HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.0% Overall Rating

361 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"It was amazing. Such a nice base, you wanted to go back in the evenings and chill out. Food was good and reasonably priced. Tours were good, and not pushed upon you. Rooms were functional and spacious. And the staff…"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.47
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.81 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
17.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.66 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

361 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 348 of 369 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Livia Bridgman Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super helpful, arranging trips and writing things in chinese for you and giving general honest advice about what to see and do around the city. the location is perfect if you are arriving late from a train/bus journey:24hr reception and only 2mins taxi from the station (about 10-15mins walk with luggage).

Disliked: It's a little further out of town than most hostels, but well connected on bus routes so that doesn't affect you at all. for a smoker, the no smoking anywhere inside (with no seated covered outdoor area for cigarettes mid thunderstorms) is a bit annoying; no doubt there are many who find this a blessing though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Cooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The ladies behind the counter will go to great lengths to make sure you are not only comfortable but having a great time in Guilin. I booked 2 nights and ended up having to stay 5 because of banking problems. They not only understood this, but offered to allow me to pay later if need be, showed me where I could find banks at, and so much more. I was traveling for two weeks across the South of China, and because of the staff at Wada it was the best hostel, city, and stop for me.

Disliked: If I could name something I would. I can't. If you don't like traveling with peace of mind or staying where you know you'll have a good time, Wada is not for you. If you do like these things plus help at every turn, Wada is for you!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jose eliseo jimenez baroja

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 jose eliseo would recommend this property

Liked: The girl in the desk is really really helpfull and beautifull ;)

Disliked: close to the station but far from the city center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is a nice hostel, with very good facilities/amenities and really great food in the kitchen. The beds are reasonably soft (VERY rare in China) and there was always good water pressure and hot water.

Disliked: I would say the staff was 50/50 helpful, a lot of the time they felt a little like they were either overworked or annoyed by you, and not all of them spoke English that well. Also I don't know if this will be good or bad for you, but we were calling this place 'cracker central'. ;)The bad thing about this hostel, I think, is the location. Its NOT really walking distance to the train or bus station, and there's no other reason to stay in that crappy part of town. In general I'd say skip Guilin altogether, its just gross when compared to lovely Yangshuo. :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Clean and modern facilities. No smoking inside the building but a nice courtyard for us smokers.

Disliked: Food was not great and a little bit expensive. Internet access slow and wifi only available in the communal area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamsaveni Vigneswararao

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Hamsaveni would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and facilities were adequate. Good place to stay. Cheerful atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing. Everything was good =)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 100 % ,I recomend ,individual ,family ,-it is like home

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola King

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere English speaking hosts Good value and good size rooms

Disliked: Food is not brilliant from the hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cafe, free wi fi at the lobby area, the bar and the reception which tried to give travellers all the info they need, including which bus to take to the sights and write places down in Mandarin so that it's easy to get around

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff generally speaks good English and is very helpful with regards to giving advice on possible tours. They are very well informed about entrance fees, bus connections and the like and the atmosphere in the lounge is great!

Disliked: Bath is not as clean as it could be.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Meliksetyan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the train and main bus station, making it easy to get to places.

Disliked: It was always extremely hot in the hostel. I understand we are in the south, but so are other cities that we visited, and they managed to provide a comfortable stay. With every service that was booked through the hostel (i.e. taxi to the airport, and tour to the Li River), there were always unexpected surprises (e.g. being passed down between several tour guides to get to one place, taxi driver taking detours to validate her license plate to go through the toll gate).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere Friendly staff

Disliked: expensive food: breakfast is not cheap!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Allum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was fine, but the main attraction of this hostel is the communal area. Nice DVD area, sofas to relax on, pool table, Nintendo Wii. The hostel also arranged the tours up the River Li and to the rice paddies, which made our sightseeing nice and easy. Generally a thumbs up for this hostel!

Disliked: The shower head was broken and the towels provided were a bit old, however we didn't complain about either so management may well have changed both if we'd asked. The location is just okay - it's a 10 minute walk to the station (a little bit further than the couple of hundred metres shown on the map).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wijnand Laan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Wijnand would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and friendly, nice food, lots of DVDs and even a WII and a pooltable for free use. Does nice tours too, rooms are pretty cheap and decent.

Disliked: A little bit out of the centre of the town and they ask 10 yuan for a small beer :-(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wada staff are all great, very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the laidback atmosphere in the hostel as well as the good facilities on offer (DVD players in the room, nice bar and restaurant, washing machine etc.). The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The Friday night bbq was good fun and excellent value too!

Disliked: Location wasn't ideal as a little bit far away from good restaurants if you want to eat out. However taxis are dirt cheap and the Wada girls will advise on how to get anywhere you want!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Barahona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: cool atmosphere, very nice place with enough space to chill, lots of games, a movie room, pool table and very friendly staff. Joy picked us up at the train station and she was lovely and very nice.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kurt Thiele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and spoke very good english. Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Mosquitos ate my arms alive while I slept.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the staff particularly is simply amazing!

Disliked: honestly nothing. This is one of the best hostel in China!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are fantastic! Great value for money. DVD room and gaming room is a real treat. Shopping mall over the road has great shopping and plenty of cheap eats around.

Disliked: No table tennis table :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharifah Radhiah

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Sharifah would recommend this property

Liked: Very hospitable staff, helpful and easy-going. The place was clean and inviting.

Disliked: NIL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merijn Veltkamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Merijn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how nice and helpful the staff was and the dog Simba is really cute!

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vania Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Vania would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in a few places where no one was able to speak english, the arrival to Wada was a relief! great staff, extremely helpful and with great humor!

Disliked: The toilet sink was leaking a bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was at home. There are places to be alone and others to have fun with people.

Disliked: nothing, you should go there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Snart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: A very communal hostel that is efficiently run, the tours are well priced and it is very easy to navigate due to the helpful staff

Disliked: Being sent to bed by the reception a 2am (naughty school kid style) but aside not quite being 24 hours there were no problems


See all Guilin hostels