We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Hostel | No. 15 Changdi Street, Luju Road, Liwan Guangzhou, China 510370

79.0% Overall Rating

374 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2015)

Joseph James thinks…

"The swift action and friendliness of the staff. The charming layout of the place. The location right alongside the river and just a short walk from the nearest metro!"

Read all RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.25
  • Breakfast USD 3.92
  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guangzhou

MeiHao Family Hostel
9.41 USD

Hostel 61.1% 10 reviews
Guangzhou Milestaste Youth Hostel
12.39 USD

Hostel 86.6% 26 reviews
Guangzhou Backpacker Hostel
8.63 USD

Hostel 60.0% 5 reviews
Langri House
9.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Guang Dong Bostan Hotel
156.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews
She&he Hotel Apartment-Huifeng
26.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Journey Hostel
9.41 USD

Hostel 71.6% 17 reviews
Aishe Youth Hostel
9.41 USD

Hostel 72.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

374 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 332 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph James

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The swift action and friendliness of the staff. The charming layout of the place. The location right alongside the river and just a short walk from the nearest metro!

Disliked: Not an awful lot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roy van Kerkhof

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2015 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big commonroom with good bar en restaurant.

Disliked: The tiny little cockroaches in the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Mochammad Faizal Kardiman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015

Liked: This hostel ambience which right in front the river. There are a lot of places to eat around the hotel. Family Mart in front of hotel make me really easy to buy food whenever I want. Bus station right in front of hostel enable you to explore the city in an easy way if you know the route of course.

Disliked: I arrived at 11.30 pm after 3 hours traveling by bus from Hongkong and have to waiting about 30 minutes since the receptionist (the guy one) couldn't find my name in their system. He gave me twin bed room instead of double bed room which I've booked. He said that all double bed room has booked at that night due to weekend. It's definitely not recommended for traveler with a huge backpack to stay at this hotel due to you need to walking quite far from metro station. The bed was so hard. I knew if that's normal in China. But Riverside's bed is worst than other hostel in China. Wifi was not working in my room. It's working better at the lobby.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hung-Ju Chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015 Hung-Ju would recommend this property

Liked: nice price

Disliked: location is not convinient

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ruben dam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 ruben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, Spacious rooms

Disliked: ruben left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Jakob

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing to complain about, except the internet. WIFI was very slow. Staff was nice, metro is close - all in all a nice hostel.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014

Liked: The location is nice and a good mix of an authentic area and calm.

Disliked: There are few reason I would not recommend this hostel, which has been the worst through my 1 month in china: 1. I arrived late and wanted to sleep, at 12 the cleaning staff woke me up and told me to leave the room. I paid for three nights and it's bad customer treatment to just tell me to go out so they can clean! 2. I travelled for a long time in china and was just looking forward to the salad on the menu. The staff told me that they do not know how to prepare the salad they have on their menu and that I should go eat somewhere else. 3. When I asked for a postcard that was sent to the hostel, the staff told me they don't keep postcards. Thanks 4. The cleanyness is debatable. I had some mold near my sleeping area close to air condition.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karin Van dijk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice staff!

Disliked: Karin left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sasha verma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: It is neatly located oppo the Pearl River.

Disliked: Getting there is a hassle not because the directions are unclear but because it is difficult to negotiate the sibway as all hours seem to be rush jours. More importantly they do not have a travel desk and as such it is not a useful place to be.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is 10-15 minutes walk from Fangcun Metro Station and near a busy bar street with lots of street food options and cheap clothing stores. Rooms are large and shower gel, kettle, cups are provided in the private rooms

Disliked: Wifi did not work in either of the rooms I stayed in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Sanchez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and close to a lot of food

Disliked: a little out of the way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wouter Udo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, nice staff, speaks english, calm and quiet, very good place to stay in Guangzhou

Disliked: the bathroom could be more clean, amd was very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice for the price and the location near the waterfront was a very addition especially to take the ferry to see the other sites around like canton tower.

Disliked: The building seems a little unsafe if a fire were to happen the rooms open onto a maze of a corridor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not many bars for being close to bar street. Heater didn't seem to work, wasn't that cold so not a huge deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Lown

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very easy to find (for a non Chinese speaker) as it was easily located with good directions from the metro station. I thought the hostel was pretty basic, and impersonal, but very clean, and reasonably priced which is what I value when looking for a place to stay! I was very happy I stayed here, and would recommend to friends!

Disliked: Getting woken up at 8am on a Sunday by a fire alarm was not ideal but I suppose these things happen.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jerry Bosscher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: - clean rooms - possibility to charge your mobile device in the recreation room - close to the boat with brings you to the other side of the river.

Disliked: - no interaction between the staff - no tours provided

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Finch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked this hostel, great authentic area too with a big chinese market, resturants, street food and cheap BBQ places to have some beers.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justyna Szambelan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing particular, but OK.

Disliked: Justyna left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013

Liked: Right across the street from Family Mart and the ferry. Within walking distance of the subway station.

Disliked: Air-conditioning in the lobby is only turned on if guests pay a fee (nearly $10). Internet is set up so that it doesn't work outside of the lobby, despite a strong signal in the dorm room. So, basically, if you want to use the internet, you have to sit in the lobby and sweat.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Immanuel Hauser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Till Immanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Riverfront is nice

Disliked: Quite far away from most places. No youth hostel atmosphere, i seems more like any cheap hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 July 2013

Liked: A fairly standard hostel.

Disliked: It lacks sort of character.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 1 person rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and thought it was also conveniently located 10-15 minutes walk away from a metro station.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, friendly people. Rooms are spacious and very clean.

Disliked: The location is nice, but not very central. There is a good metro connection

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaojie Wang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Xiaojie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect

Disliked: Xiaojie left no negative feedback.