We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

96.3% Overall Rating

377 out of 389 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"The rooms were nice, it was easy to get around Guilin from here. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.75
  • Breakfast USD 3.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Guilin Travelling With Hostel
5.47 USD

Hostel 90.7% 124 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.35 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.85 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
15.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
46.89 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
6.25 USD

Hostel 76.1% 235 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
6.25 USD

Hostel 88.6% 32 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.25 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

377 out of 389 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 364 of 385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff generally speaks good English and is very helpful with regards to giving advice on possible tours. They are very well informed about entrance fees, bus connections and the like and the atmosphere in the lounge is great!

Disliked: Bath is not as clean as it could be.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Meliksetyan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the train and main bus station, making it easy to get to places.

Disliked: It was always extremely hot in the hostel. I understand we are in the south, but so are other cities that we visited, and they managed to provide a comfortable stay. With every service that was booked through the hostel (i.e. taxi to the airport, and tour to the Li River), there were always unexpected surprises (e.g. being passed down between several tour guides to get to one place, taxi driver taking detours to validate her license plate to go through the toll gate).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere Friendly staff

Disliked: expensive food: breakfast is not cheap!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Allum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was fine, but the main attraction of this hostel is the communal area. Nice DVD area, sofas to relax on, pool table, Nintendo Wii. The hostel also arranged the tours up the River Li and to the rice paddies, which made our sightseeing nice and easy. Generally a thumbs up for this hostel!

Disliked: The shower head was broken and the towels provided were a bit old, however we didn't complain about either so management may well have changed both if we'd asked. The location is just okay - it's a 10 minute walk to the station (a little bit further than the couple of hundred metres shown on the map).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wijnand Laan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Wijnand would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and friendly, nice food, lots of DVDs and even a WII and a pooltable for free use. Does nice tours too, rooms are pretty cheap and decent.

Disliked: A little bit out of the centre of the town and they ask 10 yuan for a small beer :-(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wada staff are all great, very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the laidback atmosphere in the hostel as well as the good facilities on offer (DVD players in the room, nice bar and restaurant, washing machine etc.). The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The Friday night bbq was good fun and excellent value too!

Disliked: Location wasn't ideal as a little bit far away from good restaurants if you want to eat out. However taxis are dirt cheap and the Wada girls will advise on how to get anywhere you want!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Barahona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: cool atmosphere, very nice place with enough space to chill, lots of games, a movie room, pool table and very friendly staff. Joy picked us up at the train station and she was lovely and very nice.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kurt Thiele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and spoke very good english. Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Mosquitos ate my arms alive while I slept.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the staff particularly is simply amazing!

Disliked: honestly nothing. This is one of the best hostel in China!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are fantastic! Great value for money. DVD room and gaming room is a real treat. Shopping mall over the road has great shopping and plenty of cheap eats around.

Disliked: No table tennis table :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharifah Radhiah

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Sharifah would recommend this property

Liked: Very hospitable staff, helpful and easy-going. The place was clean and inviting.

Disliked: NIL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merijn Veltkamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Merijn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how nice and helpful the staff was and the dog Simba is really cute!

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vania Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Vania would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in a few places where no one was able to speak english, the arrival to Wada was a relief! great staff, extremely helpful and with great humor!

Disliked: The toilet sink was leaking a bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was at home. There are places to be alone and others to have fun with people.

Disliked: nothing, you should go there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Snart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: A very communal hostel that is efficiently run, the tours are well priced and it is very easy to navigate due to the helpful staff

Disliked: Being sent to bed by the reception a 2am (naughty school kid style) but aside not quite being 24 hours there were no problems

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They arranged an airport pick up, which was great because I arrived so late at night. They were very helpful about helping me plan onward travel and the room was quiet and clean.

Disliked: Not that it could be helped - but I had a room mate in the dorm who stayed on skype all night talking. The hostel arranged a raft trip on the river Li to Xingping and assured me that the views in the rain would still be worthwhile seeing.....this was not exactly true - the rain was so heavy that I mostly saw white mist and the boat trip which should have been over 2 hours was only an hour - and we were dropped off half way and transferred to a bus. Very disappointing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, friendly, helpful and english speaking staff, Good value for money, clean and inviting, nice small outdoor place to chill, wifi in the rooms as well

Disliked: there is nothing to actually dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap! Near supermarket, shopping mall, easy to get to bus and train stations. Good beds, lots of DVDs, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Food and beverages at the hostel bar are overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there one night transfering from Guilin Airport to Yongshuo and the location was convenient as the bus station is easily reachable by public bus. For exploring Guilin, I'm not sure their location is as convenient... The staff was particulary sympathic.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, comfy bed. Excellent wifi everywhere. Good food and helpful staff. Relaxed and chilled vibe.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Johnson

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Was OK... pretty average hostel really. Nothing to love but nothing horrible about the place.

Disliked: Was supposed to meet us at train station. Couldn't find them, but apparently they were there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: location close to railway station but far away to the city attractions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, good food, nice place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, honest, and helpful staff. The common areas and the rooms are clean and nicely renovated. Great value for money, and definitely recommended.

Disliked: There isn't really anything to dislike. The location may be a bit far from the central downtown area, but taxis are plentiful and are relatively cheap and fast, so it isn't a big problem.


See all Guilin hostels