HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

96.8% Overall Rating

346 out of 358 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Really awesome staff. Very helpfull... Nice location to stay at...definitly a go !!!"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.42
  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 92.0% 113 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
11.17 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 88.7% 103 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.56 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
4.86 USD

Hostel 88.2% 22 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.47 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.8%

Overall Rating

346 out of 358 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 354 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful, great atmosphere, the dorm room was clean and even had electric blankets

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Magdalena Paciorek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011

Liked: Good location close to shopping mall with huge supermarket, plenty restaurants and fast foods and other shops. Easy to get from train station and Guilin airport. We only stayed there for one night and haven't used any facilities. The staff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: The room was really cold even though the heater was on.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 February 2011

Liked: the hostel was freezing but did have heated blankets :D

Disliked: no hot water in the room. the shower head did not hook onto the wall. on many occasions I asked for help in getting to places and changing money to Hong Kong Dollars for the next part of my trip, the information given was either completely wrong or just not helpful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff nice food

Disliked: too caold, no proper heating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the train station, McDonalds and great supermarket. They are currently rennovating, but were very accomodating and made every effort to compensate.

Disliked: Nothing really.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010

Liked: the staff are really friendly, and though we were there during renovations - it looked like the facilities will be much better

Disliked: bad neighborhood, no reason to stayt at this hostel when there are so many others in better locations

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Moraru

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms and ATTENTION dorms (4 beds) HAVE PRIVATE SHOWERS!!!!~ The bar is nice and they have even Karaoke room :)

Disliked: Nothing to say, everything was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Surina Mac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Surina would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Our room was clean and spacious and the mattress was heated, which was awesome! The staff are so helpful and a great source of information. We booked the Li River cruise through the hostel and it was well organised and decently priced. Even though we stayed a night in Yangshuo, we were still able to leave our luggage in Wada for free. Great communal area, with a really nice outdoor area where there were lounge chairs and a pool table, and a simple but nice restaurant. Wifi can be accessed in rooms.

Disliked: We would have loved to have a kettle in our room but hot water is provided at the water machine in the reception area. If you do book the Li River cruise, don't have the lunch option. The restaurant was subpar and the food was plain but expensive. If you're really hungry, just wait until until you arrive in Yangshuo. Location is not too bad: it's only a 15 minute walk from the train station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry McAuley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very helpful staff and they rent decent bikes at a reasonable price. Friday night BarBQ was great way to meet loads of others. Good range of DVD's and books to choose from.

Disliked: Room was basic, but has everything you'd want to be fair.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Martin

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 November 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Good outdoor communal area with pool table, good restaurant/bar area, easy to meet people, clean rooms, friendly staff, can book a wide range of tours at reception.

Disliked: Oliver left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yaseen Daudjee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010 Yaseen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were always smiling and having fun. They even came out with an umbrella as I arrived in the rain. The dorms were clean and very comfortable (better mattresses and duvets in South China for some reason), The bar does great (if not a bit lethal 6.7%) dark Beerlao. The tour down the Li river to Yangshuo was good value at 120 Yuan, and a really pleasant journey. The hostel is opposite a mall with great food (they recommend a place for the rice noodles speciality which did not disappoint) and they have a discount card for the cinema there.

Disliked: Only very minor things like the internet is a bit slow, they have a washing machine, but no dryer, it's a bit of a way out of town, but there are frequent buses going from right outside the hostel, and it's only a 30 minute walk.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Pine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS CLOSE TO THE TRAIN AND THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. GOOD WIFI AND NICE CAFE AREA TO SIT IN AND CHAT TO PEOPLE.

Disliked: THE CAFE WAS OVERPRICED AND THE BREAKFAST WASNT GREAT. THE TOURS WERE GOOD BUT PROBABLY ABIT COSTLY FOR WHAT YOU GOT.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, atmospehere, cheap, bamboo bar, many others...

Disliked: Not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake howes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 jake would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were nice and it was a good bbq

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels but never bothered to review any, thats how good the Wada hostel is. The staff are so helpful and there is a great outside area called the bamboo garden which is so chilled out and a great place to meet people as is the bar. They have a bbq on a friday night which is great. Some people have mentioned the location it may be out of the centre but personally I found it better there are plenty of places to eat around the hostel and you can either walk or get the bus easily to the centre. We had a double room which was nice and was cleaned everyday.Wada is by far the best hostel we have stayed in not just in China but anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

neil dyke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 neil would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. Friday night BBQ. Quality coffee. Great place to meet people. Take the plunge and leave your bags and take an overnight pack. Stay in Ping An and walk the Rice terraces then stay in Dazhai. Fantastic. Ask at reception for the 40Yaun transport

Disliked: Bar prices WOTT for a hostel. Bar food average. Go to the food in the mall opposite. Better and cheaper.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly, helpful and most speak good English. Good tours.

Disliked: All the rooms have a window to the aisle. At least in our room, it wasn't possible to lock this window, hence it would have been very easy to get into the room even with a locked door. Very slow Internet connection. Although they promised us pick-up from the train station, nobody turned up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and secure. staff were lovely and very helpful with everything

Disliked: directions for a taxi driver from train station not clear, be careful i eneded up paying 5 times the price they quoted me. Also if you can do the rice terrace tour yourself i think it would be more worthwhile, you pay alot just for the driver and he then led us the wrong way up the terraces.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luke Reid

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

19 October 2010 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful, they all speak english, and are willing to play pool if no one else is.

Disliked: Mould in the room, but seems to be common everyware. Taxi drivers from busstations don't seem to know know where this place is.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and English-speaking staff, nice atmosphere and lots of things to do (including huge movie list), good condition rooms - and not too far from Central city, yet close to transport hubs of railway and bus station (which you will be using as there is not overly much to do in Guilin itself)

Disliked: They managed to mess up our Longji tour reservation, but found an alternative to go on our own (and cheaper) the next morning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Lipman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels in China! The staff was super helpful with everything, even taking me to the bus station to make sure I found my bus! The hostel has everything you need: Internet, a good bar, a great atmosphere and it is easy to find and get to from the train station. If you are goin to Guilin why would you stay anywhere else?

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, working in a clean comfortable and well equipped hostel.

Disliked: There was not an obvious smoke alarm in my room, though it could have been that I wasn't looking hard enough. Since there wasn't a fire when I was there I can't say for sure.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff that also spoke good enough English to help us with our travel plans; good food for reasonable prices

Disliked: wifi was not accessible in our room; had to sit outside or in bar area; hard beds, but that's the norm for China!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself has a nice garden, beds are OK and staff were really nice.

Disliked: It's location was a bit tough to find, not very obvious and directions to it aren't the best. It could've been cleaner and the prices for food and drink were a bit steep.


See all Guilin hostels