We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Wada Hostel in Guilin

Hostel | No.212, Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China 541002

97.0% Overall Rating

370 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Brooke MacGorman thinks…

"This hostel has a really awesome vibe. There's a lot of common space for travelers to hang out in and interact. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and practical…"

Read all Wada Hostel in Guilin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Bookings will need to be cancelled via email by 2pm of the previous day the guest is supposed to arrive. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.?Special condition: During the holidays in 2015 (Feb.17th-25th, Apr. 3rd-5th, May 1st-3rd, June 19th-21th, Sept. 26th-27th, Sept. 30th to Oct. 7th), all room fees are non-refundable. No shows will be charged the full amount of the days booked via the credit card?.Prices online are promotional rates and cannot be combined with any other offer. Walk-ins will be subjected to regular rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Green Forest Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.8% 117 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
12.83 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Riverside Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 90.5% 106 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
16.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
Anne's Appartment
48.73 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
4.22 USD

Hostel 76.0% 234 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.69 USD

Hostel 87.4% 29 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

370 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wada Hostel in Guilin'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 357 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Raffaele Lugli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2010 Raffaele would recommend this property

Liked: street food just across the street on the corner ; )

Disliked: 10 y for a little tsingtao ; (

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

simon Hook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Huge and comfy beds. Nice courtyard to chill-out in.

Disliked: The dorms are pretty tiny - there's not much room for 4 people's bags.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have great and friendly staff. They have clean room and sink inside. The Bad sheet is clean and smells good. Actually this place is quite easy to reach, you should go to Hongkong Hotel and then turn left, right you got the last bust station you'll find Wada Hotel in front of. A bit difficult to ask local people cause they dont speak english and no care with this hostel

Disliked: The bath room in the first floor a bit dirty, my friend said she found a small insect in not. But the bathroom in the second floor is pretty fine with hot and cool water. They also have a space to hang and dry up your laundry too

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely decorated, especially the lounge area, which is a nice place to chillWe also had our own toilet and sink in our dorm room (but no shower)The staff were very helpful

Disliked: not enough showers for the whole hotel no lockers in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked although the room was packed with mosquitoes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so nice. They provided us with an excellent service. They were so very helpful. Not a bad location. good bus service into town. rooms were clean (could have done with a lick of paint but nothing dreadful just a bit run down) beds super comfy and very quiet air conditioning. We had a great time here and on fridays they do a bbq for all the guests. the food was lovely. Had a good time staying here and would recommend to opther travellers.

Disliked: We had a few minor problems eg tv didnt work at first and lock on window was broken which made us feel a little unsecure leaving our belongings but staff coulnt do enough and moved us to a different room whilst they fixed the problem. Overall we had a good stay. Drainage of shower water could have been quicker but nothing major.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEVIN LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 LEVIN would recommend this property

Liked: Right in front of the Botanical Gardens, bus stop right in front, train station not too far away. Nice atmosphere too, like a little enclosure.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, but it was tolerable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Dodd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: It had a nice atmosphere and the beds are big and comfortable.

Disliked: Not a lot of showers (only three) and the price of a beer could have been slighty cheaper.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms very clean & front staff helpful

Disliked: cafe had very average food

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were were very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce setup for common areas and bar. Very easy to find from train station and perfect if you are just overnighting here (e.g. train from Xi'an then heading to Yangshou). It's a good hostel to stay at for longer periods as well but its not as central as you may want (but its not too far out).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and the place is nicely set up. The twin rooms are amazing. Super comfy beds.

Disliked: The 4 bed dorm room is a bit of a hit and miss with a damp smell. When we mentioned about it to the staff (plus the fact that the A/C wasn't working that well) they upgraded us free of charge to the twin room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay on the way to Yangshou. Really comfy room and great hostel.

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancie McKinnon

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010 Nancie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are amazing. They all go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Wada is my favorite hostel in China.

Disliked: They should check the locks on the windows. I think they need to be upgraded.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010

Liked: The common areas were very nice: the bar, the outside area and the atmosphere was nice too. The staff were very nice and helpful, location is ok, but not central, but it's really easy to access by bus.

Disliked: The dorm we were in was not very nice. It seriously needed renovating. Also with the bed I was in, the aircon was blowing directly on me and my friend in the top bunk had it in his ear all night, it made a loud buzzing noise. There is one shower on the same floor, but we have to cross the communal area to get there, and the door doesn't lock and it's dirty. There are 2 more showers up some stairs that are gloomy and also dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susi Briel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010 Susi would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the location in kinda backyard. the staff is unbelievably friendly, relaxed and helpful. the facilities are perfect - clean rooms, nice courtyard, cosy bar and a dvd- and readingroom which makes you feel like home immediately! def the favourite place to stay in guilin!

Disliked: Susi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely amazing; willing to help you every step of the way and speak great English! We used Wada as a base and did day trips to Yangshao and Longsheng with the help of the hostel. They also have awesome breakfast for 20RMB, and lots of food around the hostel as well. Great common areas to relax in and escape the heat/rain (bring an unbrella to Guilin!). Would definately stay agian if I were to come back to Guilin.

Disliked: The hostel is a relatively pleasant 30 min walk out of town, not too bad though - that would be the ONLY downside to this hostel! Loved it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, funny and helpfull staff. Not in the centre but very easy to get there by bike/walking/bus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. Nothing seemed like it was too much trouble.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

christine butler

22 June 2010 christine would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super friendly and so so helpful they even made a few calls for us free of charge to other hostels and helped us book our next accomodation and boat out of china ... lovely bar / lounge area and big rooms

Disliked: christine left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010

Liked: The staff speaks very good english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are alot of mosquitoes when it rains, other than that, the staff are friendly and helpful, and its quite fun to paint your national flag on the cabinet at the reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 June 2010

Liked: There was not much that I could actually put that I liked about this property. The receptionist was terrible. She was rude from the first moment we arrived as she tried to pull a scheme where the 2 of us traveling together were in different rooms but rather than telling us that she said we were in a different room one night and would swap the next. She just could not do the math as she put 2 singles and a double set into the 4 bed room that than 2 double sets. From that point on she was terrible to deal with. The rice field trip is not worht taking with the hostel. FInd a different hostel to deal with on this... maybe then your tour guide will speak a small amount of english. Plus the cleaning staff dont even take the time to clean the dead mosquitos off the walls... a bit gross really. I mean to make the bed you would see the dead mozzie... but they do nothing about it. OK... Ill stop now, if I had another go I would stay else where...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dustin hammond

17 June 2010

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Dustin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie cuthbertson

17 June 2010 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great, provided us with everything we needed.

Disliked: jamie left no negative feedback.


See all Guilin hostels