HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.5% Overall Rating

358 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Faye Woodhead thinks…

"Small dorms, clean bedding, clean bathrooms, good air con, curtains around the beds in some rooms. A seas to Facebook and YouTube."

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.46
  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.81 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 89.5% 104 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
17.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.65 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.5%

Overall Rating

358 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really great! For so many reasons: the staff are really friendly; they have nice rooms with heated beds during winter and your own lockers; they have a pretty cool common area to hang out (with a bar, pool table, heater, reading room etc); and they have fun activities! I was there over New Year's and New Year's Eve coincided with their weekly dumpling making party, so it was very memorable to join everyone else in making and eating dumplings and to celebrate the New Year. But even if it wasn't a special day, I'm very sure staying there would be nice too.

Disliked: Wifi is only available in the common areas, so if you need to use the Internet to skype or work or just to have your own quiet time, it's not possible to do so in the comfort of your bed. But I think it's a commendable practice to get the guests to mingle in the common areas!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hani Chelly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Hani would recommend this property

Liked: everything! lovely nice ladies working in the reception. will help you with everything you want and need.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Susman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The people! The Wada girls are all great! Many people who are staying there are also quite friendly.

Disliked: Some of the directions we were given were a little vague.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja vestergaard jørgensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 maja vestergaard would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and cosy place with a good common-area with outdoor chilling places. the staff was amazing and helpfull always smiling and chatting. the helped us book bustickes and tours. The first with a motorized bambooboat was ok - the scenary for the boattour is amazing but the guide was a "pain in the ass" trying to sell us other tours and talking constantly on the 1 hour bustrip... The next trip; a wholeday in the rice terraces was a thousand times better! It was a "private" tour arranged for only hostel guests and we were 7 people who got driven up to the rice terraces (took 1.5 hour - up and down hills) and then we had 5 hours all alone to walk around in the terrances and then got picked up by the driver again. it was so peacefull and wonderfull - the location we where at was not so turisted so we could walk for our selves - amazing..

Disliked: NOTING,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maz Arifa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Maz would recommend this property

Liked: The warm hospitality, helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Internet connection are limited, not available in the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zeynep Erdal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Zeynep would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful crew

Disliked: Zeynep left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

enrique gonzalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas, good facilities as internet,bikes rental, and fair prices for breakfast- food-drinks and very very hepful staff.

Disliked: Just showers haven't courtins ,so the hole bathroom gets weet after somebody showers...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abi Grogan

Alone

Business / conference

12 November 2012 Abi would recommend this property

Liked: Big, open, spacious communal area. Face book and twitter access. Comfy beds and ensuites in dorms.

Disliked: Breakfast quite expensive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, nice and big community area (indoor and outdoor), nice rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Otto Hui

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Otto would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very convenient, close to the Guilin train/bus station, within walking distance. Nice chilled same area with good music.

Disliked: Nothing really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location closeby top the train station + cheap bus directly to the centre in 10 minutes, with buses every few minutes, or even seconds! Also nice common areas, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Lack of noise insulation as for may backpacker hostels. But as I was on the ground floor, I hear everyone passing in the morning. Luckily, it was not too busy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cristina torres da silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area.... Walking distance to the bus/train staion.... Bus number 10 takes you every where. The staff are amazing..... Great brekky and dinner options.... Easy to organize tours.....

Disliked: nothing....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sasha Verma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: effecient staff near to railway and bus station

Disliked: nearness to train station also means anoisy congested street front

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Patterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel is the friendly and extremely helpful staff. I like that all the dorm rooms are small (4 beds) and that they have private bathrooms so you are only sharing with 3 other people. The Wifi is pretty good, and you can get on Facebook which is cool. There's also a fantastic huge farmer's market right near the hostel.

Disliked: Lots of mosquitoes got in our room somehow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Wowchuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to train station, a lovely beer garden which is a great place to meet other travellers. The Friday BBQ is great too!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, the staff are super nice, there's the number 10 bus outside incase you don't want to walk and there are computers that work on the WORLD wide net!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Gilhespy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff went out of thier way to be friendly and helpful. Great communal area where hostellers and staff could socialise. Great food available. They organised events on some evenings. Good bike hire.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefan Mosig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: ... face book ... friendly and very helpful staff, free bike, nice garden, good breakfast! Te Wada is a recommendation!

Disliked: ??? The location is not the center but (!) all places are easy to reach by bike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, very friendly stuff, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie spurgeon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2012 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Lets start with the directions....they were easy to follow which mean't after a long train ride, i got to the hostel with no fuss. Upon arriving i was greeted by a happy member of staff at the reception, her English was very good and we shared a few jokes along with the usual travel banter. The check in was simple and i was then shown to my dorm by another member of staff. The dorm was clean and spacious and the en-suite shower room was very good also. I liked the bed and the air con was great for the somewhat 'sticky' Guilin weather. Later i was ready to start my exploration of the city and it's sites, back to the reception where i got all the information i needed of how to get to these places, prices and other things i may enjoy around the city. The dumpling making party was a huge success, everyone mingling and having fun, the staff were also brilliant to hang out with and know how to enjoy themselves. I could go on for longer but my conclusion is this: If you're going to Guilin, save time and effort searching hostels and just stay here, you will not be disappointed! Great job WADA!!!

Disliked: jamie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - staff was very friendly and helpful, nice place to hang around

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. They kept our things safe and were always willing to help anyone at any time.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Timothy Randall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: I GOT A BTTOM BUNK

Disliked: THE BEER WAS OVERPRICED

The property's response is...


See all Guilin hostels