HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Guilin hostels

Reviews of Guilin Riverside Hostel

Hostel | NO.6 Zhu Mu Xiang, Nan Men Bridge, Guilin, China 541000

89.5% Overall Rating

90 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Dagmar Pilgrim thinks…

"Helpful and friendly staff. Our daughter forgot her camera in the van which picked us up from the airport late at night. We were thrilled when the driver returned it the next day!"

Read all Guilin Riverside Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.59
  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guilin

Anne's Appartment
48.65 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in the Rice Terraces
5.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 26 reviews
Guilin Flowers Youth Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 77.8% 233 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
11.19 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews
Guilin Dozycat Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.7% 11 reviews
Green Forest Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 92.6% 116 reviews
Guilin Grand Hotel
17.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 9 reviews
LongJi International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 80.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

90 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guilin Riverside Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful

Disliked: In google maps and the german Lonley Planet was the location of the hostel wrong described.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dagmar Pilgrim

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Dagmar would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Our daughter forgot her camera in the van which picked us up from the airport late at night. We were thrilled when the driver returned it the next day!

Disliked: Dagmar left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location by the river with a cute outdoor area for chilling / dining, Good selection of books for swapping / reading. Very big room (twin private), Have good information about tours and arranged a tour for us to LongJi Rice Terraces. Most staff spoke enough English for communication.

Disliked: Very hard beds (Chinese style). The (western) breakfast was quite pricey and quite small. When we were there it rained non-stop, so maybe they could have a better cover over the outdoor area or remove the table football and put a couch and TV / games there. The locks on all my windows were broken. They advertise a massage service which is located downstairs - when we went there it was dark, musty and looked very univiting and couldn't find any staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Wailen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: This is a brilliant place to stay in Guilin. The hostel is located down a small and quiet lane and overlooks the riverbank.Having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river was great and I was fortunate to have double room with a private bath and shower and a balcony overlooking the river. The staff spoke good English well and could not have been more helpful and friendly. There were a range of breakfasts to choose from and they would provide lunch and dinner if required. There was a secure safe in reception to lodge valuables and the place was clean,tidy and well managed. They will also do your laundry and have it dried and ready to wear within the day and at very cheap rates. I spent only two days/nights there but loved every minute and wish I had been able to spend more time there.Would recommend this place to anybody of any age. The hostel will also arrange to have you picked up from and taken to the airport and any other travel/tour arrangements you may wish to make. This hostel is a real gem and so cheap too. You will not be disappointed if staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Piotr Nowak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013

Liked: i liked the moment i had to leave this place....

Disliked: unhonesty of the stuff, stinking uncleand room, breakfast cost 40 RMB and amount of food is silly ) not even close to other hostels standard.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Indri Warih Saraswati

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Indri Warih would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful scenery around the hotel. close to the tourist attractions and the city of Guilin city bus stop. near the night market, clean, safe.

Disliked: Indri Warih left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Montgomery

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff Friendly and Helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast a little expensive for China.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere

Disliked: small room (but for a hostel really ok)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Exceptional friendliness of the staff, excellent location, they call it a hostel but in reality it can easily pass for at least 3 star hotel in any western country. It's super clean, comfortable with spacious rooms and huge windows and comfortable bed, lots of hot water and good AC/Heating system.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis McGaha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel and the people working there were great.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say about the hostel itself. I did not like Guilin. I would have rather spent more time in Yangshou.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vikki Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2013 Vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful, fabulously located place with the friendliest of staff whom all speak reasonable english and go out of their way to help with anything you want. Nothing is too difficult and they are honest genuine kind owners/operators.

Disliked: Breakfast options could be improved and a more casual communal area in the main foyer would be good. Perhaps an all day menu available would be good. The outdoor area overlooking the river is superb.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Kramer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located quiet direct near the river- just a short walk to the night market and restaurants.Staff speaks good english and is very helpful. We booked a tour to the rice terraces and it was angood choice: Nice driver and eglish tour guide, excellent free lunch and enough time to walk in Ping'an. (but the longhair-show was not really our taste).

Disliked: The weather, we had there! :-))))

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

19 October 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: We were just here for two nights before heading off to Yangshuo and Xingping, but still really enjoyed our stay. The hotel arranged a tour out to the Longji Rice Terraces and our boat to Yangshuo, both of which were perfect. Also the location is great for eating al fresco at the seafood (riverfood?) places along the river. Walk out to the main road (S Ring Rd), turn right and across the major intersection (Zhongshan South Rd). The places are lined up along the left side of the road. Take your pick! Don't remember the name of the place we were but it had yellow chairs and the best beer fish we experienced in our entire trip!

Disliked: My wife and I booked a floor for honeymoon/family adventure (family came from Canada for the wedding and trip) but the hotel put someone else in one of the rooms and parents were left on a different floor of a different building. Not a huge deal but they had actually been the ones to suggest making the booking this way and my two sisters ended up in a family room all to themselves.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012

Liked: The balcony is very nice, just by the river. Food quality above average.

Disliked: Everything was dirty, even the table on the very pretty balcony weren't cleaned properly after people eating there, which left your arms sticking on the table :-( The rooms were very dirty with hairs on the floor and stains everywhere etc. The airconditioning in one of the rooms was leaking heavily and took quite a while to fix. The worst was the smell, which was so bad one didn't get used to it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful and spoke pretty good English. It's a nice location, close to the river, the bus station, and the night market. I will stay here again

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the view from the deck and that there was always a smiling girl at the desk willing to help. The hostel was quiet and in a central location . It was relaxing to drink a beer on the shady, secluded deck with a view of the river.

Disliked: Happy and comfortable stay overall.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice, everything worked.

Disliked: Not too much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Rounding

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 July 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms. Nice balcony outside. Very quiet.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

latonya Wigginton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2012 latonya would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money and easy walking distance to sights in Guilin

Disliked: We asked for a transfer to the airport but in the shift change over the booking was forgotten. They staff helped us to hail a taxi on the street and we made our a flight time so no issue. Just a little annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Bristow

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, but what I really liked about this hostel is its cleanliness and thoughtful "extras" such as the clean towels everyday and the beds made up every morning. How nice to come back to a clean, made-up, great-sized, bright and light room every night after a long days sight-seeing! We had a triple room, and a twin room (not with river view) for our family of five - which I must say I much preferred to the river view room option which by comparison was very dark, due to the large covered balconies. Give me natural light any day! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast left a lot to be desired - disappointing after such lovely rooms! You could trot a mouse across the tea - far too strong - green tea next time, please! Good tours and car hire arranged.

Disliked: Breakfast was disappointing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, great room. Would definitely stay here again

Disliked: no complaints

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Harland

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Huge room and very good price. Guilin isnt big so the location cant really be bad and it was only a 5 min walk to the bus station.

Disliked: Room was very cold and loacted on the same level as the bar/reception which made it a little noisy. (This was the only room on this level)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Rothacker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, very roomy and comfortable. Quiet.

Disliked: Smaller place so if you felt like chatting to other people there is not so much opportunity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sheila Burgoyne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 sheila would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very good view across the river. Our room was beautifully decorated and clean and had a great balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

Disliked: Disliked nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it was near the river

Disliked: nothing


See all Guilin hostels