We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dali hostels

Reviews of SleepyFish Lodge

Guesthouse | Yu Er Lu (Near East Gate), Dali, China 671003

93.8% Overall Rating

70 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"They have Dr. Pepper and fresh baked cookies. You don't have to pay for towels. Cozy beds. Very clean. The staff is soo nice! They have a nice little cafe. It's right by all the happenings in old town Dali, but it…"

Read all SleepyFish Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dali

Dali Lily's Gargen Inn
4.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Hidden Plum Hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China)
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
The Jade Emu International Guesthouse
4.06 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 191 reviews
Friends Guesthouse Youth Hostel
97.13 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
The Jade Roo International Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.9% 45 reviews
Vagabond Inn
32.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dali Five Elements Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 90.3% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

70 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SleepyFish Lodge'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have Dr. Pepper and fresh baked cookies. You don't have to pay for towels. Cozy beds. Very clean. The staff is soo nice! They have a nice little cafe. It's right by all the happenings in old town Dali, but it tucked away and quite. The staff can make all your wildest dreams come true... or at least they are very helpful in all the adventures you want to go on or things you need help with.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014

Liked: The hotel is nice IF you choose the more expensive rooms...

Disliked: DON'T BOOK THE BUDGET ROOM The budget room is basically a janitor's closet that they decided to turn into a room one day to appeal to a wider public... It is so tiny that you cannot open your luggage without hitting the bunk bed or the door (tiniest room in 3 months travelling in Asia!). It is not even that clean. The windows can't close, and it gets cold in Dali. Besides, the "mountain view" advertised on hostelbookers is a fantasy, instead you have a view on a rooster and a dog that have a habit of making a concert from 3am to 10am. The worst thing though is the "shared bathroom". Shared, oh damn right it's shared... The ONE toilet/bathroom cabin is shared with all the people eating at the restaurant, the staff, and the other unlucky ones who chose a room without an ensuite bathroom. To reach it, you have to go down a storey in the open corridor, meaning that once you're out of the shower, you have to walk in the cold night to get back to you room... Oh and the shower is either boiling hot (at some point I wondered if the water would be drinkable considering how hot is was) or freezing. So take your pick, being cooked alive or catch pneumonia. I think they should stick to non-budget rooms because they don't seem to know how to offer a decent budget room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is quiet yet well-located. Our triple room had a balcony and plenty of space. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food and drink is good and well priced. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. This is a great place to stay in Dali Old Town and highly recommended.

Disliked: If you don't like dogs you should know there are two big dogs that live at the lodge - they are lovely though. During my stay the internet was down until the last night, but when it worked it was very good and fast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hotel, a bit out of centre. That is good and bad (you need to walk a bit, but it is not that noisy). Great food: both Chinese as Western. The staff was helpful, they helped with booking transportation and had bikes to rent. Nice place with an owner that knows what it takes to be a good hotel. And.. it was nice to have a little chat with her mother!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly helpful staff, nice golden retrievers, affordable room

Disliked: It's way down by the east gate, about a mile walk from the west gate where everything is. Too far away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SleepyFish had a homely feel. The rooms were nice and clean and good size. The room I stayed in had a balcony with seats to sit and relax while enjoying the beautiful courtyard area. They had a pretty good menu selection and food was tasty. I felt safe and staff was very helpful.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janette Mckeogh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: Sleepyfish had been recommend to us and it lived up to all expectations.What an oasis this gem of a place is.It is beautifully appointed,rooms are tastefully furnished in traditional Bai style and beds are just like you have at home!Help from staff was always most professional and friendly and their food was very good.Their muesli and yoghurt breakfast plus their Yunnan coffee was the best ever.Maxine,our host,is also so experienced and competent, and as with her staff,was a delight to meet.There was also plenty of help available which included being able to rent bikes and store our luggage.Nothing was a problem for the staff of this lovely hostel.The two Golden Retrievers and caged birds made this lovely accommodation like home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice outdoor area, good food

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is a little outside the main hub of Dali Old City, which gives it a peaceful atmosphere, yet allowing visitors to get into the midst of the city center fairly quickly. The hospitable and caring staff also contributed to the relaxed, homely atmosphere of the hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big clean room with only 4 beds and a bathroom for the room. Very helpful staff, quiet location (at least 10 min walk to center of old town where the tourist stuff is centered). Highly recommend renting a bike and riding out along the lake through the small villages. It's beautiful and rather empty of tourists.

