We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

96.2% Overall Rating

376 out of 388 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"The rooms were nice, it was easy to get around Guilin from here. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.70
  • Breakfast USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Guilin Travelling With Hostel
5.45 USD

Hostel 90.7% 124 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.31 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.82 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
15.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
46.76 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
6.23 USD

Hostel 76.1% 235 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
6.23 USD

Hostel 88.6% 32 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.23 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

376 out of 388 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 384 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Mechelmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best. Due to works the laundry was free, breakfast half price. Staff was very friendly, and so much more

Disliked: All was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean johnston

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2011 sean would recommend this property

Liked: great staff .. correction amazing staff would do anything to help you, great beds and great bar area and all that. great location ...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andras Jancsi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Andras would recommend this property

Liked: The bus station is near to the hostel (Yangshou).

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport shuttle bus, very helpful staff, close to big shopping center - in my opinion its better than city center because its not so interesting.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be better, no lockers in room, room is relatively small(4beded), noisy in night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Poli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The location is nice, not too close to the center (too many tourists there), you can enjoy more some real chinese streets. Don't miss the ice-cream seller ! The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Bikes aren't that good. Need more computers !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest I've stayed in, but offered no less than anyother. Staff spoke really good English. Excellent directions to the hostel, even though initially signs are in Chinese, it was still no problem.

Disliked: Nothing, but if you are not keen on big dogs, the dog does go freely. But doesn't really have a huge interest in people! Well, unless you have food!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful people, good common room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Sobota

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 October 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a pleasure to stay at. The room was large and clean, and the building well maintained and welcoming. The staff are very knowledgable and eager to help out guests. The big dog, simba, was a perk to our night. The bar inside of the hostel is very reasonable and there are some great activities open to guests (pool table, wii, DVDs, board games) It was a pleasure.

Disliked: Being so close to the train station has it's perks (transport) but also means that the train can be quite loud at night. This wouldnt stop me from going back. We also had trouble logging in to gmail accounts on both our personal devices and the provided desktop computers. This may have been to do with the local Internet service provider or a router blockage. Either way- worth noting for those of us dependent on our gmail.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Scheper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: it was amazing, they were very helpfull. they even get to yangshuo for us to get some clothes we've forgotten!!

Disliked: there is nothing to complain about

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mai Dinh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Mai would recommend this property

Liked: It's really does have character. The staff were very helpfull and the drop off at the airport was arranged perfectly.

Disliked: It's a bit out of the center. But for the rest everything was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff speak good English, great service and the room was clean.

Disliked: No English CCTV

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean. Stuffs are nice

Disliked: The atmosphere is a bit dull

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin double room and it was very spacious. The bathroom was okay-sized and everything was clean. Also, the staff was very friendly and helped us with writing down addresses in Chinese and even calling us when we were out late to check if we were alright.

Disliked: It's a little outside of the city centre. It's fine if you don't plan to see much of the city anyway. Otherwise you can quite easily catch a bus/taxi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Livia Bridgman Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super helpful, arranging trips and writing things in chinese for you and giving general honest advice about what to see and do around the city. the location is perfect if you are arriving late from a train/bus journey:24hr reception and only 2mins taxi from the station (about 10-15mins walk with luggage).

Disliked: It's a little further out of town than most hostels, but well connected on bus routes so that doesn't affect you at all. for a smoker, the no smoking anywhere inside (with no seated covered outdoor area for cigarettes mid thunderstorms) is a bit annoying; no doubt there are many who find this a blessing though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Cooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The ladies behind the counter will go to great lengths to make sure you are not only comfortable but having a great time in Guilin. I booked 2 nights and ended up having to stay 5 because of banking problems. They not only understood this, but offered to allow me to pay later if need be, showed me where I could find banks at, and so much more. I was traveling for two weeks across the South of China, and because of the staff at Wada it was the best hostel, city, and stop for me.

Disliked: If I could name something I would. I can't. If you don't like traveling with peace of mind or staying where you know you'll have a good time, Wada is not for you. If you do like these things plus help at every turn, Wada is for you!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jose eliseo jimenez baroja

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 jose eliseo would recommend this property

Liked: The girl in the desk is really really helpfull and beautifull ;)

Disliked: close to the station but far from the city center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is a nice hostel, with very good facilities/amenities and really great food in the kitchen. The beds are reasonably soft (VERY rare in China) and there was always good water pressure and hot water.

Disliked: I would say the staff was 50/50 helpful, a lot of the time they felt a little like they were either overworked or annoyed by you, and not all of them spoke English that well. Also I don't know if this will be good or bad for you, but we were calling this place 'cracker central'. ;)The bad thing about this hostel, I think, is the location. Its NOT really walking distance to the train or bus station, and there's no other reason to stay in that crappy part of town. In general I'd say skip Guilin altogether, its just gross when compared to lovely Yangshuo. :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Clean and modern facilities. No smoking inside the building but a nice courtyard for us smokers.

Disliked: Food was not great and a little bit expensive. Internet access slow and wifi only available in the communal area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamsaveni Vigneswararao

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Hamsaveni would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and facilities were adequate. Good place to stay. Cheerful atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing. Everything was good =)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 100 % ,I recomend ,individual ,family ,-it is like home

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola King

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere English speaking hosts Good value and good size rooms

Disliked: Food is not brilliant from the hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cafe, free wi fi at the lobby area, the bar and the reception which tried to give travellers all the info they need, including which bus to take to the sights and write places down in Mandarin so that it's easy to get around

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff generally speaks good English and is very helpful with regards to giving advice on possible tours. They are very well informed about entrance fees, bus connections and the like and the atmosphere in the lounge is great!

Disliked: Bath is not as clean as it could be.


See all Guilin hostels