HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Dali, China

SleepyFish Lodge 94%

1. SleepyFish Lodge

Hostel
Yu Er Lu (extension)

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SleepyFish Lodge

23 Jul 2014 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

They have Dr. Pepper and fresh baked cookies. You don't have to pay for towels. Cozy beds. Very clean. The staff is soo nice! They have a nice little cafe. It's right by all the happenings in old town Dali, but it tucked away and quite. The staff can make all your wildest dreams come true... or at least they are very helpful in all the adventures you want to go on or things you need help with.

would recommend this property

25 Mar 2014 43%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The hotel is nice IF you choose the more expensive rooms...

Read all SleepyFish Lodge reviews
The Jade Emu International Hostel 94%

2. The Jade Emu International Hostel

Hostel
Area 10, West Gate Village

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 88%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 96%

91 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Jade Emu International Hostel

05 May 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Pool, sunbathing rooftop and fast internet

would recommend this property

22 Jul 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Our room got upgraded to the deluxe double and it was pretty awesome. The place is nice, the staff is helpful, good location as well.

would recommend this property

Read all The Jade Emu International Hostel reviews
Five Elements Hostel 91%

3. Five Elements Hostel

Hostel
Area 69, West Gate Village, Dali

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 87%

Safety 95%

Staff 96%

Value 95%

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Five Elements Hostel

16 Feb 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

They arranged for me to be picked up from the train and dropped off at the airport. It wasright across the road from old town dali. They had lots of tours and suggestions of activities. Everyone was friendly and helpful

would recommend this property

21 Jun 2014 83%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nice common area, wifi everywere, large area for laundry, TP in toilets, helpful with onward travel, convenient location.

would recommend this property

Read all Five Elements Hostel reviews
The Lily Pad 90%

4. The Lily Pad

Hostel
West Gate Village, Dali Old Town

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 84%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

25 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Lily Pad

17 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

We arrived to Dali in the overnight train and got to the hostel early in the morning (around 7:30 AM). The nice reception guy welcomed us and welcomed to our room. We reserved the double room with a view so he owed us a choice because there were couple of rooms available . The room was fantastic, Chinese style designed in the last floor with huge windows towards the mountains and even a little sight of the three pagodas. Overall the staff is super helpful and speaks relatively to China good English, they booked us a bus to Lijiang right from the hostel was more pricy but very convenient. This hostel has a very quite vibe to it. If you are looking for a more party feel, communicative/international hostel there is one (Jade Emu) right across the alley. You can feel free to come and hang out in their bar and meet people.

would recommend this property

02 Sep 2014 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Ancient chinese environment. We stayed in a double bedroom. The room is beautiful and really comfortable with extra facilities of making your own chinese tea leaves provided and hair dryer provided. Very quiet place. The staffs are really helpful because they guide and take us personally to board a bus to the train station as we are short of time, unable to speak Mandarin and read Chinese!

would recommend this property

Read all The Lily Pad reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Dali hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Dali. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Dali

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Dali. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!