HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dali hostels

Reviews of Dali Five Elements Hostel

Hostel | West Gate Dazhifang 69, Ximencun Dazhifang 69, Dali, China 671000

90.3% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Nice common area, wifi everywere, large area for laundry, TP in toilets, helpful with onward travel, convenient location."

Read all Dali Five Elements Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dali

Blue Bird Nest Guest House
12.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Vagabond Inn
32.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dali Golf Resort Villa
48.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dali Lily's Gargen Inn
4.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Friends Guesthouse Youth Hostel
97.13 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
SleepyFish Lodge
8.12 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 72 reviews
The Jade Roo International Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.9% 45 reviews
The Jade Emu International Guesthouse
4.06 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dali Five Elements Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, wifi everywere, large area for laundry, TP in toilets, helpful with onward travel, convenient location.

Disliked: Flimsy foam "mattresses", dirty and short beddings, no TV (for the World Cup), room hasn't been cleaned in a while, bed assignments in dorms not enforced. No enforcement of "quiet hours".

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Risto Ollila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Risto would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, not a long walk to downtown Dali, very good value and the food they serve was quite decent too.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine so far

Disliked: Location is a bit outside

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ching Yi Chen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Ching Yi would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are kindness and helpful.

Disliked: The TV in the room is not always working.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean on arrival. There was a cosy TV and reading area.

Disliked: I was not offered a bed linen or towel change during my 4 night stay. The rat which ran around the bar and restaurant area every night should have been removed. The hostel staff regarded the rat as "normal". The bar area was too cold to sit in at night (doors were left wide open).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and quite

Disliked: rats in the garden,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were big and nice, staff did their best to help when they could. Common areas were big, cool, and relaxing.

Disliked: Nothing to do with the hostel but a bit quiet, they tried to get an activity on each night but lack of people meant they never happened. Also the bathroom had no shower curtains, so wet floor and stagnant smell.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kuo hui chun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 kuo would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: none

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012

Liked: nice room helpful & friendly staff

Disliked: there is no water at night (from 20:00 +-), so the flush toilet won't flush any more... you can imagine the smell................ about 10-15 min walking to the old city center.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 Elements has a nice common area, decent food for a decent price, and different nightly events for each night of the week. It is directly across the Highway from the old town, so I think that makes it a little quieter than being IN the old town. For the price and everything offered, it might be the best hostel we've stayed in since being in China.

Disliked: When they say hot showers, they mean scalding hot. It seems the cold water had been turned off completely.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sauro PANINI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 sauro would recommend this property

Liked: everything simply the best hostel i've been to

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was superfriendly and the rooms very clean and white, since its in baizu minority style and baizu worship the white color. I loved the place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and the Yunnan hot pot was very good!

Disliked: a little difficult to find, especially as taxi drivers don't know it, but apparently most people phone and get directions once they're nearby

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Jaworski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: The differently themed nights (staff teaching you how to make jiaozi-chinese dumplings, movie nights, etc.) . The location (just outside the ancient town, so no noise at nights but only a few minutes walk from all the bars/restaurants). Good atmosphere - the place seems to attract really friendly people. Tourist guides/information in English.

Disliked: The already mentioned issues with hot water - cannot really adjust the temperature in most of the showers. It is either scalding or freezing cold. Laundry service is quite expensive - 25 RMB.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kydd

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

02 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and really helpful. Also the french toast is to die for.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was perfect! Quite small but at least at human size, the staff was extremely friendly and so helpful. They have really nice food, nothing amazing or out of the ordinary but just what you need. They have two lovely dogs always playing around the little courtyard... It feels so cosy that I extended for 3more days!

Disliked: Some of the services offered can be a bit expensive (ie: laudry) but they are a very new hostel so I think they are trying to make as much as possible but there is a bit of everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Fall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right at the base of the mountain. Cool, fun, friendly environment.

Disliked: There are not a lot of bathrooms...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always friendly and aware of anything that we could need,

Disliked: I didn't like that in each floor there is just one bathroom so if you need it, you always have to wait for a while.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Nice location. Clean and comfy beds.

Disliked: limited bathroom facilities. Toilets and showers are in one small room. Menu is small and it doesn't really invite hanging out during the day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden to relax in, very tasty coffee. Staff helped us book accommodation in the mountain and let us store our luggage for two days while we were away free of charge.

Disliked: Limited food menu.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at the hostel we found out that our booking had not come through so they were full for one evening but we were back for 5 nights the following day. Five elements hostel is in a lovely quiet location and only a 5 minute walk to old town. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom which was really clean and pleasant. They have a lovely courtyard area which is very nice to relax in.

Disliked: There was free coffee advertised in the mornings but when we asked we had to pay 5rmb. There was not a large selection of food offered but we ate at plenty of restaurants close by in old town. Wifi did not work too well on the second floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etienne Philipp Liebig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Etienne Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all I liked that the staff was very very friendly and helpful. :-) The garden area is a great place to meet new people, playing pool billard, having a beer or just for relaxing . You can sleep well, because it is quiet at night.

Disliked: Sometimes you need to wait a bit for a free toilet/shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meiling Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Meiling would recommend this property

Liked: These is a beautiful and peaceful garden in the hostel, and my room is really clean and comfutable. Also they arranged many events for gutests, so it is much easier to make friends for people who are travel along.

Disliked: They have to puppys, they are quite cute but one of them stolen my bread.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jess Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at the Five Elements. The staffs are really nice and helpful, and it is the cleanest guest house I had ever seen. Plus they have a really beautiful garden. Nothing can be better than having a breakfast there to start your day!

Disliked: It is a little bit far away from the bar streat, however that makes the guest house really quite at night time.


See all Dali hostels