We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dali hostels

Reviews of The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China)

Guesthouse | West Gate Village, Dali, Yunnan province, ???????10?13? Dali, China 671003

88.8% Overall Rating

44 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/10/2014)

OOI GUAT CHOO thinks…

"Ancient chinese environment. We stayed in a double bedroom. The room is beautiful and really comfortable with extra facilities of making your own chinese tea leaves provided and hair dryer provided.…"

Read all The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China) reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dali

The Jade Emu International Guesthouse
4.06 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 191 reviews
The Jade Roo International Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.9% 45 reviews
SleepyFish Lodge
8.12 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 72 reviews
The Hidden Plum Hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friends Guesthouse Youth Hostel
97.13 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
Dali Lily's Gargen Inn
4.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Vagabond Inn
32.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dali Golf Resort Villa
48.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

44 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China)'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OOI GUAT CHOO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2014 OOI would recommend this property

Liked: Ancient chinese environment. We stayed in a double bedroom. The room is beautiful and really comfortable with extra facilities of making your own chinese tea leaves provided and hair dryer provided. Very quiet place. The staffs are really helpful because they guide and take us personally to board a bus to the train station as we are short of time, unable to speak Mandarin and read Chinese!

Disliked: Nothing to comment because The Lily Pad Inn (Dali) provides extraordinary services.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The wonderful girl at the desk. Could not have been sweeter. Very helpful, and gave me a double room all to myself when I only paid for a dorm room. Was very quiet when I was there, did not see many other people (good and bad).

Disliked: Very quiet, not any atmosphere normally found in hostels. Did not see any activities that could be organised, or any suggestions on what to do in Dali.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pisterzi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice staff. Nice rabbits, cat, dogs and birds to play with. Really enjoyed and even extended my stay. Good quiet place. If you want to party and meet others, maybe check elsewhere.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The internet was quite reliable. I really enjoyed the family dinner for 15 yuan (also good value for money). And I also liked to cat and dogs they have :). At night it's more quiet than the center of the old town, so you can sleep well.

Disliked: The bathroom could be cleaner.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee Ping New

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Lee Ping would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs who will chat with you and cute pets. Can book bus trips to lijiang for you too.

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Wendy Brown

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people, the location, and the assistance from the staff. The staff includes volunteers from Universities around China and their English is very good. Robin was especially helpful to me and invited me to have dinner with the group one night. This time I traveled alone and they all made me feel at home and part of the family.

Disliked: The bathroom was not clean and the sink was not working for the second part of the week. The washing machine was also a menace and needs to be replaced.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was pretty young and easy to communicate with. They gave many suggestions on what to visit during our stay in Dali. Our room was fairly large especially for the price we paid.

Disliked: We came back at 10:45 PM one night and found the doors closed and locked even though they said we would only need a key to get in if we came back past 11:30 PM. No biggie, but after getting no response from ringing the doorbell, we called them to open the front door for us. They said they would open it right away but instead, left us waiting outside for 5 minutes. We had to call again just to find out they had probably "forgotten" that we were waiting outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was an excellent find in Dali. It's about 5 minutes (walking) outside of the hectic ancient city and the staff were absolutely amazing during my time there. Any question was met with a quick response and I would highly recommend the place to anyone traveling in Dali. The food was also pretty good if you needed to quickly grab a bite to eat before heading out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the deluxe room which was cosy and comfortable, spacious bathroom. The guesthouse has a very nice and relaxing atmosphere. They serve good breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, just outside the old town, but still very close. Would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing, we really loved it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harald Buchmann

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Nice calm place, friendly staff and guests, shared hot-pot with guests and staff. The location is near the old-town and not too far from the famous three pagodas - a must see in Dali.

Disliked: The Lily Pad is actually separated from the old town by a very large and rather dangerous road. If you come for the old town, you may want to choose something across the road (presumably more expensive, though).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's comfortable and welcoming. Love the services available such as DVD and TV and DVDs to watch, great food, and computers with internet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charles Wiley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Just 5 minutes from the popular foreign friendly bakeries, restaurants, and bars.

Disliked: No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Aft

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: WOW, I really loved this place!! Beautiful spacious rooms, great staff who are so helpful and friendly, great "community" life and parties, quiet location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tamara Tilland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so friendly, and the use to pay all in once at the end of the stay make it more enjoyable than in other guesthouses !

Disliked: It would be better to have more toilets in the hostel ... (as the shower is in the same room, it's often busy)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the where super freindly very helpful lots of information......... had a great dumpling making banquet.....

Disliked: hot water was not great and the lovely dogs turned into monster barking dogs at night howling outside our window

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthias Gleiss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

08 August 2011 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: We got the apartment on top of the building. Beautiful view! The second floor looked very nice, too.

Disliked: There's a driving school close to it: Tooting-noise from the early morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Lily Pad is the place to be in Dali, just outside the busy but nice town. This relaxed hostel has a great view on the beautiful surrounding mountaints. The staff includig the owner Erin are the best: so friendly and offer their maximum help to enjoy your stay for 110%. We stay in the great double private on our own rooftop: the best place we ever stayed in an Asian Hostel. They also have some lovely dogs in the garden. Also check-out the livingroom: lots of free DVD's to watch, free water and tea. The best place in town for sure: don't miss it!! We even stayed 3 nights extra: total of six nights. > Great tips: - Cooking class from Rice and Friends (riceandfriends.com) - The hike in the Dali Mountains by chairlift. Luc & Anna from the Netherlands.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARIN BLOM

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 KARIN would recommend this property

Liked: Build in traditional style. Staff are friendly and very helpful and are able to speak English. Rooms are clean and cosy with western tiolet and warm water. We had a wonderful time! Will recommend Lily Pad inn to other travellers.

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kurt Thiele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: The building has a lot of character and is beautiful.

Disliked: I noticed a number of bugs in the bathroom, but this seems to be common everywhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went above and beyond. They were extremely helpful and friendly. They even gave us a free upgrade and invited us to join them for hot pot our first night there.

Disliked: The Lily Pad is a short walk outside of the main section of Old Town Dali, but everything else made up for it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011

Liked: Arranging for ticket and ride to airport

Disliked: A little dirty, Close to main power line.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the people working there and the hostel was gorgeous。

Disliked: Leaving

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay in Dali. Close to the Old Town.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hans soderquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 hans would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and cheap place to stay. Great ad very friendly staff who speak good english. Located close to center. Thank you Erin + staff for one of my best staying ever:)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere and the very friendly and helpful people

Disliked: hot water problems sometimes. WiFi a bit "iffy"


See all Dali hostels