We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tina's Hostel Chongqing

Hostel | No 149 Zhongxing Road, Yuzhong District, ChongQing, China 400000

59.3% Overall Rating

7 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Niina Alatalo thinks…

"I liked absolutely nothing in this terrible place, it shiuld be removed from the hostelbookers. Pictures and rates dont show the reality!"

Read all Tina's Hostel Chongqing reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to ChongQing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in ChongQing

Mingqing Hostel
7.96 USD

Hostel 57.1% 3 reviews
Chongqing Greenforest Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 12 reviews
YangtzeRiver International Youth Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 88.9% 140 reviews
Perfect Time Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 77.3% 36 reviews
Red Chili Guesthouse
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Deck88 International Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.3%

Overall Rating

7 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tina's Hostel Chongqing'

Atmosphere
57.5%
Location
62.5%
Facilities
55.0%
Cleanliness
51.3%
Staff
66.3%
Value
67.5%
Safety
55.0%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Niina Alatalo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014

Liked: I liked absolutely nothing in this terrible place, it shiuld be removed from the hostelbookers. Pictures and rates dont show the reality!

Disliked: Everything!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Santamera

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Tina's Hostel is really friendly and the staff were very heplful in directing us to local fascilities

Disliked: Tina's Hostel is OK

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: If it has changed management since I stayed please ignore my comments. I stayed over one year ago and had such a bad experience at this hostel that I moved after one night. It was very difficult to find, with no signs near the property, or instructions on how to get there online. Local people on the main street had no idea where it was - I only eventually found it by chance. The staff were super unhelpful when I stayed. I needed travel information, and they only pointed at the wall which had some notices on it. The room that I was goven was a 6 bed dorm - no one else staying in it. The damp was so bad it flared up my asthma immediately. I asked to change rooms, and so was moved to another - the damp was better but still needs attention. I don't often review negatively, and I am generally very accepting of different standards, but on this occasion I felt ill, lost and disappointed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: Avoid this place during cold winter months. Despite the heating machine, the room was cold which made the whole stay very uncomfortable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: - Toilet door did not close

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Antoine Legrand

Alone

Events / festivals

02 October 2013 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly atmosphere and nice terrace

Disliked: booking not handled properly: the room I booked was not available when I arrived

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The room was really really dirty, old and unfurnished. Very expensive for what we got.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 October 2012

Liked: Leaving!

Disliked: THIS PLACE IS PURE FILTH AND A DISASTER TO STAY AT !! I warn you not even consider staying here! Firstly, it is situated in the grimiest area in all of ChongQing at the arse end of a shit hole, crack whore alleyway with no lighting, broken toilets and human faeces (literally) all along the broken steps - The exact place you would warn your friends and loved ones to avoid walking down at night for fear of mugging, rape and murder. Seriously. Then you walk into reception to find all the ''staff'' sitting around the tiny, crampt, sodden reception drinking insanely (not like at a party but like depressed alcoholics) and really not giving much of a shit to help you out or check you in. Once eventually checked in you are tossed a key to a room so utterly overgrown with mould it actually makes your guts wrench and your eye balls retreat in disgust. Asking for and viewing other rooms in the hostel proves to have the same disgusting result. Each covered in a huge amount of festering mould, each damp, sodden and sweaty and each pumping a fowl stench of raw fecal sewage into the bedroom from the tiny 'bathroom' which is so small the you have to side step into it past the sink and then should you manage to hold your breath long enough to have a shower you would literally be standing on either side of the squat toilet pan with shower water splashing back up onto your legs you from inside the toilet pan DIRECTLY beneath you. (I wasn't brave enough to dare the shower). The 'double' bed we booked was the size of a piece of A4 paper, disgustingly sticky, sweaty and damp and had been shagged into oblivion for so many years that the only thing between you and the cold metal bars of the bed frame beneath the 'mattress' were all the sharp spikes of the busted metal springs and a sweaty sheet. For something more comfortable I might suggest hacking off your own leg without the joy of anasthetic. If you use Hostelbookers for your reservation like we did, they will attempt to charge you the 10% deposit again which you already paid to Hostelbookers when you check in. Luckily I am resident in China and can speak Chinese but should you not be so fortunate you will encounter a great deal of uselessness from the staff who's English is by far and away the least competent of any hostel we have encountered in China. In simple terms, if you stay at this hostel without the ability to speak Chinese you will be completely on your own for ideas, directions and transportation suggestions in the enormous city. End note - I hate to write bad things about someone elses business but this hostel really was a cut below the lowest of standards and I highly recommend you stay anywhere else so as not to let this place ruin your impression of ChongQing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012

