HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.0% Overall Rating

365 out of 377 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

ian casson thinks…

"The hostel had good atmosphere and is a good place to meet people. It was clean and secure. The staff speak very good and Engish and are super helpful and are cool and funny also:-)"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.47
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.81 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.66 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 87.3% 27 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

365 out of 377 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 351 of 372 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Laudenbach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a Hostel, this is like coming home! In the moment you walk through the door you will meet one of the Wada Girls (in our case Monica) and you will feel like amongst friends. The Hostel has everything a Backpacker needs, the food is great and the location is perfect. Also the fact that everybody speaks amazing english is really helpful. I would come back any day because it`s just a fantastic place. Love to WADA!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolas Möhrmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so helpful and friendly. They offer Trips e.g li river boat tour but they also provide any Information You Need if you do it on your own. Location is really good and there is a Great atmosphere at the Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk girls are really helpful, patient, and friendly. The location is pretty good. Really easy to walk to the train station from here. Bus stops right outside of the hostel make it easy to go around the city. The hostel is decorated well and comfortable to chill out in. Loved staying at Wada. I left and went to Yangshuo, and then came back to Guilin and stayed at Wada again! They even left me store my extra baggage in the hostel for 2 days while I left and went to Yangshuo.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Fielding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Wada Hostel - Literally, what a hostel! I don't usually write reviews but I have to say this hostel has definitely earned its high rating. We've been travelling around the world for over a year and this is the most efficient hostel we've stayed in. It's everything a backpacker wants a hostel to be. The Wada girls provide an excellent service. They understand exactly what you want/need and provide it with a smile. Rather than pushing what is best for the hostel they approach things from the customers point of view and understand that sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference. Every member of staff made it their business to know our names. They even knew our food preferences (great food btw) by the second day. We would have stayed here longer but for exhausting everything but the hostel.

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms, not a major issue though as the common area is better to hang out in but for downloading at night etc it's nice to have access from the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ramona Marzloff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely cozy common area, fun Hostel activities, great character and spirit. Won the award for best staff for a reason, they were all adorable, helpful and friendly. Also, the free pickup from the station was much appreciated. First I didn't like the idea of no wifi in the room, but I endet up loving it, since it made me stay in the common area where I met very nice people. Free laundry and facebook is, unlike mst other hostels in china, actually really working.

Disliked: I had a dorm next to the yard which was very convenient but people would be very noisy, even late at night. They should make sure people keep it down after a certain hour. The bathrooms combine shower and toilet and hae no curtain or anything, therefore, unfortunately, if s.o. has a shower in the morning, everyone would make a bit of a mess in the bathroom with their shoes ans stuff and transport this on to the room. Since the ckpleaning ladies come everyday that's not too big a deal, though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is just awesome, excellent atmosphere, the location, despite is not the most beautiful area in Guilin, is very close to a airport shuttle bus stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The Toilets at the thrid floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge/restaurant area. Great set up.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aida Karamesic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in China!!!! Location is perfect-near airport shuttle bus, near bus stations from where you take buses to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces and Yangshuo, walking distance to train station, and across the road from the biggest supermarket. Great beds, clean bathrooms, good food, very helpful and nice stuff (many of them working so somebody can always help). Big common areas and away from bedrooms. I would stay here again!! Even if I do not go anywhere else, just stay in hostel, it would be fun.

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We stayed for a hole week and we felt very comfortable. Many Services were for free as like laundry, hairdryer, scans, touristical informations. The ladys were always welcoming and helpful. There was no Problem you couldn't share and solve with them. They offer many diferent breakfasts and other dishes. There is a pleasant bamboo graden to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Bycicle rent is a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Wheatley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic experience at Wada hostel. They keep the rooms clean, they have good tours (the rice terrace trip was outstanding), and all the staff members tried to remember every guest's name.

Disliked: If you only have one day to go on a rice terrace trip, you're not guarunteed to go. There are several things to do and see in Guilin, so visit with some flexibility for the rice terrace trip and enjoy seeing other things in the city!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Cox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the hostel itself (although small) is cosy and warm.

Disliked: The food menu offers a range of western food although many of the dishes weren't as good as one would hope. Also the drinks and tours that the hostel offers are a bit over priced. (A beer will cost you 15 rmb whereas many other hostels will only set you back between 6 and 10). Other than the price of food and drinks in the bar area, this is a great hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place, friendly and cosy. Free pool table is cool, there's a great common area, very easy to meet other travellers. They run dumpling parties, another great way to get chatting. DVD room is comfortable, beer is cheap, great reading room. Staff are fantastic, the girls behind the counter are the friendliest in China. Very clean, the beds are huge, nice place all round, highly recommended.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, but its everywhere in the bar, so really not a problem. Also the location probably isn't the best, a 10 minute bus ride into the centre. But the number 10 bus stops almost right outside, very easy to use, only 1 Yuan a go. So again, not a massive problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lui Ka Wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Lui would recommend this property

Liked: Stuffs are helpful and nice. They provided very good guidance to me during my whole trip. Breakfast is delicious. Environment is clean and beautiful. The location of the youth hostel is convenient as the hostel is near the train station and the bus station in Guilin.

Disliked: there are some mosquito inside the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, staff was amazing and spoke amazing English, was very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are nice and friendly.

Disliked: no wifi at room,no air conditioner outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ondrej Ginter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Ondrej would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, friendly and helpful staff. Seriously, the girls were amazing. Also the food (be it western or chinese) was very good and fairly priced as well. There is a pool table, Wii and DVD player with a tons of movies in case you get bored (which is very unlikely). You can also wash your clothes in the washing machines provided for just 10 yuans.

Disliked: No Wifi coverage in the rooms, but thats really a minor setback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay! Again! :-) I really love this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, plenty of free purified water

Disliked: a bit too far away from the city center and sights to walk, but there is a bus stop nearby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Lawrence

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Handy to train station . Nice common area and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Staff is helpful (manager is very friendly and helpful, comprehensive etc) Location Good tours

Disliked: Food and drinks are a little bit expensive at the hostel's restaurant (and not so much restaurant neir the hostel) Attention: ask for the drink's recipe before order because they don't have the same as others countries like we ask for " daiquiri" and they gave us "marguarita" and when we ask if ir was realy our order they said that daiquiri is made with gin... But the manager so cool that she let us made our real cocktail!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging tours etc. Excellent location, the directions given from the station were so clear even I managed not to get lost.

Disliked: I had a phone and towel go 'missing' from the room. They weren't worth much and I suspect someone probably took them by mistake rather than intending to steal them, but it's the first time I've ever had anything taken from a dorm so I was a bit annoyed about it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely food. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not bing able to do laundry til after 5pm


See all Guilin hostels