We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dali hostels

Reviews of The Jade Emu International Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Area 10, West Gate Village, Dali, China 671003

94.3% Overall Rating

190 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Jack Reid thinks…

"This was the best hostel so far in China. (Travelling 2 months) We had a double budget room. Great atmosphere. Table tennis and pool table was fun. Also guitars and much more. Food was lovely…"

Read all The Jade Emu International Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dali

The Lily Pad Inn (Dali, China)
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
The Jade Roo International Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 91.9% 45 reviews
SleepyFish Lodge
8.12 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 72 reviews
The Hidden Plum Hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friends Guesthouse Youth Hostel
97.13 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
Dali Lily's Gargen Inn
4.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Vagabond Inn
32.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dali Golf Resort Villa
48.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

190 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Jade Emu International Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seiji kawakami

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 seiji would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff.

Disliked: few minutes walk from old town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Reid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel so far in China. (Travelling 2 months) We had a double budget room. Great atmosphere. Table tennis and pool table was fun. Also guitars and much more. Food was lovely too and reasonable priced. The price of hostel is very very reasonable. Great location too.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great set up and location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, atmosphere, staff. No complaints whatsoever

Disliked: Nothing I absolutely loved it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rafadin Buranaosot

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 February 2014 Rafadin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: no lift

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel with nice and helpful staff even with the interpretation errors. The beds are comfy and warm.The food and drinks were good. The hostel isn't in old Dali, but it's so close, it doesn't matter. Great value. Would stay here again if I come back.

Disliked: Sound traveled easily from the courtward into my room, but this did not keep me from sleeping and I believe the courtward closed early enough. So, all in all, it wasn't really a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: four bed dorm with shared bath is big and comfortable

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facebook! heated blankets!

Disliked: incorrect directions on map, public bus 8 dropped us on the opposite side of the old town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the main attractions. Electric blanket is much needed. courtyard. Staff awesome - Ivan is so cute!

Disliked: Toilets seem blocked easily. Laundry expensive. The owner didn't seem very welcoming, but the rest of staff were good. Very far from bus and train station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, wonderful atmosphere, clean rooms, amazing food, and seriously comfy beds! I had a wonderful time here and plan to stay at Jade Emu every time I come to Dali!

Disliked: Wish there could be WiFi in the rooms (had to use it in the common area, which isn't terrible, but it would have been nice to have WiFi in my dorm room), and toilet paper doesn't always get replaced in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Best hostel I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all good.

Disliked: all good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dor hajbi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 dor would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and well runned hostel

Disliked: not anything worse to write

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and a pleasant place to relax at the end of the day.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dagmar Voges

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 August 2013 Dagmar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very well kept standard.

Disliked: Dagmar left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I could stay only for one night because after that night it was already fully booked. I can understand why :-). It's a really nice and clean hostel in a calm place very close to the center but not in the center, so you can sleep at night. I wish I could have stayed for longer, the hostel I stayed in afterwards wasn't that clean.

Disliked: I didn't have time to find anything I wouldn't like.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Park

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very helpful, very nice room, spacious and aesthetically pleasing, good facilities, easy to find,

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Ehler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The buildings are beautiful; the dorm beds are big and soft; everything is clean; it's close to old town; there's free wifi. But the best part of all is the great staff. The girls there are so sweet and smart. (Hi May and Ivy! You girls are awesome!) They made my stay very special. This is my favourite hostel in the world!

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Babbage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice court yard to relax in. Close to the centre of Dali, good western food available.

Disliked: Nowt!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent! BBC-TV in room, DVDs, Wi-Fi in room, modern, clean room with many styles of electric sockets to fit all electronic plugs, hot shower. Restaurant had good food, both Western and Chinese. Bar. Very convenient location across the street from huge marketplace and near transportation. Security guard at night. Made bus reservation to Lijiang for me.

Disliked: Everything was excellent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nic Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and great hang out area. Nice atmosphere and tasty well-priced food.

Disliked: There is only 1 shower for all the shared bathroom dorms. I switched into the private bathroom dorm for a couple more yuan and it was worth it. Both dorms are great though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a fab and friendly hostel! Super staff, great international atmosphere, with everything a traveller wants/needs. Even though I was, sadly, only there for one night I was made to feel welcome and valued as a guest.

Disliked: Only small thing, I guess, is that there didn't seem to be any hot water when I tried to shower at about 6.15am. Probably my fault for getting up so early though!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful hostel with a lovely courtyard. The staff all speak great English and are really nice and helpful. The wifi works well with access to all websites. The food is delicious and priced well. The bed is very comfy.

Disliked: Some of the staff stay in the dorm room - if you don't want to be woken up every morning at 6.30am, maybe try and ask for a different room. Also I was told by the staff that only Chinese students cards work when visiting the pagodas - not true, my international one was accepted fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nick peplow

Alone

City break

20 February 2013 nick would recommend this property

Liked: I'm not suprised a number of westerners live here, its an exceptionally friendly place. Communal fires in the evening were very welcome, was a nice change to chat with the owner and those living locally. BBQ was on when I arrived, good value for money. Easily the nicest place I stayed in China

Disliked: it's on the wrong side of the highway, but it's not really an issue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Cuthbert

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 February 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location a short walk from the West Gate of old Dali; great price; very clean and quiet; all services a traveller requries were supplied, like meals, pool table and internet - even access to Facebook!

Disliked: As it was a more modern building, it had less character than some hostels, but the helpfulness of staff, and spacious well appointed rooms and extra common facility services were much appreciated.


See all Dali hostels