We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel

Hostel | No.96, Dongsheng Jie, Chengdu, China 6100000

93.1% Overall Rating

41 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

"Everything! The staff were all very helpfull and friendly. But, the absolute star is Sally!! She speaks very good English and more than helped us with all our arangements, sightseeing, tours, shows and travel…"

Read all Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.69
  • Breakfast USD 2.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Chengdu Mrs Panda Hostel
6.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nova Traveller's Lodge
3.26 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 70 reviews
The Loft Hostel
5.71 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews
Sam's Guesthouse
9.47 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 60 reviews
Chengdu Free Guys Hostel
6.53 USD

Hostel 90.5% 12 reviews
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
7.34 USD

Hostel 94.3% 138 reviews
Mr.Panda youth hostel
7.34 USD

Hostel 90.6% 54 reviews
Dragon Town International Youth Hostel
8.16 USD

Hostel 82.9% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were all very helpfull and friendly. But, the absolute star is Sally!! She speaks very good English and more than helped us with all our arangements, sightseeing, tours, shows and travel arangements. Always smiling and prepared to walk the extra mile, despite the long hours she works.

Disliked: We had one bad experience with a driver. Sally once again immediately took it up with the responsible company.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, you could walk into to the center very easily. There were a lot of restaurant close by. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Its a great place to meet other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is in a good location, the rooms are ok, although a bit small, and the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: My main issue was with security. First of all there are a whole bunch of notes everywhere saying that you should keep your values on the reception and that they won't be responsible if anything goes missing. Maybe they are just neurotic I don't know. But it didn't gave me a good impression. In addition to that, despite the fact that I was in a private room and left the no disturb sign all the time outside my door, in one of the days someone came in and fixed he room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Wan Ru Teoh

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 November 2014

Liked: Overall are quite ok as per described in hostelbooker.

Disliked: We didnt get much assistance from the front desk regarding travel information we need. TV in our room not working. Room is too dark with lighting provided. We cancel our second day booking to another hotel which meet our requirement.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Cox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are pretty clean and always like it when there's a bathroom in the room. Big communal room with pool and foosball, nice bar and plenty of books and info leaflets.

Disliked: Bathroom needs betting lighting, quite dark in the one I had even with the light on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff that worked on the desk at nights were really helpful and answered any questions that we had, no matter how silly! This was our first stop in China so it was really helpful that you could ask them anything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere, the staff are lovely and friendly, really informative and happy to help you. The dorm beds are good- you have a curtain surrounding each bed. Shower and toilet facilities are kept clean.

Disliked: Nothing really- the food isnt amazing but definitely edible..not the worst!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carola Fernandez Moores

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! The private rooms are very big and confortable, with nice bed, and hot water. It is very well located near buses, metro, places to eat. Was very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful with nice english. The restaurant has very good local food but western food was not good for us. Beer has good price for a hostel.

Disliked: Wifi was not good the first two days, the last day was ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chawalee Chotikaprakhan

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Chawalee would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Decoration, Service

Disliked: Cleanliness of the bathroom and Towel was under average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yosefus Yosefus

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Yosefus would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the top destination a round Chengdu city.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and facilities and location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food

Disliked: Wifi was hit or miss coming and going

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff importany

Disliked: everything ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Dollinger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: Main lounge/communal area is great, extra bonus with the pool table.

Disliked: The staff was helpful to a certain degree but whenever I had questions it seemed as if I was wasting their time. They also left out some major details in terms of getting to certain attractions around Chengdu.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YeeHa Carolyn Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 YeeHa Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a busy district in Chengdu, great for shopping. The hostel also organizes activities like city walk, bike tour around the city and dumpling parties...etc which make our stay even more interesting.

Disliked: The bathroom smells a little bit, would be nice to clean it twice a day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Widjojo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful as soon as we entered until the point we left. The common area had a good atmosphere and we a received a free beer coupon each! One if the cleaning ladies even took my luggage all the way up the stairs.

Disliked: The bathroom was a wet floor style and the drainage wasn't great so the water didn't drain properly when we had a shower, and the water nearly flowed out the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best that I have used in China. It's well-managed and its staff is friendly and helpful. Facility is good and cleanliness is very adequate. Theft seems to be a problem because there are warnings posted all over the place, but don't we all need to be very careful about belongings anyway?

Disliked: wifi is very weak inside my room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reva Watson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Reva would recommend this property

Liked: I love the laid back and welcoming atmosphere of this hostel, it has that nice homey feel to it with lots of great activities for you to take part in. The rooms are nice and great value for the price, and you can see they make a great effort to be sustainable and make you happy. More hostels should be like this!

Disliked: There was a bit of painting of certain items in the bathroom that gave it that unpleasant oil paint smell, but I guess it had to be done at some point. And I would have liked the cooking class to have been more about selecting the items in the market and learning the Chinese words- but that's personal because I live in china

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEN YU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 CHEN would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: CHEN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a such a great place to stay in Chengdu ! Very comfortable, very nice and friendly staff. Perfect location, great food. They even offer you a free beer on your first stay !

Disliked: There was a rat on the common area, and you might wait a bit in the morning for breakfast... but nothing terrible !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice communal area and great character. Bathroom was very nice in he private room.

Disliked: Beds were quite uncomfortable and the wifi in the room was poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shin Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Shin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good environment!

Disliked: Not really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, young, fun good roof terrace. cheap beer and good food

Disliked: Bathroom drains bit smelly


See all Chengdu hostels