HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journey Hostel

Hostel | Guangzhou, tian he bei lu, building number 445, 27 floor F Guangzhou, China 510000

71.6% Overall Rating

13 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2012)

"I only stayed for one short night but the feeling I got was very positiv. The staff was friendly although I arrived really late at night. There were about 8 people in the room but it was neither noisy nor dirty."

Read all Journey Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Our reception desk is open from 8.00-24.00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guangzhou

Guangzhou Trade Fair hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
MeiHao Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 61.1% 10 reviews
Guangzhou Milestaste Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 86.6% 26 reviews
Plum Flowers Guesthouse
9.75 USD

Hostel 93.0% 31 reviews
RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)
10.56 USD

Hostel 79.7% 417 reviews
Langri House
9.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Guangzhou Backpacker Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Guang Dong Bostan Hotel
46.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.6%

Overall Rating

13 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journey Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.8%
Location
69.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.5%
Staff
84.7%
Value
75.3%
Safety
76.5%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one short night but the feeling I got was very positiv. The staff was friendly although I arrived really late at night. There were about 8 people in the room but it was neither noisy nor dirty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alois Haupt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Alois would recommend this property

Liked: not the best but good enough to recommend it

Disliked: Alois left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location itself is very cosy and invites you to stay.

Disliked: I booked the hostel because of a pick-up service they offered on their homepage, which when I asked for it did not exist. I emailed them, that I would arrive very late at night and when I called them in the cab to get directions, they first told me they had no more space and I would have to look for another place to stay at 2 o clock in the morning!!! When reminding them of having written them an email, they recalled my email and said something about an extra bed. When I arrived at 3am, I called again so that someone would pick me up downstairs (as they said on the homepage they would) and again had to find my way on my own after getting a description. They did not have any heating and I had to sleep on a former balcony the first night, next to the toilet window, which was open and the light was turned on. Also I really do not understand why the cleaning ladies have to clean the rooms at 9 o clock in the morning and even swipe the floor under your bed at that time. The people, who manage the hostel, are really nice in generell. I guess 1 out of 10 guests will simply not have their expectations met, and this time I was the one, but those things really made me angry. So if you are bad with standing the cold (though Guangzhou usually should not be cold) and plan to arrive in the middle of the night, maybe you want to choose another place to stay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011

Liked: lounge area is quite nice but when we arrived there were some people sleeping on sofas and it was really dirty around. Staff is very nice and helpful I have to give them credit for it.

Disliked: it does not seem like a hostel but student flat with some residents basically leaving there (or it seems like that). We were put in the biggest dorm which would be fine but people were smoking in the room and no one did anything about it. Yes there are signs on the wall about silence and non smoking etc but no one cares. They put beds on the enclosed balcony and have one double room on the rooftop so be careful what you book as I would not be willing to stay in those for example. When cleaner has a day off (when we arrived) it is quite dirty everywhere and we even had to change bed linen by ourselves (never was asked to do the same in any other place). There are no markings on the block about this place so seems like a private apartment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Liliana Cortez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: Had a chance to meet other travelers and people who are staying on a long-term basis, who then served as guides of the city. It's close to some decent restaurants for lunch and dinner. Even though it's not in the city center, it's not far from the subway and airport express bus station.

Disliked: The bathroom in the dormitory was disgustingly dirty and smelly. I don't think it's been cleaned for months, and if it has, it's not thorough enough. It's the dirtiest I've ever seen in China. There are other bathrooms that have good ventilation, but the one in the 8-bed dorm (or is it 9??) was hands down the worst.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap compare with other hostels

Disliked: It wasn't really clean.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kyra the Hostelowner was amazingly friendly and helpful. Place is nice to get to know other travellers.

Disliked: Bathroom is dirty and full with utensils from the staff. The hole place was not very tidy. All Lockers were blocked from longterm stayers.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JANA ZIFCAKOVA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 JANA would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place so much.. I have met here many nice people and one of them was kiran, the owner of hostel. He is so amazing friendly boy and he is making feel you there like at home. We came at night and he called us where we are and helped us with taxi driver oriantation. He actually waited for us til 2 am. I stil miss that place... roof terace on 28th floor, cool connection to city, direct subway to airport and so on... I felt there like on real holiday. Kiran and me we were singing and playing on the guitar, drinking beers until early morning and having fun with other guests. There is also TV projector so we were watching movie at night like at cinema, darts and many other nice free time activities. Internet anytime to use for free... I was absolutely content. No bad reference in internet should not disatract you to go there because you would miss the oportunity to spend your trip in perfect hostel...

Disliked: well, honestly probably just the bathrooms are not so clean and bit noisy elevator if sleepin upstairs dorms but there are so many advantages that it is really not so important

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very relaxed, Kiran and Kira are very friendly and helpful. When I missed my train, I was able to come back and stay without re booking a room. Other people there translated necessary words to get around into Chinese which was a godsend.

Disliked: It is a little bit hard to find but I found it in the end. Smoking in communal area. Bathrooms need to be cleaned a bit more :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This really is a nice place. Imagine a penthouse apartment on the two top floors of an apartment building turned into a hippie hang-out with incense in the air and Zen-wisdom written on the walls. Not to mention the groovy roof terrace with graffiti walls, a dilapidated fish pond and some cozy lawn chairs. Kiran, (the “manger” I guess) is a cool and easy-going guy that creates a great atmosphere in the place. The living room is a great place to hang out and make new friends.

Disliked: This property is very difficult to find, especially with the directions that are given. I tried to e-mail them for directions, but never received a reply (easy-going remember). This resulted in me arriving in Guangzhou only with some simple directions written in Chinese (which I don’t understand), and a funny google-translation of this. With help from locals I found the property within two hours. It seems that most of the other guests ended up calling Kiran, and he went to pick them up somewhere. The property is clean, but the bathrooms are dirty. I really don’t think Kiran likes to clean bathrooms, and this shows.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dinh Mai Huong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2011 Dinh Mai would recommend this property

Liked: Security, convenient and rapidly

Disliked: Exchange rate.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff is nice and helpful

Disliked: i have a general question. They had a problem to access your website to update prices and availability for the fair - so i had to pay more than confirmed. How does this work, I book a bed to be sure that i can sleep, know the price and not have to worry where to go after arriving at a place?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Zamecki

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice people and very friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: everything was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Maria Diaz Pavon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Patricia Maria would recommend this property

Liked: location was good and the beds were comfortable

Disliked: nothing