We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

96.3% Overall Rating

377 out of 389 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"The rooms were nice, it was easy to get around Guilin from here. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.84
  • Breakfast USD 3.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Guilin Travelling With Hostel
5.50 USD

Hostel 90.7% 124 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.41 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
9.89 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
15.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
47.11 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 76.1% 235 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
6.28 USD

Hostel 88.6% 32 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

377 out of 389 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 364 of 385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staffs were friendly and helpful. The hostel was in a quiet residential community. Close to a local shopping mall and a hypermarket, walking distance to Guilin train station, convenient in every aspect.

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe. Great staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Yates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 May 2014 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Poulin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: They have access to FACEBOOK! Also the menu in the hostel is amazing and really cheap.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: washing machine free of charge. forgot to make the reservation for the last night.came back in the evening from a day trip and they hadnt removed my stuff. it was no problem at all.very sweet girls!! the enclosed restaurant is very good as well and prices are reasonable.

Disliked: maybe that the wifi in the room was too week for the phone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Tran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful and friendly and speak english super well, I left a bag there when I went off to the rice terraces for a few days and they were happy to store it until I got back. The location is near a shopping centre and the bus stop. It is a bit further out from the main sites but is within walking distance of the train station

Disliked: Found there was lots of mozzies but they provided a plug in the room which I didn't know what it was until I got bitten quite a few times and showed the girls at reception and then they told me what the plug was for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome staff. Very helpfull... Nice location to stay at...definitly a go !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF. This hostel had the BEST staff ever! They were so helpful with everything we asked them about and were so patient as they helped us plan and research the rest of trip which changed multiple times. It is not often hostel staff help you research things and provide advice for over a half hour at one time. Monica was so awesome and deserves a raise! All of the other staff were very helpful as well, but Monica helped us the most. There is also on onsite bar and common area where you can order good food and drinks (not to mention you get a free t-shirt if you drink 12 beers). There are also free laundry machines to do your washing which was super convenient. Heated blankets in the room were also a nice touch during the winter. You can book tours through the front desk which were great (we did the rice paddy one which I would recommend). All in all this was a great hostel in a nice building, with great facilities, services and above all, AMAZING STAFF. I will definitely stay at Wada hostel again if I am ever back in Guilin.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clemens Purrucker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Clemens would recommend this property

Liked: The Wada girls are the best staff I met on 4 continents. Extremely friendly, helpful way beyond the call of duty. Free pool, dumpling party every monday, facebook is working, sociable bar, good food, just a great place. And the BBQ night is another highlight. If you're heading for Guilin, stay there.

Disliked: Clemens left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Heinemeier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, easy to find from the train station, close to the bus station going to Yangshou and even closer to the bus going around town! Movie room and a nice atmosphere in the hang out area. We had a nice and pretty cheap breakfast

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher James Kausch II

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Christopher James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and willing to build rapport with guests. Foreign guests also have ample opportunities to practice their Mandarin Chinese with the staff. Social events like the dumpling dinner on Mondays allow guests to share travels with others quite easily.

Disliked: Although the directions of the hostel were clear from the bus or train station, the hostel is a bit removed from the city center and some of the major attractions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character! A very fun place to stay.

Disliked: A little far from city center, hard to get to. Not something that can really be helped, but was still a hindrance to our time in Guilin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Cranny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great place! A really fun place to stay and meet other travellers. The staff couldnt be friendlier or more helpful. They helped me to book train tickets and arranged really cool day trips. They also have social evenings most nights, dumpling parties etc. I was there for their new year party which was great fun! Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Common areas are fantastic, movie room, library, pool table. This is a great place to base yourself for exploring this area, would definitely reccommend!

Disliked: Nothing:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Laudenbach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a Hostel, this is like coming home! In the moment you walk through the door you will meet one of the Wada Girls (in our case Monica) and you will feel like amongst friends. The Hostel has everything a Backpacker needs, the food is great and the location is perfect. Also the fact that everybody speaks amazing english is really helpful. I would come back any day because it`s just a fantastic place. Love to WADA!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolas Möhrmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so helpful and friendly. They offer Trips e.g li river boat tour but they also provide any Information You Need if you do it on your own. Location is really good and there is a Great atmosphere at the Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk girls are really helpful, patient, and friendly. The location is pretty good. Really easy to walk to the train station from here. Bus stops right outside of the hostel make it easy to go around the city. The hostel is decorated well and comfortable to chill out in. Loved staying at Wada. I left and went to Yangshuo, and then came back to Guilin and stayed at Wada again! They even left me store my extra baggage in the hostel for 2 days while I left and went to Yangshuo.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Fielding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Wada Hostel - Literally, what a hostel! I don't usually write reviews but I have to say this hostel has definitely earned its high rating. We've been travelling around the world for over a year and this is the most efficient hostel we've stayed in. It's everything a backpacker wants a hostel to be. The Wada girls provide an excellent service. They understand exactly what you want/need and provide it with a smile. Rather than pushing what is best for the hostel they approach things from the customers point of view and understand that sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference. Every member of staff made it their business to know our names. They even knew our food preferences (great food btw) by the second day. We would have stayed here longer but for exhausting everything but the hostel.

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms, not a major issue though as the common area is better to hang out in but for downloading at night etc it's nice to have access from the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ramona Marzloff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely cozy common area, fun Hostel activities, great character and spirit. Won the award for best staff for a reason, they were all adorable, helpful and friendly. Also, the free pickup from the station was much appreciated. First I didn't like the idea of no wifi in the room, but I endet up loving it, since it made me stay in the common area where I met very nice people. Free laundry and facebook is, unlike mst other hostels in china, actually really working.

Disliked: I had a dorm next to the yard which was very convenient but people would be very noisy, even late at night. They should make sure people keep it down after a certain hour. The bathrooms combine shower and toilet and hae no curtain or anything, therefore, unfortunately, if s.o. has a shower in the morning, everyone would make a bit of a mess in the bathroom with their shoes ans stuff and transport this on to the room. Since the ckpleaning ladies come everyday that's not too big a deal, though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is just awesome, excellent atmosphere, the location, despite is not the most beautiful area in Guilin, is very close to a airport shuttle bus stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The Toilets at the thrid floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge/restaurant area. Great set up.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aida Karamesic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in China!!!! Location is perfect-near airport shuttle bus, near bus stations from where you take buses to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces and Yangshuo, walking distance to train station, and across the road from the biggest supermarket. Great beds, clean bathrooms, good food, very helpful and nice stuff (many of them working so somebody can always help). Big common areas and away from bedrooms. I would stay here again!! Even if I do not go anywhere else, just stay in hostel, it would be fun.

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We stayed for a hole week and we felt very comfortable. Many Services were for free as like laundry, hairdryer, scans, touristical informations. The ladys were always welcoming and helpful. There was no Problem you couldn't share and solve with them. They offer many diferent breakfasts and other dishes. There is a pleasant bamboo graden to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Bycicle rent is a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Wheatley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic experience at Wada hostel. They keep the rooms clean, they have good tours (the rice terrace trip was outstanding), and all the staff members tried to remember every guest's name.

Disliked: If you only have one day to go on a rice terrace trip, you're not guarunteed to go. There are several things to do and see in Guilin, so visit with some flexibility for the rice terrace trip and enjoy seeing other things in the city!


See all Guilin hostels