Liked: convenient location but the alleyway to get to the entrance of the hostel doesnt look welcoming. Good value for money

Disliked: there were many problems concerning the bookings. They didnt find ours in the computer and other people had to leave!!!Our room was extremely mouldy and situated directly next to the reception which gives you a high noise level at all times. It looks very rund down and the signs to find the hostel are poor! Wifi is very instable. The staff's English is quite poor as well but they do try to help you!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: I was quite looking forward to my stay at Tina's, given the great ratings lathered on the place by lonely planet, but man, was I disappointed. The staff kept me waiting for AGES when I checked in (and they weren't busy... it was just me, arriving around 10 PM, with a staff of three people behind the desk). It wasn't a language issue either--I actually speak a decent amount of Chinese. The rooms and facilities were very, very dirty as well. Also, hotels and hostels in the most famously hot and humid city really ought to have AC (or at least a working fan!) in every room. This one, sadly, did not. I've been traveling in China for about 3 months now, and I hate to say it, but this was by far the worst hostel I've stayed in during my entire stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EMMA WARD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: I've been on the road for over a year now and I'm feeling a bit old and tired. The staff at this hostel fixed that. They are SO nice and bent over backwards to make my stay here comfortable and enjoyable. I had only booked a dorm room, but when the air conditioning broke they moved me to a different room all to myself. This was wonderful, but what was nicest about it was I didn't have to ask, they knew that the weather was very hot and just without question moved me so that I would get a good night's sleep. I really valued that. I have never reviewed a hostel before, but really felt I owed them a nice write up. They were great.

Disliked: It is down a few steps off the road, which made it a bit tricky for my taxi to find late at night, but they are so helpful and polite on the phone it would be no problem to call them if you can't see it. There is quite a big sign on the main road, I just didn't see it!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tinas hostel is perfect for summer days, as we experienced a beautiful time on the roof terrace and roof garden. It is such a quite piece on earth in the middle of chongqing. The locaton is okay but at first sight, we were scared as it is close ti chinese ghettos. But local people are very friendly and staff is very helpful. Pay attention to the sign for Tinas hostel on the left side, actually it is a weird graffiti.

Disliked: The bath facilities were a little bit poor, but we got hot water all the time for 3 people.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Christopher Lanoue

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011

Liked: Not a thing.

Disliked: We can start with the location. It was very hard to find as it was located in the middle of a ghetto. I am used to being in China and know that everything is not new and shiny but, this place was in an actual ghetto. We had to go down deep dark alleys strewn with piles of trash and ferral animals all over. There were no lights at night and you could really hurt yourself if take a missstep. When we checked in, they did not take a copy of our passports like you are supposed to do to register us with the police. The listing that they reference on Lonley Planet was wrong. The rooms were very dirty. Walls black with mold. The locks on the doors were broken so they attached little padlocks instead of fixing the locks on the doors. The windows would not lock. When we complained about the above, the girl behind the counter informed us that they were not a hostel and the Chinese owner didn't care about fixing anything. We wanted to try and look for another place on-line but of course no internet so we had to do that by foot. We were unable sadly to find any rooms because of the national holiday and we were stuck staying in that hell hole of a hostel. We had sleep on the other end of the bed so that we wouldnt have our heads by the moldy black wall.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice meal and very friendly staff

Disliked: located in near a small dirty street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yiou Lou

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Yiou would recommend this property

Liked: good location near the metro. old community but good view and big balcony, staff are kind and helpful for chat :-).

Disliked: thx if can clean the rubbish near the entrance to the hostel. some flowers are possible?