Disliked: A bit pricey but you are getting a nice room for your money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WANG LAI CHENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 WANG LAI would recommend this property

Liked: it is comfortable and the staff are quite friendly!

Disliked: The hostel is very near to the neighbors and there are many hens and chickens and dogs shouting at the night and also the morning, you will never sleep well if you don't have earplugs with you. There is a lot insects in hostel, I think the staff could clear it more often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sébastien Charpentier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: We were staying in the 2 beds dormitory and it was perfect! The room is cosy with big beds really comfortable. The hotel is really well maintained with a lot of resting areas. The staff is friendly and gives really good advice! We loved staying there and would definitely recommend it! They can arrange bus tickets, bike rental, laundry... They propose breakfasts which are really good.

Disliked: The neighbors have some chickens that are making noises the morning but nothing that earplugs can't stop.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really gemuetlich rooms, nice garden

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very attractive courtyard, new and clean.

Disliked: Serious rooster noise, construction noise and very mediocre breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Kress

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2013 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic! Clean inviting rooms, friendly staff, wonderful hot shower, delicious pancakes and coffee for breakfast. This was my second time staying at the Sleepyfish, and it was just as great as I remembered it. My friend and I rented their bikes for the day, and although they were a bit more expensive than the ones available in town, it was completely worth it. I'm six feet tall, and it was great to use a bike that was actually big enough for me as we cicycled alongside the lake.

Disliked: It's a 20-25 minute walk to Bakery 88 (delicious bakery - we went three days in a row) and into the center of town, but that also means that it's quieter at night, and I guess it's not bad to have to walk off some of the pastries ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gideoni Fuste Coetzee

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Gideoni would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful english-speaking staff, quiet, spacious property, tastefully decorated rooms with very nice bathroom. Out of the humdrum but still easy to reach in within 5-10 minutes. We would certainly come back.

Disliked: We would have liked a shower curtain so that the toilet doesn't get wet when you shower. Slippers would have been nice for the cold floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LaiLai Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 LaiLai would recommend this property

Liked: I like Every thing Staff Friend and helpful .Dogs are funny

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Debra Schramm

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, fabulous food and very comfortable beds.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Our 2nd visit in 3 months. Main part of old town is a short walk from Sleepy Fish.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Sold

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, english speaking, helpfull staff. Very good location in old Dali. Family atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real homely feel and superb quality for the price.

Disliked: nothing except a few neighbouring dogs and cockerals which you'd get anywhere in Dali!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john way

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and you felt you were part of a family. The whole experience was delightful.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is tucked away in the ancient city. It is calm and peaceful. The rooms themselves were stunning. Wooden floors, white sheets, open windows, soft beds, an amazing ensuite bathroom...it just makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. They are also spacious and so clean. I like that you have a view of the mountains from some places as well as most the rooms have a balcony and out door sitting. The grounds have a pond and a few water features.

Disliked: There really is hardly anything I dislike about this place. I have stayed here 3 times and each time was better than the last. I think about this place and I can't wait to retreat there often.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Royston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place! Dorms were incredibly clean, comfy beds and spotless ensuite bathroom. Great atmosphere, nice garden with outdoor seating.

Disliked: It was by no means expensive- but could have explained some of the hidden extras better: booking fee, milk etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place, really liked it.

Disliked: nothing


See all Dali hostels