HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Boa Garden

Hostel | Xiti Road No.37, Xin Gang Road, Hai Zhu District, Guangdong Province Guangzhou, China N/A

95.5% Overall Rating

23 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2014)

"I was here for only one night and both richard and gassin made me feel very welcome and at home. the spot is nice, by the river and if its warm, lovely sitting outside. Also as i was visiting pazhou for a fair, it was…"

Read all The Boa Garden reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guangzhou

Dongyue Fashion Hotel
17.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pazhou Hotel
103.56 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
She&he Hotel Apartment-Huifeng
129.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Gold City Home
9.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
JinAn Hostel Guangzhou
9.71 USD

Hostel 74.3% 6 reviews
Aishe Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 72.6% 10 reviews
Guang Dong Bostan Hotel
64.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews
Langri House
9.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Boa Garden'

Atmosphere
94.2%
Location
89.2%
Facilities
93.3%
Cleanliness
96.7%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
95.8%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was here for only one night and both richard and gassin made me feel very welcome and at home. the spot is nice, by the river and if its warm, lovely sitting outside. Also as i was visiting pazhou for a fair, it was good because it is literally 10 minutes to pazhou from the place. will be coming back for canton fair.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Mulder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very enjoyable stay at the Old Port Hostel. The location is great. An old port town, great for exploring, plenty of cheap and good food around, perfect for something more interesting and relaxed while still being so to the metro and the main part of Guangzhou. Thanks Gassin for all the advice and the night out, plenty of fun!

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saffron McMahon

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 March 2014 Saffron would recommend this property

Liked: Rick and Gassin were really helpful and friendly. Hostel is in a great location, in the old port area, although fairly easy to travel to the CBD. Hostel has a very English feeling about it- red post box, photos of the royal family, bacon sarnies, tea... Small hostel, but cosy, with a nice outdoor seating area.

Disliked: Saffron left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, nice place, hot shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douphis Pierre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Douphis would recommend this property

Liked: We first stay one month ago at the Boa hostel and we found it very cool and Richard and Grace were so helpful and friendly (we had a big problem in Guangzhou and they help us from A to Z and we're are so grateful ftom now on) that we decided to come back when we had to one month later. the locatiln is perhaps far away from the city centre but it is good to stay in a cool place in a town like Guangzhou. All the best to you, Richard and Grace.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a very quaint and quiet part of town, excellent staff.

Disliked: Could use a kitchen.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 February 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The best choice we made when choosing our place to stay in Guangzhou. Its in a beautiful village on the outskirts of the city and you get a real feel for local life. We hired bikes and cycled around the river it was such a relaxing place. Rick & Gassin are great people, both fluent Chinese and English so will help you out where ever possible. They helped us sort our visa and also train to Hong Kong. The hostel is 15 mins from the centre with a subway a short ride away. The hostel is cheap and its worth every penny. Cant fault this place and area at all as its 1/4 of all hostels in Guangzhou and you wont get the scenic views like here. Will recommend and definately stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel in a lovely scenic spot by the water with some great noodle shops and small restaurants nearby. Gassin was really helpful and helped me translate things and point me in the right direction. if you are in guangzhou for a few days this is a really nice place to be.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ray Flores

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Ray would recommend this property

Liked: Location is mixed so I'll mention the good bit - you're staying right in a scenic heritage spot! I arrived at midnight, and Gassin let me come in and let me pay the next day (cab driver had ripped me off and left me without much cash on hand)

Disliked: It's located a bit far from the city centre. You have to take a bus to get to the metro, and you'll be fighting crowds for that bus. There didn't seem to be a washing machine easily accessible, but I assume they have one where management themselves live. (The guesthouse is essentially one room above a restaurant.)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Mulhall

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time, feels like you are not in Guangzhou, yet close enough not to make it too much of a hassle. Nice atmosphere, good vibe. Owner, Rick is very friendly and full of useful information about Guangzhou. Lots of local restaurants around for cheap eats. Rick took us to street barbeque one evening which was cool. Him being a Brit and speaking perfect Chinese made getting things done a lot easier. Try a bacon sarnie and a brew at his cafe also. Bit of home away from home.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Whitaker

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool location, river on the riverfront in a quaint part of guangzhou, definitely recommend for those that need to be away from the city. being said access to the metro was good. Good atmosphere in the place, sat up late drinking cheap beers and talking about places we'd been. A little hard to find, but a lovely place to be for a few days.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Mumford

Alone

City break

05 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly guys and a chilled atmosphere, vladimir was a bonus!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tenants are friendly and helpful. They will attend to your requests (laundry, places to go, etc) It is quiet since it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city area. Good if you appreciate peace and quiet. The location is near a train station so it is convenient to travel in that respect.

Disliked: The address details were not fully updated on the HostelBookers website at the time of booking, so when we arrived we got mixed up. The location is really far out from the city centre in the east, so travelling to sight-see may be inconvenient and time-consuming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems like a home from home. Easy place to hang out

Disliked: Matresses - but you get used to them after a while

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Crouch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Rick and Gassin were incredibly nice and always there to answer questions or help with anything they can. My phone even broke upon arrival and Rick lent me his spare phone and directed me (also with Chinese instructions) to a place to get it fixed - and it was fixed within the day! A very interesting guy to speak to as well to hear about his experiences working and living in China. A great place to stay overall.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Richard and Gassin went above and beyond in their efforts to guide and assist their guests, extremely well travelled and knowledgeable they were willing and able to help with anything you needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Timm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay for a few nights! I can really recommend to meet the owner Richard, a congenial, obliging and cool guy, who makes you feel home!

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jia xi luo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 jia xi would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and helpful.Had a nice breakfast only 30RMB,a good coffee is hard to find.House is very homely,nice living room and swimming pool.

Disliked: jia xi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume Ruel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Simplicity and helpfuless of the owner, the pool that could be very nice in this hot and humid place!

Disliked: Nothing really...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best value for money in town! You can get a private room for a price lower than that of a dorm bed! The compound at which this is located is lovely as well, a swimming pool (which is only open during the summer I assume). rocking chairs, nice and calm. Definitely recommendable!

Disliked: Maybe the location, not much around, but the metro is fast and cheap so you can get anywhere within minutes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

H. van Barneveld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 H. would recommend this property

Liked: We kwamen hier vroeg in de ochtend aan en kregen een hartelijk welkom. De kamer was al klaar en we konden er gelijk in. Wel moesten we even wachten bij de deur omdat zijn telefoon kuren had en hij de beneden bel niet hoorde. Wij hebben ons hier erg thuis gevoeld helemaal omdat we zelf hebben kunnen koken.

Disliked: H. left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Wong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location 2 minutes walk from the metro, good relaxing atmosphere, lovely clean rooms, great food, with a really nice couple running the place. Richard was really helpful, helping us out with visas and took us around the area to the local sights, bars and restaurants.

Disliked: Annika left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

carol saxtree

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 March 2013

Liked: the warm welcome I received

Disliked: carol left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in!! Amazing value for money, safe, clean and the staff are great too! Definitely worth a visit!!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.