HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Chongqing Hostel

Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 76%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.28USD

Important Information

If you want to cancel your booking, you need contact the website.
Please take your valid passport to check in and we only take cash (Chinese RMB), please prepare enough money for your room fee.
Check-in time is after 2pm.You can check-in anytime,if your room is available when you arrive here.Otherwise we can store your luggage if your room is not ready and you can have a rest in our common area.
Check-out time is before 12:00pm. After check out, We would like to keep your luggage until you are ready to depart.
Wish you have a wonderful trip in 2014!!!!
See you soon!!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chongqing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 76%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Excellent! Great staff, good food if you need a snack or something more, and great travel recommendations in Chongqing and elsewhere.

Disliked: Could be cleaner and facilities somewhat dated. Located at the bottom of a huge hill, which is great if you want to see the river -- but be prepared to climb a lot of stairs!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, all round good place to stay

Disliked: Stairs!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: View from common area, wifi was good, staff very friendly and helped us book Yangtze river cruise

Disliked: Changed name of hostel and didn't let us know, even though we had been sending them emails

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was mostly nice and could speak English. The beds had heating blankets in them to combat the cold. Some information provided for tourism.

Disliked: It was in a really terrible location. This would be the reason I would say not to go. It's a hike to get places and the surrounding area isn't the most welcoming. I wasn't comfortabke walking alone at night. The information provided in books by the hostel wasn't really that helpful? It was mostly in Chinese. As in many parts of 'Southern' China there's no heating, just AC units. The common area is colder than outside and our AC unit wasn't ever turned on. Maybe it's better in more favorable weather but I didn't have the best time here. AND my welcoming drink was just a cup of hot water.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff knows English and be friendly.

Disliked: The way to go to this hostel from the subway is not clear for incoming tourists. So, there should be more specific map to go to the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap dorms, airco during the night, friendly staff, clean toilets and showers.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were really helpful. They have folders filled with info and guides on what's good to do/how to get there which was really helpful. Showers were great too.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good Angelina was very friendly and knowledgeable

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear, i think you are already start teaching students now? Still wish you can come back to yangtze river youth hostel.
Kind Regards,
Angelina

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location near to the Yangtze Three Gorges River cruise. Provides individual power point, lights and privacy curtain. Free can of beer as welcome drink!

Disliked: The metal plank thingy covering the road opposite the hostel makes loud noise like every other 5 seconds when vehicles pass by. Not entirely the hostel's fault though. No showers on 3F, had to go all the way up to 4F.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, Thank for your review. As you said that the loud noise outside is not our fault. It will be OK after the construction of the bridge. We are so happy that you have a nice stay at our hostel, because we are near to the dock, which is good to take the Yangtze River Cruise. Nest time we will arrange you to stay on the 4th floor so that you will be close to the shower room.

Best Regards
Henry

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was very large and comfortable, the bed was very soft. The french toast was quite good, the bar had a great happy hour cocktail offer. We found the staff very helpful and informative, it looked like there were lots of options for further travel, too. Good strong coffee.

Disliked: The muesli was disappointing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our muesli is made of some fruit, nuts and yogurt. If you have any suggestion of making it, please send email to our hostel. We really appraciate your help.
Kind Regards,
Angelina

Check Availability