HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

96.9% Overall Rating

366 out of 378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

ian casson thinks…

"The hostel had good atmosphere and is a good place to meet people. It was clean and secure. The staff speak very good and Engish and are super helpful and are cool and funny also:-)"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.46
  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.81 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.66 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 87.3% 27 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.9%

Overall Rating

366 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 353 of 374 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging tours etc. Excellent location, the directions given from the station were so clear even I managed not to get lost.

Disliked: I had a phone and towel go 'missing' from the room. They weren't worth much and I suspect someone probably took them by mistake rather than intending to steal them, but it's the first time I've ever had anything taken from a dorm so I was a bit annoyed about it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely food. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not bing able to do laundry til after 5pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff with good English. They are flexible with booking cancellations if told the night before, and offer lots of activities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ewelina Lipska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpfull and nice staff.

Disliked: snails in the garden. gross.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a dorm room. Each bed has a dedicated locker. Wrap around curtains for the beds allow privacy. Hot showers. Large common areas conducive to meeting people. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Whoever makes the food does a fantastic job, meals well above the standard of normal hostels.

Disliked: Internet was good but wifi only available in common areas. Don't appreciate being sent an email which states "We do wish you have an open-mind and rate us a perfect 100%" amongst other sentences to try and influence a good score. Ratings on Hostelbookers should be based on quality not coercion. Nevertheless the hostel clearly deserves its high rating.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly-Rose Kloester

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013

Liked: It was a very backpacker-y hostel. The atmosphere and design, particularly of the common areas are nice.

Disliked: I had to leave at 6 am in the morning and asked reception to book a taxi for me, which they did. But, they failed to mention that reception would be closed at that time, the exit would be locked and that I had to pay the hostel for the taxi instead of paying the taxi company. Also, the facilities are quite basic and need some fixing. The hot water was at best tepid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume Ruel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are just awesome. With flight delays, I arrived at about 1h00 am and there was smiling staff waiting for me. As I forgot my medication in another city, the staff girls make a lot of work and gets out of their ways to ensure that my meds arrived in time in Guilin. Also, I made Guilin my base of operation for going to Hangshuo and Longsheng Rice Terrace. The fact that they can store securely your big backpack while you travel and hike lightly for a day or two in the rice terrace is really nice. Overall, I cant think there is a best place in Guilin.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff and good environment.

Disliked: WIFI is not covered in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus stop although set back of main street so can be a bit tricky to find. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful with planning any tours and helping with taxis/buses etc. Good food reasonably priced. Wifi good in communal areas. Nice communal areas inside and out. As we only had one day we did their tour to rice terraces which was ok.

Disliked: Wifi does not work well in bedroom but good connnection in communal area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Caldicott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is a great hostel and one of the friendliest I've stayed in. The staff go out of their way to help you and everyone is friendly which is good when you want to meet people. They helped me organise trips to the rice terraces with two other people I met there and a boat trip up the Li River. The food there is good value for money and the rooms are comfortable. They also have Internet access to Facebook which is a big plus in China!

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little rough around the edges and could have been a bit cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is perfect. The staff are very friendly and it has a great atmosphere. It is a bit of a way from the town centre, but Guilin itself isn't that great. The hostel have loads of travel tours on offer and the staff are incredibly helpful. The food there is great and at a good price (make sure you check if it's spicy or not, as we ordered one dish and it just about blew our faces off as it was that spicy!). It was a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan de Wet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing, very helpful! The coffee is really good quality but a little expensive. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The atmosphere is really good with a really good size comunal area. HIGHLY RECCOMEND WADA!

Disliked: The common area was very hot, needs more fans or ventitlation. The washing machine was really new and good, but, we had to wait until 3pm to wash anything as the hostel was using them for sheets and the cleaner moved any of our washing that was on the line to put up sheets so our things didnt dry. A seperate area for the guests washing would be a great idea.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great fun, lovely place and cheap!!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at.They have a super friendly and helpful staff. The place was fairly clean, no major complaints. All and all, great place, great price. If your in Guilin, stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostels were really friendly and helpful. there was one female staff helped us getting a cab from the hostel to the train station in the rain! and they really can speak english. would totally recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: none noted.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location, AMAZING food. I live in China for 8 months now and it's great to have some real good/cheap western food again. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Middleton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean and roomy and the staff excellent. They provide support tp their guests even after the stay has been completed. I was so pleased that I chose to return for a night on the way home.

Disliked: No hand rails on the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere--best hostel in China!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LUCIE PLACE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 LUCIE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful to help you with anything. The lounge is very quiet and weel decorated, it's relaxing!

Disliked: The hot was not working in our room and toilet was leaking, but that's just small issues, nothing to worry about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good rooms, English-speaking staff, fantastic water pressure in the shower

Disliked: would have liked Wi-Fi in the room, it was only available in the lobby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sekar Wijayawati

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Sekar would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs, they speak English very well, helpful and attentive.They explained about bus route and arranged tours as well. The hotel location is perfect, easy to find and close to mall. They offer western and Asian foods with big portion and very reasonable price. The room is clean and well maintain. The blanket is very comfort and smell good.the toilet is clean, the shower and hot water works properly. Even you have lazy day to go out, they have good facilities such as movie room,reading room and pool

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good room with fantastic shower, convenient location

Disliked: i would have liked to have Wi-Fi in the room, but it was available in the lobby and was quite fast, so it wasn't a big problem

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and comfortable room, staff was helpful

Disliked: only hairdryer for all guests to use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The food they had on offer was delicious, with generous portion sizes. They have a massive range of movies to choose from should you have some downtime, as well as great wifi. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with a very high level of English.

Disliked: Can be loud at night if people remain in the courtyard.


See all Guilin hostels