HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.1% Overall Rating

356 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Aimee White thinks…

"The directions they gave me from the train station to the hostel were easy to follow and correct- not something that happens with every hostel I've stayed at! I felt very safe here as it was in a…"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.48
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
11.20 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.74 USD

Hostel 89.5% 104 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
17.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.69 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

356 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 344 of 365 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Faye Woodhead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorms, clean bedding, clean bathrooms, good air con, curtains around the beds in some rooms. A seas to Facebook and YouTube.

Disliked: Nowhere other than the very hot courtyard to eat your own food/ have your own drinks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Havelka

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Customer service.

Disliked: Price of beer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: The directions they gave me from the train station to the hostel were easy to follow and correct- not something that happens with every hostel I've stayed at! I felt very safe here as it was in a gated community entrance. The staff speak excellent English and were very welcoming the moment I stepped through the door. They gave me a really useful map which allowed me to see parts of Guilin I wouldn't have known to visit otherwise. My room was clean and had other lovely travellers in the other beds who I made friends with. The hostel is in walking distance to street food, a botantical garden and a shopping mall; I felt that I could never be bored here! If I'm ever in Guilin again this is the only hostel I would choose to stay at.

Disliked: The only 'bad' thing about the hostel was that I was reading a book from the reading room, but the next day someone had taken it so I never got to finish it!! But this wasn't the hostel's fault. Nothing I dislike about this property!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Really helped with plans.

Disliked: Wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Hoffmann

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: They really have gone out of their way to make guests feel welcome and comfortable, providing tons of information, drinking water, wifi that can access the "actual" internet (facebook, google, gmail, other things blocked by China), and discounts at parks/sights in the area. The AC was good too.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and shared spaces.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staffs were friendly and helpful. The hostel was in a quiet residential community. Close to a local shopping mall and a hypermarket, walking distance to Guilin train station, convenient in every aspect.

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe. Great staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Yates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 May 2014 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Poulin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: They have access to FACEBOOK! Also the menu in the hostel is amazing and really cheap.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: washing machine free of charge. forgot to make the reservation for the last night.came back in the evening from a day trip and they hadnt removed my stuff. it was no problem at all.very sweet girls!! the enclosed restaurant is very good as well and prices are reasonable.

Disliked: maybe that the wifi in the room was too week for the phone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Tran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful and friendly and speak english super well, I left a bag there when I went off to the rice terraces for a few days and they were happy to store it until I got back. The location is near a shopping centre and the bus stop. It is a bit further out from the main sites but is within walking distance of the train station

Disliked: Found there was lots of mozzies but they provided a plug in the room which I didn't know what it was until I got bitten quite a few times and showed the girls at reception and then they told me what the plug was for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome staff. Very helpfull... Nice location to stay at...definitly a go !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF. This hostel had the BEST staff ever! They were so helpful with everything we asked them about and were so patient as they helped us plan and research the rest of trip which changed multiple times. It is not often hostel staff help you research things and provide advice for over a half hour at one time. Monica was so awesome and deserves a raise! All of the other staff were very helpful as well, but Monica helped us the most. There is also on onsite bar and common area where you can order good food and drinks (not to mention you get a free t-shirt if you drink 12 beers). There are also free laundry machines to do your washing which was super convenient. Heated blankets in the room were also a nice touch during the winter. You can book tours through the front desk which were great (we did the rice paddy one which I would recommend). All in all this was a great hostel in a nice building, with great facilities, services and above all, AMAZING STAFF. I will definitely stay at Wada hostel again if I am ever back in Guilin.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clemens Purrucker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Clemens would recommend this property

Liked: The Wada girls are the best staff I met on 4 continents. Extremely friendly, helpful way beyond the call of duty. Free pool, dumpling party every monday, facebook is working, sociable bar, good food, just a great place. And the BBQ night is another highlight. If you're heading for Guilin, stay there.

Disliked: Clemens left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Heinemeier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, easy to find from the train station, close to the bus station going to Yangshou and even closer to the bus going around town! Movie room and a nice atmosphere in the hang out area. We had a nice and pretty cheap breakfast

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher James Kausch II

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Christopher James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and willing to build rapport with guests. Foreign guests also have ample opportunities to practice their Mandarin Chinese with the staff. Social events like the dumpling dinner on Mondays allow guests to share travels with others quite easily.

Disliked: Although the directions of the hostel were clear from the bus or train station, the hostel is a bit removed from the city center and some of the major attractions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character! A very fun place to stay.

Disliked: A little far from city center, hard to get to. Not something that can really be helped, but was still a hindrance to our time in Guilin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Cranny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great place! A really fun place to stay and meet other travellers. The staff couldnt be friendlier or more helpful. They helped me to book train tickets and arranged really cool day trips. They also have social evenings most nights, dumpling parties etc. I was there for their new year party which was great fun! Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Common areas are fantastic, movie room, library, pool table. This is a great place to base yourself for exploring this area, would definitely reccommend!

Disliked: Nothing:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Laudenbach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a Hostel, this is like coming home! In the moment you walk through the door you will meet one of the Wada Girls (in our case Monica) and you will feel like amongst friends. The Hostel has everything a Backpacker needs, the food is great and the location is perfect. Also the fact that everybody speaks amazing english is really helpful. I would come back any day because it`s just a fantastic place. Love to WADA!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolas Möhrmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so helpful and friendly. They offer Trips e.g li river boat tour but they also provide any Information You Need if you do it on your own. Location is really good and there is a Great atmosphere at the Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk girls are really helpful, patient, and friendly. The location is pretty good. Really easy to walk to the train station from here. Bus stops right outside of the hostel make it easy to go around the city. The hostel is decorated well and comfortable to chill out in. Loved staying at Wada. I left and went to Yangshuo, and then came back to Guilin and stayed at Wada again! They even left me store my extra baggage in the hostel for 2 days while I left and went to Yangshuo.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Fielding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Wada Hostel - Literally, what a hostel! I don't usually write reviews but I have to say this hostel has definitely earned its high rating. We've been travelling around the world for over a year and this is the most efficient hostel we've stayed in. It's everything a backpacker wants a hostel to be. The Wada girls provide an excellent service. They understand exactly what you want/need and provide it with a smile. Rather than pushing what is best for the hostel they approach things from the customers point of view and understand that sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference. Every member of staff made it their business to know our names. They even knew our food preferences (great food btw) by the second day. We would have stayed here longer but for exhausting everything but the hostel.

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms, not a major issue though as the common area is better to hang out in but for downloading at night etc it's nice to have access from the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ramona Marzloff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely cozy common area, fun Hostel activities, great character and spirit. Won the award for best staff for a reason, they were all adorable, helpful and friendly. Also, the free pickup from the station was much appreciated. First I didn't like the idea of no wifi in the room, but I endet up loving it, since it made me stay in the common area where I met very nice people. Free laundry and facebook is, unlike mst other hostels in china, actually really working.

Disliked: I had a dorm next to the yard which was very convenient but people would be very noisy, even late at night. They should make sure people keep it down after a certain hour. The bathrooms combine shower and toilet and hae no curtain or anything, therefore, unfortunately, if s.o. has a shower in the morning, everyone would make a bit of a mess in the bathroom with their shoes ans stuff and transport this on to the room. Since the ckpleaning ladies come everyday that's not too big a deal, though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is just awesome, excellent atmosphere, the location, despite is not the most beautiful area in Guilin, is very close to a airport shuttle bus stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Guilin hostels