HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel

Hostel | No.98, Dongsheng Jie, Chengdu, China 6100000

92.0% Overall Rating

32 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Carola Fernandez Moores thinks…

"Excellent hostel! The private rooms are very big and confortable, with nice bed, and hot water. It is very well located near buses, metro, places to eat. Was very clean. The staff were very polite…"

Read all Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.98
  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Chengdu Traffic Inn
7.30 USD

Hostel 90.3% 337 reviews
Skylark Lodge
7.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nova Traveller's Lodge
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 68 reviews
The Loft Hostel
8.11 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews
Sam's Guesthouse
9.41 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 60 reviews
Chengdu Free Guys Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 90.5% 12 reviews
JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.95 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
8.11 USD

Hostel 93.4% 136 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carola Fernandez Moores

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! The private rooms are very big and confortable, with nice bed, and hot water. It is very well located near buses, metro, places to eat. Was very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful with nice english. The restaurant has very good local food but western food was not good for us. Beer has good price for a hostel.

Disliked: Wifi was not good the first two days, the last day was ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chawalee Chotikaprakhan

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Chawalee would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Decoration, Service

Disliked: Cleanliness of the bathroom and Towel was under average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yosefus Yosefus

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Yosefus would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the top destination a round Chengdu city.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and facilities and location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food

Disliked: Wifi was hit or miss coming and going

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff importany

Disliked: everything ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Dollinger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: Main lounge/communal area is great, extra bonus with the pool table.

Disliked: The staff was helpful to a certain degree but whenever I had questions it seemed as if I was wasting their time. They also left out some major details in terms of getting to certain attractions around Chengdu.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YeeHa Carolyn Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 YeeHa Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a busy district in Chengdu, great for shopping. The hostel also organizes activities like city walk, bike tour around the city and dumpling parties...etc which make our stay even more interesting.

Disliked: The bathroom smells a little bit, would be nice to clean it twice a day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Widjojo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful as soon as we entered until the point we left. The common area had a good atmosphere and we a received a free beer coupon each! One if the cleaning ladies even took my luggage all the way up the stairs.

Disliked: The bathroom was a wet floor style and the drainage wasn't great so the water didn't drain properly when we had a shower, and the water nearly flowed out the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best that I have used in China. It's well-managed and its staff is friendly and helpful. Facility is good and cleanliness is very adequate. Theft seems to be a problem because there are warnings posted all over the place, but don't we all need to be very careful about belongings anyway?

Disliked: wifi is very weak inside my room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reva Watson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Reva would recommend this property

Liked: I love the laid back and welcoming atmosphere of this hostel, it has that nice homey feel to it with lots of great activities for you to take part in. The rooms are nice and great value for the price, and you can see they make a great effort to be sustainable and make you happy. More hostels should be like this!

Disliked: There was a bit of painting of certain items in the bathroom that gave it that unpleasant oil paint smell, but I guess it had to be done at some point. And I would have liked the cooking class to have been more about selecting the items in the market and learning the Chinese words- but that's personal because I live in china

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEN YU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 CHEN would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: CHEN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a such a great place to stay in Chengdu ! Very comfortable, very nice and friendly staff. Perfect location, great food. They even offer you a free beer on your first stay !

Disliked: There was a rat on the common area, and you might wait a bit in the morning for breakfast... but nothing terrible !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice communal area and great character. Bathroom was very nice in he private room.

Disliked: Beds were quite uncomfortable and the wifi in the room was poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shin Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Shin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good environment!

Disliked: Not really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, young, fun good roof terrace. cheap beer and good food

Disliked: Bathroom drains bit smelly

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: WARNING! THEFT! Lost a bag of newly purchased clothes between the break I went out for breakfast. The staff's indifferent attitude and unhelpfulness gave me another strike that I had no choice but to call police (dial 110) for help. However, I rushed for time and in the end could not find out who the stealer was nor get back my clothes. Other traveller had same experience ( refer to rating& comment by Raashad Hasan on 19/08/2013 reporting money missing). No wonder the staff is indifferent, probably theft is frequent in this hostel and they get used to it already. 请务必注意人生及财物安全.

Disliked: WARNING! THEFT! Lost a bag of newly purchased clothes between the break I went out for breakfast. The staff's indifferent attitude and unhelpfulness gave me another strike that I had no choice but to call police (dial 110) for help. However, I rushed for time and in the end could not find out who the stealer was nor get back my clothes. Other traveller had same experience ( refer to rating& comment by Raashad Hasan on 19/08/2013 reporting money missing). No wonder the staff is indifferent, probably theft is frequent in this hostel and they get used to it already. 请务必注意人生及财物安全.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to reach by public transport. Very friendly and helpful staff. They offer a free tour around the city; that was very nice. It helps you to get to know the city, and may be even better, some very friendly Chinese people working at the hostel! Food was good, as was the panda tour.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit smelly because of problems with the sewage system. The rest was great!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good sized dorms with lockers reading lights & charging by each bed. the bar was really good size and friendly

Disliked: don't bother booking a panda tour its promoted as half day but only got 1.5 hours there!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raashad Hasan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Raashad would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere. Lounge was an excellent place to hang out and meet other people. Staff really helpful too. Central location very close to main bus station too. Go to a dumpling party too! Great fun!

Disliked: Money went missing...possibly cleaner but not sure! Toilet not completely clean but few complaints otherwise!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Karlsson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is awesome! The location is really good and the rooms are comfortable. I like it that they had curtains for the bunkbeds. The commonroom is nice and the have nice food as well, maybe a bit prisy but that's what you have to pay for western food.

Disliked: The laundry service was quite slow and expensive. 23 RMB per kilo for 24+ hours or 20 RMB / wash for do it yourself laundry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathy Virzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Kathy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really nice. I stayed in a shared dorm and each bed had it's own shelf and curtain. They also give each person a locker with a lock and key, and each room has a bathroom. They are good at helping you get around and at correcting problems :)

Disliked: I had a few issues with the pick-up and the laundry (but maybe my expectations were too high due to the cost), but they apologized and gave me a discount on these things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Couldn't fault it. Very friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure that your stay is great.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

? ?

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 ? would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff. Nice location, right in the center of the city, close to big shopping mall and metro station. The room is very spacious, clean and comfy. I would like to stay here again...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabelle Pantling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Annabelle would recommend this property

Liked: This is the friendliest, most modern and BEST hostel I have stayed in... in the whole of China!!! I love the staff, we have become more like friends during my stay, and I have enjoyed myself here in Chengdu so much that I have booked myself into the Flip Flop hostel for another week. Thank you everyone at Flip Flop.

Disliked: Annabelle left no negative feedback.


See all Chengdu hostels