HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Journey House Guangzhou Hostel

Room 501,Lin He Community A6, No.164 Lin He Zhong Road, Guangzhou, China

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 60%

Location 69%

Safety 84%

Staff 96%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Our reception desk is open from 8.00-24.00

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guangzhou?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 60%

Location 69%

Safety 84%

Staff 96%

Value 76%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I only stayed for one short night but the feeling I got was very positiv. The staff was friendly although I arrived really late at night.There were about 8 people in the room but it was neither noisy nor dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: not the best but good enough to recommend it

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location itself is very cosy and invites you to stay.

Disliked: I booked the hostel because of a pick-up service they offered on their homepage, which when I asked for it did not exist. I emailed them, that I would arrive very late at night and when I called them in the cab to get directions, they first told me they had no more space and I would have to look for another place to stay at 2 o clock in the morning!!! When reminding them of having written them an email, they recalled my email and said something about an extra bed. When I arrived at 3am, I called again so that someone would pick me up downstairs (as they said on the homepage they would) and again had to find my way on my own after getting a description. They did not have any heating and I had to sleep on a former balcony the first night, next to the toilet window, which was open and the light was turned on. Also I really do not understand why the cleaning ladies have to clean the rooms at 9 o clock in the morning and even swipe the floor under your bed at that time. The people, who manage the hostel, are really nice in generell. I guess 1 out of 10 guests will simply not have their expectations met, and this time I was the one, but those things really made me angry. So if you are bad with standing the cold (though Guangzhou usually should not be cold) and plan to arrive in the middle of the night, maybe you want to choose another place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: lounge area is quite nice but when we arrived there were some people sleeping on sofas and it was really dirty around. Staff is very nice and helpful I have to give them credit for it.

Disliked: it does not seem like a hostel but student flat with some residents basically leaving there (or it seems like that). We were put in the biggest dorm which would be fine but people were smoking in the room and no one did anything about it. Yes there are signs on the wall about silence and non smoking etc but no one cares. They put beds on the enclosed balcony and have one double room on the rooftop so be careful what you book as I would not be willing to stay in those for example. When cleaner has a day off (when we arrived) it is quite dirty everywhere and we even had to change bed linen by ourselves (never was asked to do the same in any other place). There are no markings on the block about this place so seems like a private apartment.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a chance to meet other travelers and people who are staying on a long-term basis, who then served as guides of the city. It's close to some decent restaurants for lunch and dinner. Even though it's not in the city center, it's not far from the subway and airport express bus station.

Disliked: The bathroom in the dormitory was disgustingly dirty and smelly. I don't think it's been cleaned for months, and if it has, it's not thorough enough. It's the dirtiest I've ever seen in China. There are other bathrooms that have good ventilation, but the one in the 8-bed dorm (or is it 9??) was hands down the worst.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

it's pity that we could not reach you're expectation. I am sure you have been to the perfect hostel in China or eles where. it's possible if you just try to focus in the bad part of the hotel or hostel there will always be something you don't like even at you're own home. That several night yep that bathrooms fan dose not work but it's not that it's extremly dirty, we have our cleaner who cleans it every morning and evening. well we will try to make it perfect at next time of you're arrival..thx

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was cheap compare with other hostels

Disliked: It wasn't really clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for you're comment and we have already acted to make it much better.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kyra the Hostelowner was amazingly friendly and helpful. Place is nice to get to know other travellers.

Disliked: Bathroom is dirty and full with utensils from the staff. The hole place was not very tidy. All Lockers were blocked from longterm stayers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for you comments

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved this place so much.. I have met here many nice people and one of them was kiran, the owner of hostel. He is so amazing friendly boy and he is making feel you there like at home. We came at night and he called us where we are and helped us with taxi driver oriantation. He actually waited for us til 2 am. I stil miss that place... roof terace on 28th floor, cool connection to city, direct subway to airport and so on... I felt there like on real holiday. Kiran and me we were singing and playing on the guitar, drinking beers until early morning and having fun with other guests. There is also TV projector so we were watching movie at night like at cinema, darts and many other nice free time activities. Internet anytime to use for free... I was absolutely content. No bad reference in internet should not disatract you to go there because you would miss the oportunity to spend your trip in perfect hostel...

Disliked: well, honestly probably just the bathrooms are not so clean and bit noisy elevator if sleepin upstairs dorms but there are so many advantages that it is really not so important

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thank you for you're stay with journey hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is very relaxed, Kiran and Kira are very friendly and helpful. When I missed my train, I was able to come back and stay without re booking a room. Other people there translated necessary words to get around into Chinese which was a godsend.

Disliked: It is a little bit hard to find but I found it in the end.Smoking in communal area.Bathrooms need to be cleaned a bit more :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability