We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YangtzeRiver International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.80 Chang Bin Road, Yu Zhong District, ChongQing, China 00000

88.9% Overall Rating

134 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Samantha Davis thinks…

"Staff were really helpful. They have folders filled with info and guides on what's good to do/how to get there which was really helpful. Showers were great too."

Read all YangtzeRiver International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you want to cancel your booking, you need contact the website. Please take your valid passport to check in and we only take cash (Chinese RMB), please prepare enough money for your room fee. Check-in time is after 2pm.You can check-in anytime,if your room is available when you arrive here.Otherwise we can store your luggage if your room is not ready and you can have a rest in our common area. Check-out time is before 12:00pm. After check out, We would like to keep your luggage until you are ready to depart. Wish you have a wonderful trip in 2014!!!! See you soon!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to ChongQing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in ChongQing

Tina's Hostel Chongqing
4.87 USD

Hostel 59.3% 16 reviews
Mingqing Hostel
7.96 USD

Hostel 57.1% 3 reviews
Chongqing Greenforest Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 12 reviews
Perfect Time Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 77.3% 36 reviews
Red Chili Guesthouse
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Deck88 International Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

134 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YangtzeRiver International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap dorms, airco during the night, friendly staff, clean toilets and showers.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful. They have folders filled with info and guides on what's good to do/how to get there which was really helpful. Showers were great too.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Mainey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: very good Angelina was very friendly and knowledgeable

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location near to the Yangtze Three Gorges River cruise. Provides individual power point, lights and privacy curtain. Free can of beer as welcome drink!

Disliked: The metal plank thingy covering the road opposite the hostel makes loud noise like every other 5 seconds when vehicles pass by. Not entirely the hostel's fault though. No showers on 3F, had to go all the way up to 4F.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Frans Levy-Andersson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Frans would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very large and comfortable, the bed was very soft. The french toast was quite good, the bar had a great happy hour cocktail offer. We found the staff very helpful and informative, it looked like there were lots of options for further travel, too. Good strong coffee.

Disliked: The muesli was disappointing.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice clean place. Good showers, hairdryer etc, rooms very clean, curtains on bunks for privacy. Staff are very helpful although English is limited they make every effort to help. Food is lovely

Disliked: Bed was quite hard and uncomfortable and the location is a little strange, the steps down to the hostel are seriously dark at night, no lights!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel

Disliked: location is a little out of the way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die angestellten waren nett und hilfsbereit. Die Lobby war sehr nett eingerichtet. Das Bier war billig. Man kam mit anderen Leuten schnell ins Gespräch.

Disliked: Es war stets kalt. In den Schlafsälen gab es Heizdecken. Die Yangtsetour die sie verkaufen ist nicht zu empfehlen (kein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis). Wir waren aber auch im Dezember da, vielleicht ist es im Sommer besser.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to book tours through them, and super friendly staff.

Disliked: Internet wasn't very fast.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff help me with much travel information about Chongqing. the lobby and room are both beautiful. by the way, you can river view there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Jeffrey PLATE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Allan Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything accept the location

Disliked: Very hard to find

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Windmueller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the common area with the restaurant was nice and comfortable. Food is good and prices are affordable.

Disliked: We booked online a 4 bed dorm but when we checked in they gave us a 6 bed dorm with the remark that those dorm is better than the 4 bed dorm. However we ended up in a very small and dark room for 6 people. The room seemed to be still under construction compared to the other dorm rooms. Its located in the harbor area where it is very dirty and also the connection to the main area is bad. No restaurants close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrum nah

Disliked: Sehr laut

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, I booked my Yangtze River Cruise here and they did it all for me. The bathrooms were spotless and so where the rooms. There is a bar, which is good for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: The location is quite far out of the centre, and being a female traveller alone I didn't always feel safe in the area that the hostel was located. There isn't many places to eat around the hostel and the supermarket is a 20 min walk. The Chinese food in the bar was good, but the breakfasts and pizza I had was very poor, one of my breakfasts came out freezing cold and the pizza was under cooked.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raashad Hasan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Raashad would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room. Really helpful staff! Good internet connection Close to pier and to bus station

Disliked: not much!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Durbas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 August 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: No

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: Not much, but the ladies on reception were lovely!!

Disliked: It was very very dirty. My sheets had obviously not been changed, and the toilets had clearly not been cleaned for a loooong time!! Not very nice as the shower is in the toilet (no problem if cleaned daily!) We arrived quite late so just bought a noodle pot and beer but half way through eating it they just turbed off all the lights and sent us upstairs - no atmosphere at all. Was glad it was a one night stay.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: It is located right across from the river and there is a view once the smog lifts. The showers could use some updating but the water was HOT and great shower. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a bar and food to buy.

Disliked: This property is not close to eating places and it is a bit remote. There is a trail up the hill but it is a bit of a walk and not well lit. So, night walks are really not recommended. At the top of the hill there is shopping and lots of places to eat.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maciek Roszkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Maciek would recommend this property

Liked: Staff. It's to easy to fall in love with this this beautiful, nice, helpful girls :) they booked me other hostels,invated for hotpot, recomended good place to go. This hostel have one of the best staff which I have ever meet. And it means something because I travel a lot and I was hostel menager for six years. thanks a lot of for your help! Also I liked bar which was very nice place to talk in the evenings.

Disliked: renew some things and also after nearby bridge construction will finish (it's not noisy in hostel itself but near hostel is deconstruction and construction area) will be perfect place to stay. But I recomend this hostl to everyone!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were extremely nice and helpful with directions. They were honest on what they would recommend doing in the city. Was able to do so much in one day with their help. Overall, the rooms were really clean and the hostel itself was a joy to come back to every time.

Disliked: They are building a bridge nearby the hotel but that didn't bother us at all. They even give you earplugs if you need them. The only problem we encountered was our shower flip-flopping from either cold to hot or hot to REALLY really hot.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who are very helpful! Location is also excellent

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

rossella siniscalco

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 rossella would recommend this property

Liked: good position if u have to go on the three gorges cruise, few mints walking from the dock.

Disliked: terrible surrounding, with construction buildings and demolished ones at the same time. not a good place to go out, expecially at night, for a walk.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Duncan Reed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Well located by the river and not far from the cbd. Had all the facilities you would want in a hostel and the staff.were helpful

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Curtis

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: handy location and extremely helpful staff. They gave a card with map of location and directions to bank, supermarket, temple and cable car, instructions in English and Chinese for taxi driver to get us back to the hostel. Brilliant assistance given to non Chinese speakers. Very secure luggage room for free.

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...