere, self service laundry. Better than more expensive hotels we stayed at in Guangzhou.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very good location and the stuff is very friendly. I stayed there for 2 days and it was a awesome time in Guilin and also in the Hostel. The selection for the breakfast was very varied and so delicious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you have a group of 3 or 4 people this place is amazing. I went by myself and the room is hotel quality. Most comfortable bed I've had in China. Staff are also great. The dorms are great, the tenant can contact a lot of people. If that's important to you then I would highly recommend this place, especially when they have one of their great deals on.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and most speak english albeit slightly broken. Not a problem. Clean comfortable single room and cheap. Good coffee and cheap beer in the bar. Free washing machine! Could to with a lift however the staff caried my bag up for me so that is not a major problem. This place meets all requirements and is lovely. I love Ming Palace!!!

Disliked: No lift.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and informative, the rooms were well serviced and in excellent condition. I recommend the hostel very highly and look forward to my next visit. Its location nestled in a very authentic part of Guilin allowed me to experience some of the normal life of local residents while being a nice walk from many of the major attractions. You will not be disappointed with your experience at the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location and an excellent breakfast to pay for. Staff like the man who fixed the printer and the girl serving the restaurant were great. It is a nice stay and worth it.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Guilin. Staff was friendly, good price for the beer, and lots of other travelers to meet. Basic, but clean. Would definitely recommend for any backpackers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very very friendly, and helpful. One of the best hostel experience for me in China.

Disliked: The laundry service could be better.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isabella Grati

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: The men on reception were exceptionally helpful. The rooms were very big and clean, with huge windows letting a lot of light in. The cleaners were fantastic as well, they provided beautiful fresh linen everyday and cleaned the room very well.

Disliked: To be honest the girls on reception weren't great. A few times they would be chatting while we stood there waiting and the lovely men on reception would need to apologise and fix the problem. It happened more than once so it can't be put down to just 'training'. On one of our tours we got left in the middle of no where as well. We got back about 5 hours late at night but were given a free breakfast. The coffee prices were more expensive than back home but they at least tasted fantastic. On day I wanted to order a rice dish, they said they didn't have any rice even though it was on the menu board and I saw their staff had made their own lunches with rice - a little confusing.

The property's response is...


See all Guilin hostels