HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.1% Overall Rating

356 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Aimee White thinks…

"The directions they gave me from the train station to the hostel were easy to follow and correct- not something that happens with every hostel I've stayed at! I felt very safe here as it was in a…"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.48
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
11.20 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.74 USD

Hostel 89.5% 104 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
17.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.69 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

356 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 343 of 364 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge/restaurant area. Great set up.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aida Karamesic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in China!!!! Location is perfect-near airport shuttle bus, near bus stations from where you take buses to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces and Yangshuo, walking distance to train station, and across the road from the biggest supermarket. Great beds, clean bathrooms, good food, very helpful and nice stuff (many of them working so somebody can always help). Big common areas and away from bedrooms. I would stay here again!! Even if I do not go anywhere else, just stay in hostel, it would be fun.

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We stayed for a hole week and we felt very comfortable. Many Services were for free as like laundry, hairdryer, scans, touristical informations. The ladys were always welcoming and helpful. There was no Problem you couldn't share and solve with them. They offer many diferent breakfasts and other dishes. There is a pleasant bamboo graden to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Bycicle rent is a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Wheatley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic experience at Wada hostel. They keep the rooms clean, they have good tours (the rice terrace trip was outstanding), and all the staff members tried to remember every guest's name.

Disliked: If you only have one day to go on a rice terrace trip, you're not guarunteed to go. There are several things to do and see in Guilin, so visit with some flexibility for the rice terrace trip and enjoy seeing other things in the city!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Cox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the hostel itself (although small) is cosy and warm.

Disliked: The food menu offers a range of western food although many of the dishes weren't as good as one would hope. Also the drinks and tours that the hostel offers are a bit over priced. (A beer will cost you 15 rmb whereas many other hostels will only set you back between 6 and 10). Other than the price of food and drinks in the bar area, this is a great hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place, friendly and cosy. Free pool table is cool, there's a great common area, very easy to meet other travellers. They run dumpling parties, another great way to get chatting. DVD room is comfortable, beer is cheap, great reading room. Staff are fantastic, the girls behind the counter are the friendliest in China. Very clean, the beds are huge, nice place all round, highly recommended.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, but its everywhere in the bar, so really not a problem. Also the location probably isn't the best, a 10 minute bus ride into the centre. But the number 10 bus stops almost right outside, very easy to use, only 1 Yuan a go. So again, not a massive problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lui Ka Wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Lui would recommend this property

Liked: Stuffs are helpful and nice. They provided very good guidance to me during my whole trip. Breakfast is delicious. Environment is clean and beautiful. The location of the youth hostel is convenient as the hostel is near the train station and the bus station in Guilin.

Disliked: there are some mosquito inside the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, staff was amazing and spoke amazing English, was very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are nice and friendly.

Disliked: no wifi at room,no air conditioner outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ondrej Ginter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Ondrej would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, friendly and helpful staff. Seriously, the girls were amazing. Also the food (be it western or chinese) was very good and fairly priced as well. There is a pool table, Wii and DVD player with a tons of movies in case you get bored (which is very unlikely). You can also wash your clothes in the washing machines provided for just 10 yuans.

Disliked: No Wifi coverage in the rooms, but thats really a minor setback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay! Again! :-) I really love this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, plenty of free purified water

Disliked: a bit too far away from the city center and sights to walk, but there is a bus stop nearby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Lawrence

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Handy to train station . Nice common area and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Staff is helpful (manager is very friendly and helpful, comprehensive etc) Location Good tours

Disliked: Food and drinks are a little bit expensive at the hostel's restaurant (and not so much restaurant neir the hostel) Attention: ask for the drink's recipe before order because they don't have the same as others countries like we ask for " daiquiri" and they gave us "marguarita" and when we ask if ir was realy our order they said that daiquiri is made with gin... But the manager so cool that she let us made our real cocktail!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging tours etc. Excellent location, the directions given from the station were so clear even I managed not to get lost.

Disliked: I had a phone and towel go 'missing' from the room. They weren't worth much and I suspect someone probably took them by mistake rather than intending to steal them, but it's the first time I've ever had anything taken from a dorm so I was a bit annoyed about it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely food. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not bing able to do laundry til after 5pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff with good English. They are flexible with booking cancellations if told the night before, and offer lots of activities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ewelina Lipska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpfull and nice staff.

Disliked: snails in the garden. gross.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a dorm room. Each bed has a dedicated locker. Wrap around curtains for the beds allow privacy. Hot showers. Large common areas conducive to meeting people. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Whoever makes the food does a fantastic job, meals well above the standard of normal hostels.

Disliked: Internet was good but wifi only available in common areas. Don't appreciate being sent an email which states "We do wish you have an open-mind and rate us a perfect 100%" amongst other sentences to try and influence a good score. Ratings on Hostelbookers should be based on quality not coercion. Nevertheless the hostel clearly deserves its high rating.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly-Rose Kloester

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013

Liked: It was a very backpacker-y hostel. The atmosphere and design, particularly of the common areas are nice.

Disliked: I had to leave at 6 am in the morning and asked reception to book a taxi for me, which they did. But, they failed to mention that reception would be closed at that time, the exit would be locked and that I had to pay the hostel for the taxi instead of paying the taxi company. Also, the facilities are quite basic and need some fixing. The hot water was at best tepid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume Ruel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are just awesome. With flight delays, I arrived at about 1h00 am and there was smiling staff waiting for me. As I forgot my medication in another city, the staff girls make a lot of work and gets out of their ways to ensure that my meds arrived in time in Guilin. Also, I made Guilin my base of operation for going to Hangshuo and Longsheng Rice Terrace. The fact that they can store securely your big backpack while you travel and hike lightly for a day or two in the rice terrace is really nice. Overall, I cant think there is a best place in Guilin.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff and good environment.

Disliked: WIFI is not covered in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus stop although set back of main street so can be a bit tricky to find. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful with planning any tours and helping with taxis/buses etc. Good food reasonably priced. Wifi good in communal areas. Nice communal areas inside and out. As we only had one day we did their tour to rice terraces which was ok.

Disliked: Wifi does not work well in bedroom but good connnection in communal area.


See all Guilin hostels