We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.0% Overall Rating

370 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Brooke MacGorman thinks…

"This hostel has a really awesome vibe. There's a lot of common space for travelers to hang out in and interact. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and practical…"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.8% 117 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.83 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.73 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
4.22 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.4% 29 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

370 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 357 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay! Again! :-) I really love this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, plenty of free purified water

Disliked: a bit too far away from the city center and sights to walk, but there is a bus stop nearby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Lawrence

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Handy to train station . Nice common area and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Staff is helpful (manager is very friendly and helpful, comprehensive etc) Location Good tours

Disliked: Food and drinks are a little bit expensive at the hostel's restaurant (and not so much restaurant neir the hostel) Attention: ask for the drink's recipe before order because they don't have the same as others countries like we ask for " daiquiri" and they gave us "marguarita" and when we ask if ir was realy our order they said that daiquiri is made with gin... But the manager so cool that she let us made our real cocktail!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging tours etc. Excellent location, the directions given from the station were so clear even I managed not to get lost.

Disliked: I had a phone and towel go 'missing' from the room. They weren't worth much and I suspect someone probably took them by mistake rather than intending to steal them, but it's the first time I've ever had anything taken from a dorm so I was a bit annoyed about it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely food. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not bing able to do laundry til after 5pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff with good English. They are flexible with booking cancellations if told the night before, and offer lots of activities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ewelina Lipska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpfull and nice staff.

Disliked: snails in the garden. gross.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a dorm room. Each bed has a dedicated locker. Wrap around curtains for the beds allow privacy. Hot showers. Large common areas conducive to meeting people. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Whoever makes the food does a fantastic job, meals well above the standard of normal hostels.

Disliked: Internet was good but wifi only available in common areas. Don't appreciate being sent an email which states "We do wish you have an open-mind and rate us a perfect 100%" amongst other sentences to try and influence a good score. Ratings on Hostelbookers should be based on quality not coercion. Nevertheless the hostel clearly deserves its high rating.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly-Rose Kloester

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013

Liked: It was a very backpacker-y hostel. The atmosphere and design, particularly of the common areas are nice.

Disliked: I had to leave at 6 am in the morning and asked reception to book a taxi for me, which they did. But, they failed to mention that reception would be closed at that time, the exit would be locked and that I had to pay the hostel for the taxi instead of paying the taxi company. Also, the facilities are quite basic and need some fixing. The hot water was at best tepid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume Ruel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are just awesome. With flight delays, I arrived at about 1h00 am and there was smiling staff waiting for me. As I forgot my medication in another city, the staff girls make a lot of work and gets out of their ways to ensure that my meds arrived in time in Guilin. Also, I made Guilin my base of operation for going to Hangshuo and Longsheng Rice Terrace. The fact that they can store securely your big backpack while you travel and hike lightly for a day or two in the rice terrace is really nice. Overall, I cant think there is a best place in Guilin.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff and good environment.

Disliked: WIFI is not covered in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus stop although set back of main street so can be a bit tricky to find. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful with planning any tours and helping with taxis/buses etc. Good food reasonably priced. Wifi good in communal areas. Nice communal areas inside and out. As we only had one day we did their tour to rice terraces which was ok.

Disliked: Wifi does not work well in bedroom but good connnection in communal area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Caldicott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is a great hostel and one of the friendliest I've stayed in. The staff go out of their way to help you and everyone is friendly which is good when you want to meet people. They helped me organise trips to the rice terraces with two other people I met there and a boat trip up the Li River. The food there is good value for money and the rooms are comfortable. They also have Internet access to Facebook which is a big plus in China!

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little rough around the edges and could have been a bit cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Wada is perfect. The staff are very friendly and it has a great atmosphere. It is a bit of a way from the town centre, but Guilin itself isn't that great. The hostel have loads of travel tours on offer and the staff are incredibly helpful. The food there is great and at a good price (make sure you check if it's spicy or not, as we ordered one dish and it just about blew our faces off as it was that spicy!). It was a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan de Wet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing, very helpful! The coffee is really good quality but a little expensive. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The atmosphere is really good with a really good size comunal area. HIGHLY RECCOMEND WADA!

Disliked: The common area was very hot, needs more fans or ventitlation. The washing machine was really new and good, but, we had to wait until 3pm to wash anything as the hostel was using them for sheets and the cleaner moved any of our washing that was on the line to put up sheets so our things didnt dry. A seperate area for the guests washing would be a great idea.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great fun, lovely place and cheap!!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at.They have a super friendly and helpful staff. The place was fairly clean, no major complaints. All and all, great place, great price. If your in Guilin, stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostels were really friendly and helpful. there was one female staff helped us getting a cab from the hostel to the train station in the rain! and they really can speak english. would totally recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: none noted.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location, AMAZING food. I live in China for 8 months now and it's great to have some real good/cheap western food again. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Middleton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean and roomy and the staff excellent. They provide support tp their guests even after the stay has been completed. I was so pleased that I chose to return for a night on the way home.

Disliked: No hand rails on the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere--best hostel in China!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LUCIE PLACE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 LUCIE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful to help you with anything. The lounge is very quiet and weel decorated, it's relaxing!

Disliked: The hot was not working in our room and toilet was leaking, but that's just small issues, nothing to worry about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good rooms, English-speaking staff, fantastic water pressure in the shower

Disliked: would have liked Wi-Fi in the room, it was only available in the lobby


See all Guilin hostels