HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dali hostels

Reviews of SleepyFish Lodge

Guesthouse | Yu Er Lu (Near East Gate), Dali, China 671003

93.8% Overall Rating

69 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2013)

"This place is quiet yet well-located. Our triple room had a balcony and plenty of space. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food and drink is good and well priced. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. This is a great…"

Read all SleepyFish Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.18
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dali

Tibetan Lodge
7.28 USD

Hostel 69.0% 64 reviews
Dali Lily's Gargen Inn
4.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Hidden Plum Hostel
4.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China)
5.66 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 44 reviews
The Jade Emu International Guesthouse
4.05 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 186 reviews
Friends Guesthouse Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
The Jade Roo International Hostel
4.05 USD

Hostel 91.9% 45 reviews
MCA hotel
2.43 USD

Guesthouse 70.1% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

69 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SleepyFish Lodge'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 71 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JACOB STORBAKKEN

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 August 2012 JACOB would recommend this property

Liked: The Sleepyfish is a great place for a getaway retreat. The staff and dogs are very friendly and welcoming. The place has a very relaxed tranquil vibe tucked away from the main tourist traps but close enough that they are within reach. The cafe serves up a wonderful variety of comfort foods-pastas, pizzas, sandwiches etc which are really budget friendly.

Disliked: JACOB left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful area and hotel!

Disliked: Lots of dogs barking throughout the night every single night we were there which was extremely annooying!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SleepyFish is such a comfortable, inviting place. The grounds and rooms are lovely and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the food is great! I loved coming in the gate and being greeted by the wagging tails of the 2 loveable Golden Retrievers! SleepyFish makes you feel at home and welcomed. So, I am sure I will be staying here again in years to come!

Disliked: Nothing - wish I could stay longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Folta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 June 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The property is overflowing with life. Exotic trees, tons of colorful flowers, a fishpond with lotus flowers resting on the surface, two friendly and playful golden retrievers, trilling songbirds, and even two chinchillas in the cafe. Sleepyfish Lodge even has a lawn (not currently in the best condition), a rare occurance in Dali, let alone China. Most of the staff can speak English fairly well, and you might find yourself amiably chatting with one of them for a while. Not only all this, but their western food is REAL western food, not fake renditions or anything like what you would normally get in China. Their beds are softer than most beds in China, and most hotels in China too. You will most likely chance upon the owners of Sleepyfish Lodge, and even though they are often on busy agendas, they cheerfully take the time to assist you with anything you need.

Disliked: You might encounter a small bug or two in the room during your stay. At night, a few large mosquitos and other smaller bugs cling to the outdoor halls, but they are not agressive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

fergal seeballuck

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 fergal would recommend this property

Liked: location excellent - and staff very VERY helpful and nice. Made the stay in Dali really nice - its in a good area of Dali, with normal life and very quiet. Good connections to surrounding area.

Disliked: Facilities/ services a bit pricey. Only hostel that I had to pay for internet in - breakfast, snacks, coffees, laundry etc basically priced for Westerners and the shared shower was not so good. Otherwise - good stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The soft beds were the best I have slept on in China, a real bonus. The staff spoke great English and were very helpful with travel advice and everything else. I happened to be there for a wood fired pizza night and it was fabulous! With clean rooms and a great garden I really didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff; nice environment

Disliked: The neighbour's cockerel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yehonatan daniel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 May 2012 yehonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, feel like home..

Disliked: The bar/cafe close around 2300 that's all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Flammang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The location is close to everything the old town of DaLi has to offer, but not so close that noise is a problem. The property is serene and beautiful. A perfect get-a-way in the midst of a getaway (or stay) town. The staff is great, the food is fantastic, the atmosphere comfortable, and the rooms clean. This is by far the BEST "hostel" I've stayed in all of my travels. Like the name, it is more of a "lodge", at a hostel price. I truly hope to make it back! I recommend this place to everyone...solo trekkers, couples, families....everyone except party animals. This place is not for you - there are plenty of other places close to the party scene, if that is your preference. With that said though, you would still be welcome here. Everyone is welcome. All the rooms have a bathroom ensuite except the economy single (which I had) but it was not a problem. I also rented a bike for two days and it was a quality bike, better than anywhere else in town (prices are comparable to other places in town or you can pay a bit more for a better bike). There are also two sweet Golden Retriever dogs on the property. They love attention but if you are not a dog person, they will leave you alone.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked is that I was unable to stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah little

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Employs both local and international staff with great English and knowledge of the local area. Rooms are Hotel rather than Hostel standard with the best showers in china and western mattresses. Great atmosphere to the place and makes it feel like a Home away from Home 2 Lovely dogs live at the hostel as well :-)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel, good location, and extremely helpful and nice staff/owners . they do everything to make your stay as nice as possible. definitely worth to stay at!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentin Wittmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Valentin would recommend this property

Liked: + very nice and helpful staff + the rooms quality was almost luxurious + decent style + good food like self-made bread, pizza, breakfast etc. + all services you need, like bike/scooter rental, transport booking, tips for the area etc.

Disliked: - the dogs were somehow nice but in the end a bit annoying as they were always dirty and repeatedly bite our stuff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 May 2011 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people. Comfortable rooms. Restful garden. Every room has a balcony overlooking the garden.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Starkey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful and quiet... away from Old Town's noise but still close enough to walk into town when you want to. Really good breakfasts!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent standard of accommodation, clean, homely and close to all amenities. Very friendly owners and staff. Would love to return!

Disliked: Nothing!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kylie Astall

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 February 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: This place is fine, but it suffers from a bad location. It is a couple of kms from the main centre of town, and nestled between large white washed chinese hotels, it is also lacking in character. The more authentic hostels down cobblestone alleys on the western side of town are significantly more charming (and slightly cheaper).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy pelletier

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect clean et the owner is helpfull

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, informative and beautiful and clean rooms, great for couples

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room is clean and comfortable (quite rare in China), and the food is great.

Disliked: Truly nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have never stayed in a hostel that was such a good deal for the very low price. It really was as good as many western hotels or inns. The beds were extremely comfortable, everything was clean and well-decorated, we had our own balcony, the owners were helpful with whatever we needed, we could order food even late at night, and the whole experience was completely charming. This is my favorite hostel in the world, and I've been to many.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. Located in the east gate, it's quiet but at a walking distance from the busy area. Rooms are very nice and clean. Good place to relax and have a break.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean rooms and toilets, beautiful front yard.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christine ong

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 christine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at SleepyFish. The location is splendid. its near the shopping street but is not noisy as it is at a quiet corner.The view is great from the highest floor. You get a good view of the Cangshan range.The room is cosy and clean. One of the best beds i've slept on while travelling. The staff is friendly and they make you feel at home. I even had many opportunities to chat up the owners, Max and Tracy. I love the dogs. They make the stay even more pleasant and homely. The room rate is excellent for such a wonderful place. Definitely coming back!

Disliked: cant think of any.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pizza me like

Disliked: not 24 h reception

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen (Heidi Shepard's sister) Lewis

26 June 2010 Karen (Heidi Shepard's sister) would recommend this property

Liked: The proprietors are so friendly and helpful. Sleepyfish has a nice large room (adjacent to the registration area) which is a great place to eat meals (home cooked delicious breakfast also available), use the computer, play games with a group or just curl up with a good book. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, many with outdoor balconies. Sleepyfish is an easy walk to the bus stops and a very reasonable walk to Old Dali (shops, restaurants, etc.) We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this to others.

Disliked: Karen (Heidi Shepard's sister) left no negative feedback.


See all Dali hostels