HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Lily Pad Dali Hostel

West Gate Village, Dali Old Town, Dali, China

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 84%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 23:30

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 84%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We arrived to Dali in the overnight train and got to the hostel early in the morning (around 7:30 AM). The nice reception guy welcomed us and welcomed to our room. We reserved the double room with a view so he owed us a choice because there were couple of rooms available . The room was fantastic, Chinese style designed in the last floor with huge windows towards the mountains and even a little sight of the three pagodas. Overall the staff is super helpful and speaks relatively to China good English, they booked us a bus to Lijiang right from the hostel was more pricy but very convenient. This hostel has a very quite vibe to it. If you are looking for a more party feel, communicative/international hostel there is one (Jade Emu) right across the alley. You can feel free to come and hang out in their bar and meet people.

Disliked: As we arrived the room door got a little rain into it but the personnel solved it few minutes later. The food was pretty medium.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ancient chinese environment. We stayed in a double bedroom. The room is beautiful and really comfortable with extra facilities of making your own chinese tea leaves provided and hair dryer provided. Very quiet place. The staffs are really helpful because they guide and take us personally to board a bus to the train station as we are short of time, unable to speak Mandarin and read Chinese!

Disliked: Nothing to comment because The Lily Pad Inn (Dali) provides extraordinary services.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The wonderful girl at the desk. Could not have been sweeter. Very helpful, and gave me a double room all to myself when I only paid for a dorm room. Was very quiet when I was there, did not see many other people (good and bad).

Disliked: Very quiet, not any atmosphere normally found in hostels. Did not see any activities that could be organised, or any suggestions on what to do in Dali.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,Thanks for staying with us!Sorry that our hostel was a little bit quiet for you! We hope to be a peaceful place for travellers to rest & relax so we wish that you joined our family dinner and made some new friends there.
We have several yards and our information desks should help you find out any info you needed so we are sorry if we didn’t explain this properly.Thanks passing on your thoughts and feelings. Hope we can see you again to give to you more travel info and a good service.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean and nice staff. Nice rabbits, cat, dogs and birds to play with. Really enjoyed and even extended my stay. Good quiet place. If you want to party and meet others, maybe check elsewhere.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The internet was quite reliable. I really enjoyed the family dinner for 15 yuan (also good value for money). And I also liked to cat and dogs they have :). At night it's more quiet than the center of the old town, so you can sleep well.

Disliked: The bathroom could be cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest: Good Day! All the staff, puppies and Lily from The Lily Pad family say hello to you!You left a very deep impression on us with your kind behaviour and fluent Chinese. We enjoyed the TV show of you and we are very happy to be your friends.Thanks for your suggestion regarding the bathroom. Our staff clean it three time per day and we check it often. We will now put notes in every public bathroom to remind young people not to throw toilet paper anywhere and to keep it clean.Thank you,

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs who will chat with you and cute pets. Can book bus trips to lijiang for you too.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked the people, the location, and the assistance from the staff. The staff includes volunteers from Universities around China and their English is very good. Robin was especially helpful to me and invited me to have dinner with the group one night. This time I traveled alone and they all made me feel at home and part of the family.

Disliked: The bathroom was not clean and the sink was not working for the second part of the week. The washing machine was also a menace and needs to be replaced.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was pretty young and easy to communicate with. They gave many suggestions on what to visit during our stay in Dali. Our room was fairly large especially for the price we paid.

Disliked: We came back at 10:45 PM one night and found the doors closed and locked even though they said we would only need a key to get in if we came back past 11:30 PM. No biggie, but after getting no response from ringing the doorbell, we called them to open the front door for us. They said they would open it right away but instead, left us waiting outside for 5 minutes. We had to call again just to find out they had probably "forgotten" that we were waiting outside.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place was an excellent find in Dali. It's about 5 minutes (walking) outside of the hectic ancient city and the staff were absolutely amazing during my time there. Any question was met with a quick response and I would highly recommend the place to anyone traveling in Dali. The food was also pretty good if you needed to quickly grab a bite to eat before heading out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had the deluxe room which was cosy and comfortable, spacious bathroom. The guesthouse has a very nice and relaxing atmosphere. They serve good breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, just outside the old town, but still very close. Would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing, we really loved it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability