We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Hostel | No. 15 Changdi Street, Luju Road, Liwan Guangzhou, China 510370

79.9% Overall Rating

371 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Paul Jakob thinks…

"I have nothing to complain about, except the internet. WIFI was very slow. Staff was nice, metro is close - all in all a nice hostel."

Read all RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.30
  • Towel USD 0.97

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guangzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guangzhou

MeiHao Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 61.1% 10 reviews
Journey Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 71.6% 17 reviews
Guangzhou Trade Fair hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Guangzhou Milestaste Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 86.6% 26 reviews
JinAn Hostel Guangzhou
9.75 USD

Hostel 74.3% 6 reviews
Guangzhou Backpacker Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Langri House
9.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Guang Dong Bostan Hotel
46.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

371 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 315 of 328 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ruben dam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 ruben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, Spacious rooms

Disliked: ruben left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Jakob

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing to complain about, except the internet. WIFI was very slow. Staff was nice, metro is close - all in all a nice hostel.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014

Liked: The location is nice and a good mix of an authentic area and calm.

Disliked: There are few reason I would not recommend this hostel, which has been the worst through my 1 month in china: 1. I arrived late and wanted to sleep, at 12 the cleaning staff woke me up and told me to leave the room. I paid for three nights and it's bad customer treatment to just tell me to go out so they can clean! 2. I travelled for a long time in china and was just looking forward to the salad on the menu. The staff told me that they do not know how to prepare the salad they have on their menu and that I should go eat somewhere else. 3. When I asked for a postcard that was sent to the hostel, the staff told me they don't keep postcards. Thanks 4. The cleanyness is debatable. I had some mold near my sleeping area close to air condition.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karin Van dijk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice staff!

Disliked: Karin left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sasha verma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: It is neatly located oppo the Pearl River.

Disliked: Getting there is a hassle not because the directions are unclear but because it is difficult to negotiate the sibway as all hours seem to be rush jours. More importantly they do not have a travel desk and as such it is not a useful place to be.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is 10-15 minutes walk from Fangcun Metro Station and near a busy bar street with lots of street food options and cheap clothing stores. Rooms are large and shower gel, kettle, cups are provided in the private rooms

Disliked: Wifi did not work in either of the rooms I stayed in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Sanchez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and close to a lot of food

Disliked: a little out of the way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wouter Udo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, nice staff, speaks english, calm and quiet, very good place to stay in Guangzhou

Disliked: the bathroom could be more clean, amd was very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice for the price and the location near the waterfront was a very addition especially to take the ferry to see the other sites around like canton tower.

Disliked: The building seems a little unsafe if a fire were to happen the rooms open onto a maze of a corridor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not many bars for being close to bar street. Heater didn't seem to work, wasn't that cold so not a huge deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Lown

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very easy to find (for a non Chinese speaker) as it was easily located with good directions from the metro station. I thought the hostel was pretty basic, and impersonal, but very clean, and reasonably priced which is what I value when looking for a place to stay! I was very happy I stayed here, and would recommend to friends!

Disliked: Getting woken up at 8am on a Sunday by a fire alarm was not ideal but I suppose these things happen.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jerry Bosscher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: - clean rooms - possibility to charge your mobile device in the recreation room - close to the boat with brings you to the other side of the river.

Disliked: - no interaction between the staff - no tours provided

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Finch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked this hostel, great authentic area too with a big chinese market, resturants, street food and cheap BBQ places to have some beers.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justyna Szambelan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing particular, but OK.

Disliked: Justyna left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013

Liked: Right across the street from Family Mart and the ferry. Within walking distance of the subway station.

Disliked: Air-conditioning in the lobby is only turned on if guests pay a fee (nearly $10). Internet is set up so that it doesn't work outside of the lobby, despite a strong signal in the dorm room. So, basically, if you want to use the internet, you have to sit in the lobby and sweat.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Immanuel Hauser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Till Immanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Riverfront is nice

Disliked: Quite far away from most places. No youth hostel atmosphere, i seems more like any cheap hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 July 2013

Liked: A fairly standard hostel.

Disliked: It lacks sort of character.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 1 person rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and thought it was also conveniently located 10-15 minutes walk away from a metro station.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, friendly people. Rooms are spacious and very clean.

Disliked: The location is nice, but not very central. There is a good metro connection

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaojie Wang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Xiaojie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect

Disliked: Xiaojie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location with good transport options.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of travelers so it has a buzzy feel in the common area which is nice.

Disliked: Very large white piranha in the tank, bad Feng Shui I would think.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jude Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013

Liked: Easy to get to and generally nice enough. Comfortable bed. Excellent shower.

Disliked: The price! The most expensive hostel I stayed in in China and had the least on offer - no drinking water etc provided. For me, there was nothing to do in the local area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Pritchard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: this place is super cheap, clean and friendly!

Disliked: location, in such run down area, nothing to see and do in guangzhou!